$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
412 reviews
Wonderful service!

The Pacific Beach Hotel has lovely customer service, the room - oceanfront on the 5th floor was... See full review

  • IK87
  • Sep 10, 2014
A Great Experience

I spent one night at Pacific Beach Hotel on my way to Japan and I have to say it was one of the... See full review

  • Kenney couple
  • Jun 11, 2014
The Pacific Beach Hotel in Hawaii's Oahu is a haven for both children and those who once were children. The three-story, 280,000-gallon aquarium is a big hit, along with the arcade, pool and whirlpool. For the sports enthusiast, there are on-site tennis courts and jogging trails nearby. The Oceanarium Restaurant will draw everyone to the table with a colorful seafood buffet, and the Polynesian Dinner Show is a fire-blazing spectacle not to be missed. The hotel also wins points for being one of the most environmentally friendly locations on the island of Oahu; certain rooms use only recycled or biodegradable products and limit energy consumption.
Key facts
  • 837 guestrooms
  • 38 floors
  • Dining: The Oceanarium Restaurant and the Aloha Center Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Tennis court
Neighborhood
The Pacific Beach Hotel is located across from Kuhio, the calmest section of ocean in the area, and guests can enjoy lodging on Kalakaua Avenue, a popular stretch for visitors that includes many shopping and dining options next to Waikiki Beach. High-end retailers like Cartier and Apple share the space with outside vendors selling trinkets and souvenirs. Many famous chain restaurants can be found, including California Pizza Kitchen. The Honolulu Zoo is only a 10-minute walk away.
Hints and tips
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.824
Area served
Waikiki, Honolulu
Nearby airports
HNL-Honolulu International Airport-9 miles east
Area description
With convenient covered parking and access in and out of Waikiki, Pacific Beach Hotel is a located just steps across from Waikiki beach, restaurants, attractions and other favorite shopping locations.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.2 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.7 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets. Children 4 and under EAT FREE at Oceanarium per paying adult.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (412)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
412 out of 412
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii78
Fort Collins,CO
Mar 3, 2009

Tattered but relaxing

The room fixtures and furniture are tattered but was comfortable and quiet. Location was great. Don't buy lei/flowers at hotel florist(old and over priced). Instead go to the Food Pantry a couple of blocks from the hotel.Food at hotel restaurants over rated/priced. Hotel staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dar Baby
Roseville, CA
May 11, 2009

Great location

This hotel is in a great location. Everything is within walking distance on the strip. The buses are a block away and you can go any where you want. Do not rent a car, its cheaper to take the buses. If you are a senior go to the bus depot and by a pass. Would definetly stay at this hotel again. By the way they have the best mai tai's in all of Waikiki and they have a happy hour every day. Don't miss them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gbert
novi, mi
Nov 12, 2009

perfect location

a fine hotel for a good price. 3 1/2 stars at least. the location is right in the middle of waikiki. close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, CA
Oct 27, 2009

Works well for business

This is a good choice for Waikiki. The rooms are unremarkable but clean. There is some room to room noise, but I didn't notice any in the evenings. The restaurant is too noisy for a business meeting, but there are plenty of places nearby. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple on Vacation
Illinois
Feb 22, 2010

ok

My husband and I were on vacation.Management told us that they were going to give us a king bed with a beach view. We had to wait two nights of the seven nights to get the king bed and we did not get the beach view. Other than that it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise, ID
Dec 13, 2009

They wanted more money

The location was great. Just across the street from the beach. The disappointment was that we upgraded our room for a full view of the beach and ocean. When we got to our room, the view of the beach and ocean was around the corner of the building. When we called and inquired about our room they said for a front view it would be an additional $80 per night. But we had already paid an additional $47 per night. We were unhappy with the fact that they wanted more money and felt ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed driving around the island. However, street signs were difficult to see. If we had it to do all over again, we would take a GPS, to help us find our way to specific sights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
World Travelled Sailor
Victoria BC
Mar 23, 2013

They almost had it... so right

This hotel is a bit older but still very nice, with one of the best restaurants in town, friendly staff, great water pressure (not an automatic in big Hawaii hotels). I had the partial ocean view, very nice room. Here's where they lost me: On checkout day, I found out there was a 20$/day "amenity fee" added to my 8 night stay... about 170$ w/taxes total. When I asked what this was for, I was told it was for the free bottles of water, free internet, and the 50% rebate for the gym guest passes... "Like a resort fee" were the manager's exact words. Here's the thing; the bottles said right on it that they were free, the login website for the internet said right on that it was complimentary and I didn't use the gym while I was there. I don't mind paying for this kinda of stuff but doing it this way definitely felt like a ripoff... So, just so you're warned, whatever you think you're paying for this hotel, add 20$/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're single, rent a scooter. Way cheaper than renting a car and you can park anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rugguy
Linton, IN
Feb 9, 2012

Good location

The Pacific Beach is right across the street from the beach and the ocean. The room was adequate for a base and somewhere to sleep. Beware of anything that you are told by the front desk, we purchased a parking pass for $10 per day, and were told that at the end of our stay, we could cash in the balance if not used. Of 5 days of parking we only used 3 days and expected to get $20 back. We were told no that the use date had passed and we were out of luck for a refund. I had asked for a king size room and were told that they had overbooked and again we were out of luck!? Location was good but get any questions answered in writting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great places to eat near the Pacific Beach hotel within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 14, 2010

Great View

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful in planning day trips for us. The rooms are ok, the bathrooms is small, the beds were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 10, 2010

OK for business traveler

Room was fine. Had a fridge and pay-for-service wifi. The coffee maker in the room had standard brand coffee; adequate, but not too inspiring. Buying the breakfast plan was a good deal if you like a big meal in the morning (including Asian food).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can take bus 19 or 20 from the HNL airport. Takes about an hour. Price is $2.25 (need exact change). Do this only if you have carry on luggage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top