$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Green Frog
Business
Oregon
Apr 4, 2010

Wonderful couple getaway

The location is in the middle of Waikiki. You can walk just about anywhere. The rooms have amazing views and are quiet. The parking garage is convenient and at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to try something new and some of the most afforable places to eat are in the cities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Aloha Pair
Business
So. Cal
Jun 23, 2009

The Best Aloha Ever!

We vacation in Hawaii a few times each year. This time we chose a different hotel and were pleasantly surprised! There's an ABC Store in the Lobby, a Cafe for breakfast/snacks/big salads/best coffee, and the "Oceanarium" Restaurant was fabulous. The self-parking was easy and we felt safe. Really good restaurants in the area in walking distance. The best shopping was at the Aloha Bowl Swap Meet. Don't forget to walk to the nearby Zoo as well. This hotel is restful and quiet considering you are right at the beach. We will return soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Safeway Grocery store nearby that has an excellent deli, bakery, and your usual needs. We really didn't miss having a microwave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Aloha Pair
Business
Diamond Bar, CA
Apr 18, 2010

The Best of Waikiki

The Pacific Beach is a wonderful place to stay and the upgraded package is worth it! We are frequent visitors to the islands and we don't require much to enjoy ourselves. Get out and see the island. The best shopping may be at the Aloha Stadium Swap Meet. Enjoy the Zoo which is close by. Enjoy the botanical gardens and some of the local activities as well. The Bishop Museum is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 23, 2007

Extremely Satisfied

The Pacific Beach Hotel was everything and more that I expected. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The balcony view was amazing! We had a partial ocean view, but we go the best of both worlds! Not only did we have a view of the ocean, but we also had a view of the city and the mountains! It was incredible! The hotel was only a couple blocks away from shopping & other activities. The hotel itself has a 3 story oceanarium that was truly beautiful. I can't describe how happy we were that we stayed at this hotel. We will definitely stay here on our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Honolulu Zoo & Aquarium were only a couple blocks away and very affordable! Make sure to go to the zoo in the morning though, as the hotter it gets during the day; the animals tend to hide in the dens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 9, 2008

Beautiful and welcoming

This hotel was beautiful! The Oceanarium was fantastic, our partial ocean view was spectacular! The staff was great! Very friendly and accomadating. We want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach right across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Dec 27, 2008

Nice hotel for the money

The hotel is very well situated across from Waikiki Beach. The street has plenty of restaurants and shops. Be prepared to pay $15 per night to park in their lot. We parked on the street and never got a ticket or had a problem. Rooms were clean and roomy but the carpets could use a cleaning. A lot of foot traffic and shoppers with plenty of good stores located within 3 blocks. Hotel lobby is adequate with large chairs. Check-in was fast and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 10, 2008

Comfortable with easy accessibility

The Pacific Beach Hotel was extremely accessible to all activities; beach, shopping, etc. The tour desk was helpful in scheduling tours and shows with pickup by the tour buses right at the front door. The bell captain and crew were extremely nice in holding our mound of luggage in storage until we left late in the evening for the airport. The breakfast buffet was great with a variety of dishes to enjoy while being entertained by the fish in the huge two story acquarium right in the dining area. This hotel overall was very comfortable, had many little shops for browsing, a nice relaxing atmosphere and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Beach is directly across the street. What more would you want. Also, the International Marketplace is about eight blocks down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 9, 2007

Upgraded to Ocean Front......

This trip was taken by my mother & me. At check in, we looked at the partial view room & the ocean view. We up-graded. We were on the 9th floor, room 922, and it over looked Kalakaua Ave & the beach! The partial view was nice, but the oceanview room was in better condition. The hotel is very much catered to the Asian tourist, but we found it quite pleasant. Easy access to the main drag & beach. Nice to have ABC right in the hotel. The ABC 1 block, Mauka, on Kuhio ave, is cheaper & carried a little different items. (Mauka, is toward the mountian) The attached coffee shop, near the driveway, was terrible this visit (last time it was great.) The Oceanarium Resturant, we only had the buffet breakfasts, Got tired of it after about 5 days. Didn't try dinner, because of so many other Island options. The Aquarium is really cool to watch while eating. We loved our housekeeper and was sorry when she had days off, the guys didn't clean as well. Carpet needed to be changed, but it seems they are redoing the hotel floor by floor. On Friday am the hotel offers Lei making lessons. It seems all the Waikiki action is down by the BeachWalk, but if you are older than 25 & do not want to party, this end of the beach is better, although there is still party atmosphere just past the Pacific Beach. We did walk alot. But the elevator for our room was right off Kalakaua's entrance. We definatley will stay here again, as long as the price is right! Which is why we tried it this time. Close to lots of food options, look in other hotels & shopping areas. Very near Local Hawaiian musical talent at the hotel bars/restuarants. LOVED IT. Find your Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

USE THE BUS Honolulu has the greatest bus system & the tourist trolleys. Hilo Hattie's Trolley will take you to the Ala Moana & Ward Centre for free, ok, it is a little bit of a ride, but who cares? It is GORGEOUS and you are on Vacation!! The Drivers give little local hint and knowledge too!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, Fl
Mar 3, 2009

Great price and location

Pacific Beach hotel was in an awesome spot. The hotel was located right across from the beach. The price of the hotel was wonderful knowing that there were other hotels nearby for way more than what we paid for. I love this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many shopping areas within walking distance. It was nice to walk around so close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Al Welch
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Hotel Services

Good location for using city buses and trolleys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Not necessary to rent a car, city buses run all round the island and are inexpensive and run frequently

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top