$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
499 out of 499
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SalsaTopp
Business
Honolulu Hawaii
Feb 27, 2014

It was... Okay.

It was one of the cheapest at the rating we could find. So... as far as value, it was pretty good. The beds didn't have comforters which was Okay considering it was a nice 70 degrees outside day and night. The beds were hard too, but... we were so tired by the end of each day that it didn't matter! The lobby area smelled like fish. And not good fish. You know you're not actually supposed to smell the "fishy" smell at seafood restaurants, it is a sign of bad seafood. The pool was small and COLD. It was in the shade until well into the afternoon which is good for avoiding sunburns but bad for not freezing yourself or kid(s). Decent views. Good location near the zoo and Waikiki beach. The $20 daily "amenities" fee is stupid. Meh, it got the job done and was cheap. I think, if possible to pay for it, I would recommend spending a bit extra on the nicer places. My parents were at Aqua Palms up the road and it was quite a bit nicer but was ~$20 a night more which if we would have read the fine print about the $20 amenities fee, would have been equal. It had a microwave, bigger fridge, right by a trolley stop, bigger bathroom and super fluffy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like the outdoors and hiking, Diamond Head is an obvious attraction to go climb. If you take the bus there and walk through the gate it is only $2.50 for the bus ride and $1 to get in the park. A taxi might be a cheaper option for a large group. If you like that but want even MORE climbing, Koko head is a more hidden gem that a lot of locals use for training/morning hike. It is 1000 feet of elevation in .65 miles climbing over steep rail road ties the entire way up. A delightful leg-burn! And FREE. Not recommended for too young of kids. It really is a challenge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeremy father of four
Business
Honolulu HI
Feb 24, 2014

it was very nice relaxing staff was awesome

The only complaint I have is how clean the bathroom was. Went to take shower and found other people's hair in tub and the house keeping never took out the old bar of soap from previous person staying in that room. House keeping needs to step it up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

This hotel has an awesome buffet for breakfast lunch and dinner although don't think lunch buffet is every day.It's a little pricey but worth it if you can eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rough boy
Business
texas
Jan 25, 2014

great view

We had a view of both diamond head and the beach.Also good location,right across street from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cfresh5
Business
san antonio, tx
Jan 9, 2014

perfect spot for a perfect trip

The pacific beach was an amazing hotel for our new years getaway. When making our reservation for the partial ocean view room, I began to worry because I ready some bad reviews, but was amazed with what we got. Also at the front desk, I would love to praise Renee because she made sure we were taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Honolulu star offered a very inexpensive whale watching experience that left us with great memories.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kat Neu
Business
Chicago
Jan 9, 2014

Very Disappointed

Our one night stay at this hotel was horrible. Originally, we were supposed to stay 9 nights. It began with a nauseating smell that lingered throughout the entire hotel (along with the restaurant). It was so so awful. I cannot even describe it. The only plus was that our room did not have the smell. although, it was obvious that several paint jobs were attempted to cover mold. We were also given plastic water bottles and had to fil up at "water stations." I assume this was because the tap water at this particular hotel was not suitable for drinking. (also something that I was very unaware of while booking). Additionally, the room needed updating and repairs. The shower drain did not drain properly, and therefore, we had to shower in still water. We also continuously heard sirens throughout the night, had a horrible view, and were freezing in the room (with no ability to change the thermostat) and were given no blankets. The mattress was hard as a rock, and my fiance suffers from back pains from his most recent deployment. This made his back pains more severe. The pool and beach were falsely advertised. We checked out the next day without any help from staff .I DO NOT recommend staying at this hotel. It is absolutely disgusting, and I am so disappointed. It was false advertising, and I feel robbed. We found a hotel about two blocks down that was gorgeous. However, now we have to suffer with the financial damage of this trip due to the false advertising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii aloha
Business
Los angeles
Jan 6, 2014

Vacation relaxation

Hotel was exactly what is rated what was on the website where we booked ar. We reserved a ocean front view and was given a ocean view room instead. After one night they moved us to a higher floor to what he had reserved oceanfront. Staff is very friendly and the hotel is situated in a very good location. You pay for what u get and this hotel needs some renovations and upgrades. Over all stay 3.5 star out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggs and scramble just outside the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timaruvians
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Jan 4, 2014

Great location

Staff are friendly and efficient. Pool area disappointing with water cold and no plants/trees to beautify what is basically a bare concrete area. Hotel is dated but clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cotytschappat
Business
Honolulu
Jan 2, 2014

Well spent

Met all expectations, always on time, decent price, overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kona Chris
Business
Johnstown, Colorado
Dec 28, 2013

Perfect Location

We had a great view of Diamond Head as well as Wiakiki beach from our balcony. We had a smoking room, which is not available in a lot of hotels in the area. Within walking distance of beach and a lot of great shopping areas. I would definitely recommend this hotel. In fact, I'm already trying to plan a trip back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the rental car! Everything you need is within walking distance. Rent scooters for a day if you want to go exploring.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graces mom
Business
Anchorage, ak
Dec 28, 2013

Roomy

It was perfect for my kids and I. The next one was smaller for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top