$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
417 reviews
Great ocean view

Excellent over nighter, they allowed us to check in a couple hours early since there was a room... See full review

  • Jenn C.
  • Nov 4, 2014
Very nice hotel.

This was my 5th or 6th visit to this hotel. The location is just perfect being directly across the... See full review

  • JDTess
  • Nov 3, 2014
The Pacific Beach Hotel in Hawaii's Oahu is a haven for both children and those who once were children. The three-story, 280,000-gallon aquarium is a big hit, along with the arcade, pool and whirlpool. For the sports enthusiast, there are on-site tennis courts and jogging trails nearby. The Oceanarium Restaurant will draw everyone to the table with a colorful seafood buffet, and the Polynesian Dinner Show is a fire-blazing spectacle not to be missed. The hotel also wins points for being one of the most environmentally friendly locations on the island of Oahu; certain rooms use only recycled or biodegradable products and limit energy consumption.
Key facts
  • 837 guestrooms
  • 38 floors
  • Dining: The Oceanarium Restaurant and the Aloha Center Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Tennis court
Neighborhood
The Pacific Beach Hotel is located across from Kuhio, the calmest section of ocean in the area, and guests can enjoy lodging on Kalakaua Avenue, a popular stretch for visitors that includes many shopping and dining options next to Waikiki Beach. High-end retailers like Cartier and Apple share the space with outside vendors selling trinkets and souvenirs. Many famous chain restaurants can be found, including California Pizza Kitchen. The Honolulu Zoo is only a 10-minute walk away.
Hints and tips
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.2 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.7 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets. Children 4 and under EAT FREE at Oceanarium per paying adult.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (417)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
417 out of 417
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 23, 2007

Extremely Satisfied

The Pacific Beach Hotel was everything and more that I expected. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The balcony view was amazing! We had a partial ocean view, but we go the best of both worlds! Not only did we have a view of the ocean, but we also had a view of the city and the mountains! It was incredible! The hotel was only a couple blocks away from shopping & other activities. The hotel itself has a 3 story oceanarium that was truly beautiful. I can't describe how happy we were that we stayed at this hotel. We will definitely stay here on our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Honolulu Zoo & Aquarium were only a couple blocks away and very affordable! Make sure to go to the zoo in the morning though, as the hotter it gets during the day; the animals tend to hide in the dens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 9, 2008

Beautiful and welcoming

This hotel was beautiful! The Oceanarium was fantastic, our partial ocean view was spectacular! The staff was great! Very friendly and accomadating. We want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach right across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Dec 27, 2008

Nice hotel for the money

The hotel is very well situated across from Waikiki Beach. The street has plenty of restaurants and shops. Be prepared to pay $15 per night to park in their lot. We parked on the street and never got a ticket or had a problem. Rooms were clean and roomy but the carpets could use a cleaning. A lot of foot traffic and shoppers with plenty of good stores located within 3 blocks. Hotel lobby is adequate with large chairs. Check-in was fast and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 10, 2008

Comfortable with easy accessibility

The Pacific Beach Hotel was extremely accessible to all activities; beach, shopping, etc. The tour desk was helpful in scheduling tours and shows with pickup by the tour buses right at the front door. The bell captain and crew were extremely nice in holding our mound of luggage in storage until we left late in the evening for the airport. The breakfast buffet was great with a variety of dishes to enjoy while being entertained by the fish in the huge two story acquarium right in the dining area. This hotel overall was very comfortable, had many little shops for browsing, a nice relaxing atmosphere and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Beach is directly across the street. What more would you want. Also, the International Marketplace is about eight blocks down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 9, 2007

Upgraded to Ocean Front......

This trip was taken by my mother & me. At check in, we looked at the partial view room & the ocean view. We up-graded. We were on the 9th floor, room 922, and it over looked Kalakaua Ave & the beach! The partial view was nice, but the oceanview room was in better condition. The hotel is very much catered to the Asian tourist, but we found it quite pleasant. Easy access to the main drag & beach. Nice to have ABC right in the hotel. The ABC 1 block, Mauka, on Kuhio ave, is cheaper & carried a little different items. (Mauka, is toward the mountian) The attached coffee shop, near the driveway, was terrible this visit (last time it was great.) The Oceanarium Resturant, we only had the buffet breakfasts, Got tired of it after about 5 days. Didn't try dinner, because of so many other Island options. The Aquarium is really cool to watch while eating. We loved our housekeeper and was sorry when she had days off, the guys didn't clean as well. Carpet needed to be changed, but it seems they are redoing the hotel floor by floor. On Friday am the hotel offers Lei making lessons. It seems all the Waikiki action is down by the BeachWalk, but if you are older than 25 & do not want to party, this end of the beach is better, although there is still party atmosphere just past the Pacific Beach. We did walk alot. But the elevator for our room was right off Kalakaua's entrance. We definatley will stay here again, as long as the price is right! Which is why we tried it this time. Close to lots of food options, look in other hotels & shopping areas. Very near Local Hawaiian musical talent at the hotel bars/restuarants. LOVED IT. Find your Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

USE THE BUS Honolulu has the greatest bus system & the tourist trolleys. Hilo Hattie's Trolley will take you to the Ala Moana & Ward Centre for free, ok, it is a little bit of a ride, but who cares? It is GORGEOUS and you are on Vacation!! The Drivers give little local hint and knowledge too!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, Fl
Mar 3, 2009

Great price and location

Pacific Beach hotel was in an awesome spot. The hotel was located right across from the beach. The price of the hotel was wonderful knowing that there were other hotels nearby for way more than what we paid for. I love this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many shopping areas within walking distance. It was nice to walk around so close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenney couple
Business
Alaska
Jun 11, 2014

A Great Experience

I spent one night at Pacific Beach Hotel on my way to Japan and I have to say it was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at ever. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the room (30th floor) was beautiful with an awesome view of Honolulu and the South Beach. I couldn't have been more pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Cheeseburger was a nice stop for lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IK87
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 10, 2014

Wonderful service!

The Pacific Beach Hotel has lovely customer service, the room - oceanfront on the 5th floor was gorgeous! When asking to extend for a few hours since I needed access to a fridge for breastmilk, they accommodated our request and even stored my freezer packs in their restaurant freezer. The oceanarium restaurant has a beautiful aquarium - three stories and the breakfast buffet was delicious. We loved it! And the Location is right on Waikiki beach-in the heart of Honolulu. Definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

ABC store in the lobby has it all!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn C.
Business
North Las Vegas, NV
Nov 4, 2014

Great ocean view

Excellent over nighter, they allowed us to check in a couple hours early since there was a room available. Superb view of the ocean, comfortable king sized bed, spacious bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDTess
Business
Huntsville, AL
Nov 3, 2014

Very nice hotel.

This was my 5th or 6th visit to this hotel. The location is just perfect being directly across the street from the beach. The staff has always been very friendly and accommodating to ones needs. They show concern about your needs and work to ensure an enjoyable stay. Would and do highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top