$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas Dabler
Couples
Dover,Pa
Feb 22, 2013

Clean Clean Clean

Very clean and great staff .Very comfortable for handicap people in wheel chair .Staff very pleasent and helpfull. Food prices our very HIGH.. Parking fees way to HIGH.But over all we were very happy and very comfy at this hotel. Would very much stay there again in future visits

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mcdonalds across the street.. IHOP Few Blocks away ... Bus $2.50 Handicap equ.. $ 1.00

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Traveller HK
Family
Hong Kong
Aug 26, 2014

Noisy room

I guess the room walls are very thin. We could clearly hear the toilet flushing, talking (not particularly loudly), moving furniture, walking, etc from the neighboring rooms. In my room (partial ocean view with 2 double beds), the sink and mirror are located outside the bathroom in between the bathroom and the sleeping area, again split by a thin wall which doesn't go all the way across the room. So when I got up earlier than the other person to freshen up it's kind of noisy for the person who's still in bed. Location is perfect though right next to the beach. Staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located on the main street and there're many shops along the main street.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
foley588
Couples
Ct
Aug 24, 2014

nice location, hotel needs better amenities

The room was great, view was great, and overall a good value. However, the staff was essentially non-existent, the ac in the room did not work properly and if you take the elevators be prepared for a lengthy wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Alpha stadium flea market

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wishful Jen
Couples
Lubbock, Texas
Aug 18, 2014

Horrible Experience

There was black mold growing in the shower. After room service "cleaned" there was a wad of black hair in my bed (I'm blond.) Staff does not care if your room is dirty. Room service cleans even when you don't want them to. Staff never cared to ask my how my stay was while I was checking out. They only wanted my credit card. The only thing we liked about this hotel was it was on the beach and the concierge was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

It's way over priced for what you get!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mahalo surfers
Family
Denver Colorado
Aug 16, 2014

Fabulous getaway

It was really good we had a lot of fun. Staff was welcoming and rooms got everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Road Warrior875
Business
Washington DC
Aug 9, 2014

Good stay

Clean room. Had Great view of Diamond Head and partial ocean. However, the hotel is a bit old. Carpet felt and looked a little dirty. Bathroom needs updating. Good location - right across from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Massage at the Hyatt Regency Spa is awesome. Ask for Jason - he is very good at pressure points. Reasonably priced.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel 4 4
Family
Australia
Jul 30, 2014

Definitely worth the stay

Was expecting a pokey little room with 2 double beds but was pleasantly surprised by the space. Only complaint was that the bed & pillows were not very comfortable but other than that it was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshua and Lindsay
Couples
Philadelphia pa
Jul 20, 2014

Read the fine print

We were very excited about the location and value of our hotel when we booked it; however, we were surprised to find that the amenities and parking were separately charged, which added almost 400 dollars to our bill. It seemed as though initial charges were a little misleading, especially given the fact that we did not have a need for the amenities. The elevators in the hotel were extremely slow and we ran into problems with the elevators more than once, including an elevator that stopped working 3 floors up and another instance where the door closed and the elevator went up a floor before anyone could get in. The staff was overall helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap surf board rentals with nicer boards.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KTraveler
Couples
Oakland, CA, USA
Jul 2, 2014

Weekend Getaway

The location was great, right off the water. It'd be better if we could get a room with a view, but we couldn't complain since we were so high up. The one thing I have to complain about is the $20 per day amenities fee. After prepaying the hotel, they hit us with that. Since we'd already paid, we had no choice to take it and pay an addition $20/day. Otherwise, a great stay and a fun trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Oceanarium had some good food.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BudJ.
Couples
Illinois, USA
Jun 26, 2014

Our Hawaii Home

We spent our honeymoon there and have been back about 20 times thus far most recently for our 30th anniversary. It is always the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonald's breakfast right next door any you get to witness 'Local Flavor" if you know what I mean...

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neemoi
Couples
California
Jun 18, 2014

Pacific Beach hotel

Very close to waikiki beach. Good spot on the island. Long waiting time for elevators though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top