$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
397 reviews
Great week - great location!

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have found that it met all of our needs. It is a... See full review

  • Hawaii Happy
  • Mar 21, 2014
perfect spot for a perfect trip

The pacific beach was an amazing hotel for our new years getaway. When making our reservation for... See full review

  • cfresh5
  • Jan 9, 2014
A local favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

Comfort meets convenience at Pacific Beach Hotel, one of Waikiki's favorite, locally-owned hotels. Find yourself in the heart of the action on famed Kalakaua Avenue and across the street from the best swimming and sunning stretch of Waikiki Beach. More than 800 rooms offer island-style relaxation and remarkable ocean views. The Pacific Beach Hotel is one of only a few Waikiki hotels with a tennis court and the three-story, 280,000-gallon indoor aquarium is a trademark attraction.

Highlights
  • Tennis courts with tennis pro on staff
  • HOME of the newest Premiere Polynesian Dinner Show in Waikiki -Featured Mon, Wed, Thu nights in the Grand Ballroom 5th floor.
  • Award-winning dining at the Oceanarium Restaurant 
  • New in-house, 24-hour fitness center, included with hotel guest amenity fee
Location

The Pacific Beach Hotel sits across the street from Waikiki Beach's best stretch of sand and swimming and right on Waikiki's most happening shopping and dining strip. The Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and 200-acre Kapiolani Park are about a 10- to 15-minute walk from the hotel.

Dining

Even locals line up at Oceanarium, the hotel's signature restaurant. Surrounding a 280,000-gallon saltwater aquarium, the restaurant attracts visitors as much for the views as the extravagant island-style brunch, dinner and weekend buffets.

Rooms

Choose a room in the 17-story Beach Tower or 38-story Oceanarium Tower. Each air-conditioned, island-themed room includes a private balcony, 37-inch HDTV, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), refrigerator, coffee maker, clock radio, hair dryer, voice message and data port telephone. Connecting, smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available.

Recreation
  • Full-service salon and spa services at Laulea Spa
  • Tennis court
  • New in-house, 24-hour fitness center, included with hotel guest amenity fee
  • Swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.6 mi/1 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.824
Area served
Waikiki, Honolulu
Nearby airports
HNL-Honolulu International Airport-9 miles east
Area description
With convenient covered parking and access in and out of Waikiki, Pacific Beach Hotel is a located just steps across from Waikiki beach, restaurants, attractions and other favorite shopping locations.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.2 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.7 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (397)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
397 out of 397
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Kkerr
Orlando, Fl
Apr 7, 2014

Vacation

First room had a mold area on ceiling that had been painted over and after our 2nd night we woke up to water dripping from it. Manager did put us in a better room. After the first night the a/c stopped working so call and they sent someone to repair. It did it again next night so after that it was fixed where it never shut off so we were freezing at night. Staff were friendly but they need to put some upgrades in rooms instead of making sure it looked fancy and classy outside and in the lobby. I won't ever stay there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheeseburger in Paradise. Awesome food, staff and prices!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
FDrew
Chicago
Mar 31, 2014

Great Stay

I understand that the rooms are about to be updated which is needed. However, I have no complaints. Our room was on the 35th floor with a magnificent view of Diamond Head and the beach. The bed was new and the carpeting appeared to be new. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean during our 9 night stay. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The location couldn't be better. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The croissadas at the hotel café are delicious.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Sasless
Edmonton AB Canada
Mar 22, 2014

choose another

first cold room in Hawaii in 30 years. (windy rainy night) but when we called for another blanket...90 min later still waiting.. second call got results.. no hot water in our room every day 6 am to 11 am and 5 pm till 11 pm.. then surprise u with a 21$ a night "resort fee".. whatever..we don't use their gym etc.. no matter - pay it.. there are lots of other hotels..keep looking...to be fair, they did take off 2 nights resort fees, to compensate for the daily cold showers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Beach broiler

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Hawaii Happy
South Dakota
Mar 21, 2014

Great week - great location!

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have found that it met all of our needs. It is a great location for several activities and less than a block from the city bus stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
ZwiggyPDX
Portland, Ore
Mar 20, 2014

Good overall experience in Waikiki!

I enjoyed my stay at pacific beach hotel. I had booked a partial ocean view non smoking but when I arrived they had me booked in a smoking room. The front desk swiftly corrected this and moved me to a non okinh room as previously booked and since there were no partial non plunge rooms available they upgraded me to a non poking ocean front room at ok extra charge! The parking is pricey an there is a resort amenity fee that I thought was a little over the top for a 3 star hotel. I enjoyed my stay but this hotel is a little pricey for what you get. I highly recommend trying the hotels oceanarium buffet restaurant, at almost $50 each it's pricey but worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from world famous Waikiki beach and very short distance from world famous diamond head!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
craig81
Fremont, ca
Mar 3, 2014

fantastic beachfront view

Got to the hotel. They upgraded me from a beachfront room to a beachfront penthouse suite. Awesome view of wiakiki beach. Great location. Very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling at hunuama bay. Drive yourself , bur your own gear or just rent it. Pearl Harbor Is free, just drive yourself.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
SalsaTopp
Honolulu Hawaii
Feb 27, 2014

It was... Okay.

It was one of the cheapest at the rating we could find. So... as far as value, it was pretty good. The beds didn't have comforters which was Okay considering it was a nice 70 degrees outside day and night. The beds were hard too, but... we were so tired by the end of each day that it didn't matter! The lobby area smelled like fish. And not good fish. You know you're not actually supposed to smell the "fishy" smell at seafood restaurants, it is a sign of bad seafood. The pool was small and COLD. It was in the shade until well into the afternoon which is good for avoiding sunburns but bad for not freezing yourself or kid(s). Decent views. Good location near the zoo and Waikiki beach. The $20 daily "amenities" fee is stupid. Meh, it got the job done and was cheap. I think, if possible to pay for it, I would recommend spending a bit extra on the nicer places. My parents were at Aqua Palms up the road and it was quite a bit nicer but was ~$20 a night more which if we would have read the fine print about the $20 amenities fee, would have been equal. It had a microwave, bigger fridge, right by a trolley stop, bigger bathroom and super fluffy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like the outdoors and hiking, Diamond Head is an obvious attraction to go climb. If you take the bus there and walk through the gate it is only $2.50 for the bus ride and $1 to get in the park. A taxi might be a cheaper option for a large group. If you like that but want even MORE climbing, Koko head is a more hidden gem that a lot of locals use for training/morning hike. It is 1000 feet of elevation in .65 miles climbing over steep rail road ties the entire way up. A delightful leg-burn! And FREE. Not recommended for too young of kids. It really is a challenge.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
jeremy father of four
Honolulu HI
Feb 24, 2014

it was very nice relaxing staff was awesome

The only complaint I have is how clean the bathroom was. Went to take shower and found other people's hair in tub and the house keeping never took out the old bar of soap from previous person staying in that room. House keeping needs to step it up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

This hotel has an awesome buffet for breakfast lunch and dinner although don't think lunch buffet is every day.It's a little pricey but worth it if you can eat

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
rough boy
texas
Jan 25, 2014

great view

We had a view of both diamond head and the beach.Also good location,right across street from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
cfresh5
san antonio, tx
Jan 9, 2014

perfect spot for a perfect trip

The pacific beach was an amazing hotel for our new years getaway. When making our reservation for the partial ocean view room, I began to worry because I ready some bad reviews, but was amazed with what we got. Also at the front desk, I would love to praise Renee because she made sure we were taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Honolulu star offered a very inexpensive whale watching experience that left us with great memories.

Back to menu Return to top