Pacific Beach Hotel ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$169
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 26, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016

Good overall experience in Waikiki!

Would recommend Thu, Mar 20, 2014
I enjoyed my stay at pacific beach hotel. I had booked a partial ocean view non smoking but when I arrived they had me booked in a smoking room. The front desk swiftly corrected this and moved me to a non okinh room as previously booked and since there were no partial non plunge rooms available they upgraded me to a non poking ocean front room at ok extra charge! The parking is pricey an there is a resort amenity fee that I thought was a little over the top for a 3 star hotel. I enjoyed my stay but this hotel is a little pricey for what you get. I highly recommend trying the hotels oceanarium buffet restaurant, at almost $50 each it's pricey but worth it!

Attractions

Right across the street from world famous Waikiki beach and very short distance from world famous diamond head!

| Portland, Ore Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

It was... Okay.

Would not recommend Thu, Feb 27, 2014
It was one of the cheapest at the rating we could find. So... as far as value, it was pretty good. The beds didn't have comforters which was Okay considering it was a nice 70 degrees outside day and night. The beds were hard too, but... we were so tired by the end of each day that it didn't matter! The lobby area smelled like fish. And not good fish. You know you're not actually supposed to smell the "fishy" smell at seafood restaurants, it is a sign of bad seafood. The pool was small and COLD. It was in the shade until well into the afternoon which is good for avoiding sunburns but bad for not freezing yourself or kid(s). Decent views. Good location near the zoo and Waikiki beach. The $20 daily "amenities" fee is stupid. Meh, it got the job done and was cheap. I think, if possible to pay for it, I would recommend spending a bit extra on the nicer places. My parents were at Aqua Palms up the road and it was quite a bit nicer but was ~$20 a night more which if we would have read the fine print about the $20 amenities fee, would have been equal. It had a microwave, bigger fridge, right by a trolley stop, bigger bathroom and super fluffy bed.

Attractions

If you like the outdoors and hiking, Diamond Head is an obvious attraction to go climb. If you take the bus there and walk through the gate it is only $2.50 for the bus ride and $1 to get in the park. A taxi might be a cheaper option for a large group. If you like that but want even MORE climbing, Koko head is a more hidden gem that a lot of locals use for training/morning hike. It is 1000 feet of elevation in .65 miles climbing over steep rail road ties the entire way up. A delightful leg-burn! And FREE. Not recommended for too young of kids. It really is a challenge.

| Honolulu Hawaii Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

it was very nice relaxing staff was awesome

Would recommend Mon, Feb 24, 2014
The only complaint I have is how clean the bathroom was. Went to take shower and found other people's hair in tub and the house keeping never took out the old bar of soap from previous person staying in that room. House keeping needs to step it up!

Dining

This hotel has an awesome buffet for breakfast lunch and dinner although don't think lunch buffet is every day.It's a little pricey but worth it if you can eat

| Honolulu HI Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

great view

Would recommend Sat, Jan 25, 2014
We had a view of both diamond head and the beach.Also good location,right across street from beach.

| texas Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

perfect spot for a perfect trip

Would recommend Thu, Jan 9, 2014
The pacific beach was an amazing hotel for our new years getaway. When making our reservation for the partial ocean view room, I began to worry because I ready some bad reviews, but was amazed with what we got. Also at the front desk, I would love to praise Renee because she made sure we were taken care of.

Entertainment hint

The Honolulu star offered a very inexpensive whale watching experience that left us with great memories.

| san antonio, tx Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Very Disappointed

Would not recommend Thu, Jan 9, 2014
Our one night stay at this hotel was horrible. Originally, we were supposed to stay 9 nights. It began with a nauseating smell that lingered throughout the entire hotel (along with the restaurant). It was so so awful. I cannot even describe it. The only plus was that our room did not have the smell. although, it was obvious that several paint jobs were attempted to cover mold. We were also given plastic water bottles and had to fil up at "water stations." I assume this was because the tap water at this particular hotel was not suitable for drinking. (also something that I was very unaware of while booking). Additionally, the room needed updating and repairs. The shower drain did not drain properly, and therefore, we had to shower in still water. We also continuously heard sirens throughout the night, had a horrible view, and were freezing in the room (with no ability to change the thermostat) and were given no blankets. The mattress was hard as a rock, and my fiance suffers from back pains from his most recent deployment. This made his back pains more severe. The pool and beach were falsely advertised. We checked out the next day without any help from staff .I DO NOT recommend staying at this hotel. It is absolutely disgusting, and I am so disappointed. It was false advertising, and I feel robbed. We found a hotel about two blocks down that was gorgeous. However, now we have to suffer with the financial damage of this trip due to the false advertising.

| Chicago Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Vacation relaxation

Would recommend Mon, Jan 6, 2014
Hotel was exactly what is rated what was on the website where we booked ar. We reserved a ocean front view and was given a ocean view room instead. After one night they moved us to a higher floor to what he had reserved oceanfront. Staff is very friendly and the hotel is situated in a very good location. You pay for what u get and this hotel needs some renovations and upgrades. Over all stay 3.5 star out of 5.

Dining

Eggs and scramble just outside the hotel

| Los angeles Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great location

Would recommend Sat, Jan 4, 2014
Staff are friendly and efficient. Pool area disappointing with water cold and no plants/trees to beautify what is basically a bare concrete area. Hotel is dated but clean and comfortable.

| Brisbane, Australia Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Well spent

Would recommend Thu, Jan 2, 2014
Met all expectations, always on time, decent price, overall good experience.

| Honolulu Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Perfect Location

Would recommend Sat, Dec 28, 2013
We had a great view of Diamond Head as well as Wiakiki beach from our balcony. We had a smoking room, which is not available in a lot of hotels in the area. Within walking distance of beach and a lot of great shopping areas. I would definitely recommend this hotel. In fact, I'm already trying to plan a trip back next year!

Money saver

Skip the rental car! Everything you need is within walking distance. Rent scooters for a day if you want to go exploring.

| Johnstown, Colorado Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5