$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
414 reviews
Great ocean view

Excellent over nighter, they allowed us to check in a couple hours early since there was a room... See full review

  • Jenn C.
  • Nov 4, 2014
Very nice hotel.

This was my 5th or 6th visit to this hotel. The location is just perfect being directly across the... See full review

  • JDTess
  • Nov 3, 2014
The Pacific Beach Hotel in Hawaii's Oahu is a haven for both children and those who once were children. The three-story, 280,000-gallon aquarium is a big hit, along with the arcade, pool and whirlpool. For the sports enthusiast, there are on-site tennis courts and jogging trails nearby. The Oceanarium Restaurant will draw everyone to the table with a colorful seafood buffet, and the Polynesian Dinner Show is a fire-blazing spectacle not to be missed. The hotel also wins points for being one of the most environmentally friendly locations on the island of Oahu; certain rooms use only recycled or biodegradable products and limit energy consumption.
Key facts
  • 837 guestrooms
  • 38 floors
  • Dining: The Oceanarium Restaurant and the Aloha Center Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Tennis court
Neighborhood
The Pacific Beach Hotel is located across from Kuhio, the calmest section of ocean in the area, and guests can enjoy lodging on Kalakaua Avenue, a popular stretch for visitors that includes many shopping and dining options next to Waikiki Beach. High-end retailers like Cartier and Apple share the space with outside vendors selling trinkets and souvenirs. Many famous chain restaurants can be found, including California Pizza Kitchen. The Honolulu Zoo is only a 10-minute walk away.
Hints and tips
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.824
Area served
Waikiki, Honolulu
Nearby airports
HNL-Honolulu International Airport-9 miles east
Area description
With convenient covered parking and access in and out of Waikiki, Pacific Beach Hotel is a located just steps across from Waikiki beach, restaurants, attractions and other favorite shopping locations.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.2 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.7 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets. Children 4 and under EAT FREE at Oceanarium per paying adult.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (414)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
414 out of 414
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 18, 2008

36 FLOOR, GREAT VIEW

This was our first trip to Hawaii and found our hotel to be very nice. The only bad point was the carpet in our room which was old and stained. We were on the 36th floor and had a GREAT view. Other than that everything else was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is nearby, shops, beach, etc. etc. The tours that you can take are very good except we found trying to do the big island in one day is not a good idea because they try to show you to much in such a short time. 10 minutes per stop! We would NOT do that trip again.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington
May 26, 2008

Great value for the money

We stayed at Pacific beach the end of May 2008 for our honeymoon. This hotel is a great value for the money. The free daily buffet breakfast which you can get in both of their restaurants is very good, although I believe this is seasonal. The weather was great, averaged about 85. Temps rarely go above 90 degrees any time of the year. The beach was right across the street. There is a really good hamburger rest a block away called Paradise Hamburgers (they serve other sandwiches also). The location is excellent. The Pacific Beach is in the heart of everything. Lots of shops and restaurants and some bars. It is 10 min walk to the Int'l Marketplace, a really nice place to shop. They bargain there. Only 5-10 min to the zoo. Waikiki is a great place for walking if you like that. Many of the tour buses stop at Pacific Beach. The staff are very nice! Housekeeping was excellent. The only drawbacks we saw were the pool is pretty small (mostly a kiddie pool) and there were a couple of stains in the carpet. Otherwise, we were very happy with our stay and would definitely go back!! Waikiki is a great place to stay. Everyone is so friendly. It is like a city within paradise. As in any city you must be careful with personal belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake Factory and Red Lobster in area also. ABC stores on every block are a little expensive but great for conveniences like water, milk, coffee, souveniers. If you spend $100 in them you get a free Hawaiian coffee mug or calendar.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
just plain ole bob
Business
martinez ca.
Sep 3, 2009

close to everything good location

everybody was very helpfull & nice,did a trip around the island . we have stayed there before & enjoyed the food & service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

buffet is great

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gregorysenn
Business
Kahului, HI
Apr 6, 2008

Very friendly hotel

The Pacific Beach Hotel is a very comfortable hotel to stay in. The rooms are pretty spacious for a family. They have a great dining room in the hotel that has a HUGE aquarium with alot of sea life, including sharks that swim around while you dine. Great for kids and grownups alike to enjoy without going into the water. From the front desk personal upon check-in to the valet attendants...they are very professional, accomodating and best of all they are a group of employees with great personalities! They have the ALOHA spirit which is hard to find in these stressful and difficult times. Please tell the hotel employees know that their services are greatly appreciated....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Beautiful gigantic aquarium (2 or 3 stories tall) next to the lobby area with a multitude of sea life including sharks!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lake Erie Surfer
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 16, 2009

My Favorite Waikiki Hotel

My wife and I stayed here several years ago, and returned because it was our favorite place to stay in Waikiki. I went to Waikiki beach just a few steps from the front door every day. The multistory aquarium inside is amazing, and gives you something to watch while you eat at the restaurants. We ate breakfast at the buffet every day, and the food was excellent. There were a lot of Japanese tourists staying at the hotel, but we found them all very polite, even if some don't speak much English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you can get a package with the breakfast buffet included with the room, do it. The breakfast buffet is excellent quality and the price is competitive with anything else available in the area, including the MacDonalds across the street.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean View
Jun 29, 2008

Excellent choice for short getaway!

The Pacific Beach Hotel is in a great location, allowing you to enjoy all in Waikiki. A car rental is not necessary unless you want to see the North shore or other areas of the island outside of Waikiki.There are many restaurants + shops available in the hotel that anyone would enjoy. Huge aquarium tank in two of the hotel restaurants making meals fun for people of all types + ages. The rooms are small but the bed was very comfortable, good shower, + clean room + bathroom. We had a nice ocean view from our balcony. We would stay here again. We were very happy with everything at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jul 1, 2008

The Center of Paradise

This was my fifth trip to Waikiki, and my first time at the Pacific Beach, and I will return to both many times! This hotel is great! On first walking in, the 3 story aquarium takes your breath away! At check in I actually felt like I was expected. The room was huge - and I have paid more for rooms half in size at some the of better hotels in Waikiki. The 2 major restaurants are a tad pricey, yet right outside the door are both a McDonalds and Paradise Cheesberger [the perfect breakfast spot. But the best feature of the Pacific Beach is the location: it feels like the geographic center of Waikiki. Walk out the front door, and the view is everything you come to Hawaii for. And the beach is literally 12 steps away! To your right are hotels, restaurants, ABC stores and the International Market Place. To your left is 24 Hour Fitness, St. Augustine's Catholic Church, ABC stores, more restaurants, the Park [for all you joggers], and the Zoo. I am recommending this hotel to all my friends. Finally, my search for a Waikiki hotel is over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paradise Cheesberger, and Wolfgang Puck Express are next door. On Kuhio Ave is a buffet style restaurant, open for a $7 breakfast and an $11 dinner. Down Kuhio you will find a little hole in the wall spot called the Sea Side where you can get a $3 breakfast and a $10 sirloin in the evenings. It's not pretty, but it's good basic food.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 11, 2007

Great First Visit

The main plus for the hotel is location and value. Rooms were fairly standard, but clean and comfortable. We had the partial ocean view and that was nice. Restaurants offered plenty of options and the overall hotel staff was very accommodating. Our room was not cleaned during one day of the stay and that's the only bad mark. When you're out all day, coming back late at night and finding unmade beds and no clean towels a bummer. Staff did replace the towels, though. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will consider the Pacific Beach Hotel again should we vacation in Ohau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The International Market Place, various shops on the Waikiki Beach. Also proximity to the beach, the zoo, Diamond Head and other attractions.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gillette, Wy
Jun 25, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

very good location and very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

this hotel has one of the best buffets i have ever been to. it may be pricey but worth it.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rmemom
Business
North Carolina, USA
Aug 19, 2011

great vacation !

I loved my stay at this hotel. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful and polite. Located right across from the beach and also has many things to see and do within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring comfortable shoes because there are so many places to shop at within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top