$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
405 reviews
Great Stay

The stay will always be in our memories. Overall experience was great. We would stay there again... See full review

  • MICHAEL S.
  • Aug 28, 2015
Had a great trip

The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly. I had an issue with the air conditioner in the... See full review

  • Stephen B.
  • Aug 26, 2015
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.
General
Pacific Beach Hotel, Oahu
Location
The Pacific Beach Hotel in Hawaii's Oahu is a haven for both children and those who once were children. The three-story, 280,000-gallon aquarium is a big hit, along with the arcade, pool and whirlpool. For the sports enthusiast, there are on-site tennis courts and jogging trails nearby. The Oceanarium Restaurant will draw everyone to the table with a colorful seafood buffet, and the Polynesian Dinner Show is a fire-blazing spectacle not to be missed. The hotel also wins points for being one of the most environmentally friendly locations on the island of Oahu; certain rooms use only recycled or biodegradable products and limit energy consumption.
Dining
  • 837 guestrooms
  • 38 floors
  • Dining: The Oceanarium Restaurant and the Aloha Center Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Tennis court
Rooms
The Pacific Beach Hotel is located across from Kuhio, the calmest section of ocean in the area, and guests can enjoy lodging on Kalakaua Avenue, a popular stretch for visitors that includes many shopping and dining options next to Waikiki Beach. High-end retailers like Cartier and Apple share the space with outside vendors selling trinkets and souvenirs. Many famous chain restaurants can be found, including California Pizza Kitchen. The Honolulu Zoo is only a 10-minute walk away.
Highlights

The Pacific Beach Hotel is home to the Premiere Polynesian Dinner Show, which is held on select nights throughout the week. Visitors can catch a few rays out on the sundeck, or soak it up at the hotel pool. Two clay tennis courts and three golf practice cages are available for reservation, and a 24/7 on-site fitness room is open for guests to keep up with exercise routines during their travels.

Two restaurants are located at the Pacific Beach Hotel. The Oceanarium Restaurant offers amazing views and a themed buffet, which highlights delectable cuisine from both land and sea. The Aloha Center Café is perfect for a quick bite to eat, a smoothie or a hot cup of coffee. Massages and additional services can be taken advantage of at Laule'a Spa. 

Policies
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$168
3.9 / 5 1,083 reviews
★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 313 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 608 reviews
★★★
$94
2.9 / 5 98 reviews
★★★
$179
4.2 / 5 37 reviews
★★★★
$185
4.2 / 5 769 reviews
★★★
$95
3.4 / 5 344 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 115 reviews
★★★
$99
3.4 / 5 310 reviews

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.2 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.7 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets. Children 4 and under EAT FREE at Oceanarium per paying adult.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kat Neu
Couples
Chicago
Jan 9, 2014

Very Disappointed

Our one night stay at this hotel was horrible. Originally, we were supposed to stay 9 nights. It began with a nauseating smell that lingered throughout the entire hotel (along with the restaurant). It was so so awful. I cannot even describe it. The only plus was that our room did not have the smell. although, it was obvious that several paint jobs were attempted to cover mold. We were also given plastic water bottles and had to fil up at "water stations." I assume this was because the tap water at this particular hotel was not suitable for drinking. (also something that I was very unaware of while booking). Additionally, the room needed updating and repairs. The shower drain did not drain properly, and therefore, we had to shower in still water. We also continuously heard sirens throughout the night, had a horrible view, and were freezing in the room (with no ability to change the thermostat) and were given no blankets. The mattress was hard as a rock, and my fiance suffers from back pains from his most recent deployment. This made his back pains more severe. The pool and beach were falsely advertised. We checked out the next day without any help from staff .I DO NOT recommend staying at this hotel. It is absolutely disgusting, and I am so disappointed. It was false advertising, and I feel robbed. We found a hotel about two blocks down that was gorgeous. However, now we have to suffer with the financial damage of this trip due to the false advertising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mesha
Couples
Lakewood, CA, USA
Mar 4, 2012

worst place in all america

The staff was rude and inconsiderate, called about a/c not working in room suffered all night from stuffiness and heat. They wouldn't even offer me another room, and when asked to be moved to a different room they claimed there wasn't one they were totally booked. Please don't send your clients to this hotel they are horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay at this hotel

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Leora
Single
Haeaii
May 28, 2012

Broke said conditioner, hard bed and was not able to switch rooms

It was terrible nite in a room that had a broke air conditioner and would not change rooms. Hard bed and dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sonecious55
Family
Knoxville, TN
Aug 17, 2012

Very good location just acoss from beach.

Me and my family had a wonderful time at this hotel. The food was excellent, the view was great, and the staff did a great job of being helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MyGuyKoala
Couples
San Jose, California
Oct 27, 2012

Honeymooner2012

When I first booked this online there was a special where you received 2 free breakfast per each day of your stay but when I checked in they said it wasn't offered online. They referred me to a customer service person but I didn't call because I was on my honeymoon and didn't want to waste my time on the phone. I was sent a survey about the call which I never spoke with anyone, the hotel desk clerk called you not me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JennWin
Couples
New York, NY
May 1, 2013

Great Location Only Thing Going for It

I think a Holiday Inn would have been better than this place. It feels old and stale like a cheap hotel in Vegas. Uncomfortable bed, no comforter, old furniture, stained walls and carpet. Too expensive for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alan Wong restaurant for fine dining in Waikiki.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelling Donkey
Business
Honolulu
May 26, 2013

You get what you pay for!

Where to begin, Hidden Hotel Fees, and I got stuck in the elevator with an older lady who was freaking out. Contacted the hotel staff for assistance from the broken down elevator and was told assistance was on its way. After 10 minutes in a HOT elevator with a Old Lady freaking out, I decided to open the doors manually and assist everyone out. Don't use Elevator number 11. I will most likely NOT stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike from CA 2013
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jul 20, 2013

Business travler

If you are business traveler this is not the hotel for you. This hotel is an older hotel that is catering toward tourist. The location is great,staff friendly and rooms that are clean. But the noise level at night is high, shower pressure that is very low and beds that were not very comfortable. Next months trip will be the Hyatt or Hilton which is a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sherrytt
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 10, 2013

first hawaii trip

The room was not as good as the pictures on the website. Bad smell in the lobby. Old and dirty bathroom. Didn't use the shower not even once. I took shower at my friend's hotel. Overall, I don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Feb 14, 2010

Extreme Disappointment on Waikiki

I thought the pictures were misleading and the rooms were extremely bland. The beds were so horrible we didn't even stay the extra night. The bathtub had rust in it. The view was great but because it wasn't directly on the beach all you could hear was the loud music from bars below and the street noise - not relaxing. The pool picture was very, very misleading - it was only a lap pool. Would not recommend anyone I know to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top