$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
404 reviews
Had a great trip

The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly. I had an issue with the air conditioner in the... See full review

  • Stephen B.
  • Aug 26, 2015
Business and Vacation Done Right

For our first trip to Honolulu this was a great place to stay. Close to everything. Had a great... See full review

  • MIchael A.
  • Aug 4, 2015
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.
General
Pacific Beach Hotel, Oahu
Location
The Pacific Beach Hotel in Hawaii's Oahu is a haven for both children and those who once were children. The three-story, 280,000-gallon aquarium is a big hit, along with the arcade, pool and whirlpool. For the sports enthusiast, there are on-site tennis courts and jogging trails nearby. The Oceanarium Restaurant will draw everyone to the table with a colorful seafood buffet, and the Polynesian Dinner Show is a fire-blazing spectacle not to be missed. The hotel also wins points for being one of the most environmentally friendly locations on the island of Oahu; certain rooms use only recycled or biodegradable products and limit energy consumption.
Dining
  • 837 guestrooms
  • 38 floors
  • Dining: The Oceanarium Restaurant and the Aloha Center Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Tennis court
Rooms
The Pacific Beach Hotel is located across from Kuhio, the calmest section of ocean in the area, and guests can enjoy lodging on Kalakaua Avenue, a popular stretch for visitors that includes many shopping and dining options next to Waikiki Beach. High-end retailers like Cartier and Apple share the space with outside vendors selling trinkets and souvenirs. Many famous chain restaurants can be found, including California Pizza Kitchen. The Honolulu Zoo is only a 10-minute walk away.
Highlights

The Pacific Beach Hotel is home to the Premiere Polynesian Dinner Show, which is held on select nights throughout the week. Visitors can catch a few rays out on the sundeck, or soak it up at the hotel pool. Two clay tennis courts and three golf practice cages are available for reservation, and a 24/7 on-site fitness room is open for guests to keep up with exercise routines during their travels.

Two restaurants are located at the Pacific Beach Hotel. The Oceanarium Restaurant offers amazing views and a themed buffet, which highlights delectable cuisine from both land and sea. The Aloha Center Café is perfect for a quick bite to eat, a smoothie or a hot cup of coffee. Massages and additional services can be taken advantage of at Laule'a Spa. 

Policies
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$168
3.9 / 5 1,083 reviews
★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 313 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 608 reviews
★★★
$94
2.9 / 5 98 reviews
★★★
$179
4.2 / 5 37 reviews
★★★★
$185
4.2 / 5 769 reviews
★★★
$95
3.4 / 5 344 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 115 reviews
★★★
$99
3.4 / 5 310 reviews

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.2 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.7 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets. Children 4 and under EAT FREE at Oceanarium per paying adult.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen B.
Single
N/A
Aug 26, 2015

Had a great trip

The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly. I had an issue with the air conditioner in the room not cooling the room to a comfortable temperature. I reported it too the front desk, then went out for something to eat. When I returned my issue was resolved and the room was cooled and comfortable again. Overall a good experience and I will stay there again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joeandsal
Couples
rye brook
Aug 26, 2015

First trip to Hawaii. Last stay at the pacific beach hotel.

The best part about the hotel is the location, literally across the street from Waikiki Beach. Everything else about the hotel is subpar at best. I had paid for and ocean view room...I could see the ocean if I craned my neck and leaned over the balcony. This was a huge disappointment. The room was run down and not that clean, I ended up calling down to the front desk at least 3 different times because housekeeping never showed up. The carpet in the room was very old and dirty. Then there is a amenity fee that they nail you with the minute you walk in the door, this was after I thought I was paid in full...nope add another 29.00 a day. Overall my stay was ok but for the money I spent I could have stayed at a newer, cleaner place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitts
Family
Cypress
Aug 13, 2015

Royal Kona

Royal Kona is located in the perfect spot in Kona. Its right at the end of the drag of shopping and restaurants. I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and will continue to stay here in the future. The view from the rooms is fantastic. The housekeeping staff is friendly and they do a great job. The front desk staff could be friendlier and could smile a bit more. They do not go out of their way to help. This trip I had a disappointing time with security. They were quite rude when I had concerns about parking. They made us feel very uneasy and put a damper on our weekend. However, the hotel manager did respond and address my concerns. This hotel has a small pool and could use a Jacuzzi but I guess when you are in Hawaii you have the beach. I like the hotel for the location and price. Like I said though, the front desk could use a little more Aloha spirit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul M.
Single
N/A
Aug 8, 2015

Good for the money

Overall a good stay. 1st night the housecleaning left a little to be desired. Paper left on floor, trash not emptied. I complained and the rest of the week - no issues. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was good. McDonalds's adjacent was a good place for a quick meal. Aquarium restaurant was above average but you paid for it. Too many street people hanging around the front of the hotel. That may be a city wide problem however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MIchael A.
Business
N/A
Aug 4, 2015

Business and Vacation Done Right

For our first trip to Honolulu this was a great place to stay. Close to everything. Had a great time. The housekeeping staff was great. Did the room when we wanted and a very nice job. I would highly recommend this place to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HSantiago
Couples
Newark
Aug 1, 2015

Anniversary Getaway

We decided to stay at the Pacific Beach due to its closeness (directly across the street) from the hotel. Upon arrival the staff was friendly and welcoming . We walked over to checkin waited on line ,they provided pineapple infused water which was nice . The lobby seems to not be air conditioned ( which seems to be the case in many restaurants) so it was a nice detail. It was unusually hot during our 5 day stay according to locals. The water bottles provided where nice as they provide filtered water. The room was nothing spectacular , the room especially the bathroom could use updating. The pool was on the small side. The location was great in walking distance to everything beach,zoo, stores , restaurants and entertainment. Parking was an additional $25.00 a day. Most of the staff was friendly. Not a terrible stay for the price and location I would consider on my next trip back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FloridaP
Business
GAINESVILLE
Jul 17, 2015

Older property, great location and fab view

Great staff, great ocean views from higher floors in beach tower, great central Waikiki location (noisy, but lovely). Older rooms, pool area is minimal. If you get a good price, this is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Y.
Couples
N/A
Jul 15, 2015

Super lively staycation

We wanted to experience the iconic waikiki vacation & by staying 5 steps from the beach, we most certainly did! Very comfortable rooms, felt like we had a cozy quiet place right in the middle of all the action of waikiki!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pandit p.n
Family
Bangalore
Jul 14, 2015

Family vacation

Excellent location. Limited in house dining. Couldn't get the rooms we asked and paid for. Need modernization of self service laundry and the the elevators. Access to front office desk is too far from the door and has no gradient. Relocation of front office desk may be considered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmmya
Family
Westport
Jul 11, 2015

Location. Location. Location.

When it comes to location, I can't imagine anything better at Waikiki. Seconds away from the beach, great restaurants (particularly some of the more 'colorful' plate lunch places), shopping and easy access to the highway. Stayed in a 'partial ocean view' room...but that 'view' took our breath away especially the view from the veranda - Waikiki to the front, mountains to the back. If choosing this route, definitely recommend staying 20+ floors - you won't be disappointed. Staff was OK - friendly but not amazing. Room was OK. Bathroom, nasty. The coffee shop that opened at 6am was a godsend, since it allowed us to grab something to eat on our early morning trips to Hanauma bay and Pearl harbor (recommend getting their before 7am). Have nothing to say about the restaurant (it has a massive aquarium inside) since we didn't eat there, nor the pool (we didn't swim there).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top