$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
412 reviews
Wonderful service!

The Pacific Beach Hotel has lovely customer service, the room - oceanfront on the 5th floor was... See full review

  • IK87
  • Sep 10, 2014
A Great Experience

I spent one night at Pacific Beach Hotel on my way to Japan and I have to say it was one of the... See full review

  • Kenney couple
  • Jun 11, 2014
The Pacific Beach Hotel in Hawaii's Oahu is a haven for both children and those who once were children. The three-story, 280,000-gallon aquarium is a big hit, along with the arcade, pool and whirlpool. For the sports enthusiast, there are on-site tennis courts and jogging trails nearby. The Oceanarium Restaurant will draw everyone to the table with a colorful seafood buffet, and the Polynesian Dinner Show is a fire-blazing spectacle not to be missed. The hotel also wins points for being one of the most environmentally friendly locations on the island of Oahu; certain rooms use only recycled or biodegradable products and limit energy consumption.
Key facts
  • 837 guestrooms
  • 38 floors
  • Dining: The Oceanarium Restaurant and the Aloha Center Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Tennis court
Neighborhood
The Pacific Beach Hotel is located across from Kuhio, the calmest section of ocean in the area, and guests can enjoy lodging on Kalakaua Avenue, a popular stretch for visitors that includes many shopping and dining options next to Waikiki Beach. High-end retailers like Cartier and Apple share the space with outside vendors selling trinkets and souvenirs. Many famous chain restaurants can be found, including California Pizza Kitchen. The Honolulu Zoo is only a 10-minute walk away.
Hints and tips
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.824
Area served
Waikiki, Honolulu
Nearby airports
HNL-Honolulu International Airport-9 miles east
Area description
With convenient covered parking and access in and out of Waikiki, Pacific Beach Hotel is a located just steps across from Waikiki beach, restaurants, attractions and other favorite shopping locations.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.2 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.7 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets. Children 4 and under EAT FREE at Oceanarium per paying adult.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (412)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
412 out of 412
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Nov 9, 2010

Great place to stay

We felt very welcome and the staff was extremely helpful, including extra beach towels, coffee, and they babysat our luggage while we toured the island after checkout. The room was quiet and the beds comfortable. The beach is across the street, with music and entertainment in the evenings. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping on the street in front of the hotel is fantastic, with all different types of stores and specialty shops. We discovered the city buses, and off we went on wonderful excursions. The buses are well-marked and the drivers helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Decatur
Jun 22, 2008

Wonderful staff

This was my first visit to Hawaii and the Hotel made sure I had all the information on sites to see and local information I needed. The rooms were very nice and was located directly across the beach. We had a wonderful view of Diamond Head and the ocean. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. The breakfast bar was outstanding and always hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
peman
alameda, ca
Apr 22, 2009

great service, great location

We stayed for an entire week, so take our word, this hotel has great service and is in a great location. We stayed for our wedding anniversary. We found it easily even though it can be tricky due to one way streets. It is directly across from the beach. Less than one minute commute! They upgraded us to partial ocean view..really nice gesture and we loved it. The lanai had a wonderful view! The rooms were nice but not extravagant. No microwave, but a small fridge, iron,flat screen tv. bath/shower..the beds were nice and soft..thank God, don't do well on hard matresses..the room was cleaned well except there were cobwebs on the ceiling--yuck! only complaint about the hotel.. The staff is genuinely friendly and very helpful. They respond yes, maam and sir which is refreshingly polite. Rooms were always stocked towels and cleaned daily.. The pool is on the small side and doesn't have a view, the hot tub was alright--hot but a little murky..definitely not there for those features though..the parking lot is less($15/day) than at other hotels although there are better parking deals to be found if you really, really look--but who wants to play find the car when you really need to go..Oh if you want to work out at the 24hr. Fitness you can get a discount from the front desk--$12 instead of $20--not bad for using state of the art equipment with a great view.. Close to restaurants the international marketplace too. Good restaurants: the italian restaurant two blocks east, sit down and fancy ($$$) but good food and great service & ambiance Surprisingly, Denny's has some great healthy choices the tapia fish plate, and the grilled chicken sandwiches were healthy and light on the wallet..The hotel itself had an admirable breakfast, to order from the menu--albeit not alot of variety.. they did have a great breakfast buffet however--just high $$$..But to be honest, my wife and I saved $$ by buying fruit and cereal boxes at safeway when we came in..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Everyone there knows about the Aloha bowl fleamarket..yelp it before you go..it'll save you hundreds if you had a large family like I did..It has all the same stuff as the ABC stores and more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrsbond
baltimore, md
Aug 16, 2009

Amazing Location for a Wonderful Price

We had an amazing vacation from start to finish, the only bad thing was the 8 hr flight in economy. we will definatly upgrade to first class next time. other than that our trip was so beautiful and unforgettable we will be traveling back very soon!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Germaines Luau, my husband got to be the star and dance on stage for an unforgettable experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 9, 2007

Upgraded to Ocean Front......

This trip was taken by my mother & me. At check in, we looked at the partial view room & the ocean view. We up-graded. We were on the 9th floor, room 922, and it over looked Kalakaua Ave & the beach! The partial view was nice, but the oceanview room was in better condition. The hotel is very much catered to the Asian tourist, but we found it quite pleasant. Easy access to the main drag & beach. Nice to have ABC right in the hotel. The ABC 1 block, Mauka, on Kuhio ave, is cheaper & carried a little different items. (Mauka, is toward the mountian) The attached coffee shop, near the driveway, was terrible this visit (last time it was great.) The Oceanarium Resturant, we only had the buffet breakfasts, Got tired of it after about 5 days. Didn't try dinner, because of so many other Island options. The Aquarium is really cool to watch while eating. We loved our housekeeper and was sorry when she had days off, the guys didn't clean as well. Carpet needed to be changed, but it seems they are redoing the hotel floor by floor. On Friday am the hotel offers Lei making lessons. It seems all the Waikiki action is down by the BeachWalk, but if you are older than 25 & do not want to party, this end of the beach is better, although there is still party atmosphere just past the Pacific Beach. We did walk alot. But the elevator for our room was right off Kalakaua's entrance. We definatley will stay here again, as long as the price is right! Which is why we tried it this time. Close to lots of food options, look in other hotels & shopping areas. Very near Local Hawaiian musical talent at the hotel bars/restuarants. LOVED IT. Find your Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

USE THE BUS Honolulu has the greatest bus system & the tourist trolleys. Hilo Hattie's Trolley will take you to the Ala Moana & Ward Centre for free, ok, it is a little bit of a ride, but who cares? It is GORGEOUS and you are on Vacation!! The Drivers give little local hint and knowledge too!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gainesville, Fl
Mar 3, 2009

Great price and location

Pacific Beach hotel was in an awesome spot. The hotel was located right across from the beach. The price of the hotel was wonderful knowing that there were other hotels nearby for way more than what we paid for. I love this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many shopping areas within walking distance. It was nice to walk around so close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick422
Pearl City, HI, USA
Jan 26, 2012

great view

The pacific beach hotel is In a great location and the room was pretty large for being in waikiki. Overall the pbh is a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to the bars and clubs around midnight. So much fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sanford
Sep 4, 2008

Great Location

The Pacific Beach Hotel is in a great location, just cross the street and you are on Waikiki Beach, one min. walk from there and you are at the Duke Kahanamoku Statue, great place for photos and to let your friends back home see you on the Live Web Cam facing the statue. McD's across the street for value or Dine inside Pacific Beach Hotel's Restaurant w/Three floor Sea Aquarium, beautiful, romantic, and great food!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice clubs, many different genres, I loved Zanzabar inside the Waikiki Trade Center, R&B/Hip-Hop but all the others I went to were great, crazy fun, and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Veroni
vallejo,california
Aug 24, 2013

firs time

awesome location! good room with partial view! recommend to all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

across the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Can't wait to go back.
Peoria, Illinois
Jan 23, 2011

fantastic location and staff

From check in to check out, a fantastic experience. Walk to beach,shopping and dining all in a matter of minutes. Helpful staff made booking tours easy. Would definitely stay again. The only complaint we came up with, the beds and pillows are too hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place is a must. Haggle for great deals. Allot of familiar family eating establishments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top