$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
588 reviews
A Great Experience

I spent one night at Pacific Beach Hotel on my way to Japan and I have to say it was one of the... See full review

  • Kenney couple
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great week - great location!

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have found that it met all of our needs. It is a... See full review

  • Hawaii Happy
  • Mar 21, 2014
The Pacific Beach Hotel in Hawaii's Oahu is a haven for both children and those who once were children. The three-story, 280,000-gallon aquarium is a big hit, along with the arcade, pool and whirlpool. For the sports enthusiast, there are on-site tennis courts and jogging trails nearby. The Oceanarium Restaurant will draw everyone to the table with a colorful seafood buffet, and the Polynesian Dinner Show is a fire-blazing spectacle not to be missed. The hotel also wins points for being one of the most environmentally friendly locations on the island of Oahu; certain rooms use only recycled or biodegradable products and limit energy consumption.
Key facts
  • 837 guestrooms
  • 38 floors
  • Dining: The Oceanarium Restaurant and the Aloha Center Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Tennis court
Neighborhood
The Pacific Beach Hotel is located across from Kuhio, the calmest section of ocean in the area, and guests can enjoy lodging on Kalakaua Avenue, a popular stretch for visitors that includes many shopping and dining options next to Waikiki Beach. High-end retailers like Cartier and Apple share the space with outside vendors selling trinkets and souvenirs. Many famous chain restaurants can be found, including California Pizza Kitchen. The Honolulu Zoo is only a 10-minute walk away.
Hints and tips
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.824
Area served
Waikiki, Honolulu
Nearby airports
HNL-Honolulu International Airport-9 miles east
Area description
With convenient covered parking and access in and out of Waikiki, Pacific Beach Hotel is a located just steps across from Waikiki beach, restaurants, attractions and other favorite shopping locations.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.2 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.7 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (588)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
588 out of 588
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KTraveler
Oakland, CA, USA
Jul 2, 2014

Weekend Getaway

The location was great, right off the water. It'd be better if we could get a room with a view, but we couldn't complain since we were so high up. The one thing I have to complain about is the $20 per day amenities fee. After prepaying the hotel, they hit us with that. Since we'd already paid, we had no choice to take it and pay an addition $20/day. Otherwise, a great stay and a fun trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Oceanarium had some good food.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BudJ.
Illinois, USA
Jun 26, 2014

Our Hawaii Home

We spent our honeymoon there and have been back about 20 times thus far most recently for our 30th anniversary. It is always the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonald's breakfast right next door any you get to witness 'Local Flavor" if you know what I mean...

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Swedish
Hilo, Hawaii
Jun 18, 2014

Good but avoid the rush

The hotel is in a great location and our room was clean, however we arrived early and were told our room wouldn't be available until 3pm. This is understandable in most hotel situations, however checkin isn't even available until 3, so at 3 we arrived back at the hotel to check in and there was a huuuuuge line to do so. This was really annoying and there were about 12 people at the front desk typing away but only 2 actually working on checkins. I'd be more upset, but a nice Canadian man gave us a bottle of wine he wasn't going to drink before he left the island, so that helped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk one block towards the mountain and you will find much better and more authentic dining fare.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neemoi
California
Jun 18, 2014

Pacific Beach hotel

Very close to waikiki beach. Good spot on the island. Long waiting time for elevators though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenney couple
Alaska
Jun 11, 2014

A Great Experience

I spent one night at Pacific Beach Hotel on my way to Japan and I have to say it was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at ever. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the room (30th floor) was beautiful with an awesome view of Honolulu and the South Beach. I couldn't have been more pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Cheeseburger was a nice stop for lunch

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbmn
Arizona
May 21, 2014

Great location and great view

We stayed in an Ocean View room on the Diamond Head side of the Ocean Tower above the 25th floor. View was awesome. Requests for this location in the hotel were honored and the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. We are glad we called the hotel after booking online to talk to a reservation agents who were more than willing to add the room location request to our reservation. Tell the agent you want the Diamond Head side, higher floors, to get more of the ocean/beach view. Don't hesitate to ask! Personally we would NOT have liked staying on other side of hotel with mainly views of high rises and the beach. The hotel was an older one and some updates to the room would have been nice, but it was acceptable for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wolfgang Puck for very casual, affordable, good food! Love their pizzas.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny83
Guatemala
May 12, 2014

Great honeymoon at the Pacific Beach Hotel!

I went to the Pacific Beach Hotel with my wife for our honeymoon. We had a great stay! This hotel´s location is very convenient, it´s walking distance from the zoo and aquarium. We didn´t have to spend money on purified water because there is a water dispenser available for all guests. They sent some chocolate strawberries as compliment for being on our honeymoon! The thing we didn´t like was the pool area, which is really outdated, but we had Kuhio beach across the street so we didn´t stay at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go Top of Waikiki´s happy hour! You can get cheaper drinks and a great 360 degrees view!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kkerr
Orlando, Fl
Apr 7, 2014

Vacation

First room had a mold area on ceiling that had been painted over and after our 2nd night we woke up to water dripping from it. Manager did put us in a better room. After the first night the a/c stopped working so call and they sent someone to repair. It did it again next night so after that it was fixed where it never shut off so we were freezing at night. Staff were friendly but they need to put some upgrades in rooms instead of making sure it looked fancy and classy outside and in the lobby. I won't ever stay there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheeseburger in Paradise. Awesome food, staff and prices!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FDrew
Chicago
Mar 31, 2014

Great Stay

I understand that the rooms are about to be updated which is needed. However, I have no complaints. Our room was on the 35th floor with a magnificent view of Diamond Head and the beach. The bed was new and the carpeting appeared to be new. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean during our 9 night stay. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The location couldn't be better. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The croissadas at the hotel café are delicious.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sasless
Edmonton AB Canada
Mar 22, 2014

choose another

first cold room in Hawaii in 30 years. (windy rainy night) but when we called for another blanket...90 min later still waiting.. second call got results.. no hot water in our room every day 6 am to 11 am and 5 pm till 11 pm.. then surprise u with a 21$ a night "resort fee".. whatever..we don't use their gym etc.. no matter - pay it.. there are lots of other hotels..keep looking...to be fair, they did take off 2 nights resort fees, to compensate for the daily cold showers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Beach broiler

Back to menu Return to top