$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
637 reviews
Fantastic vacation

We loved this hotel. Everyone was so nice and the location was great. The views were breath taking.... See full review

  • Wehrle
  • Apr 26, 2014
Great Hotel

This was the second time we stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. The location is perfect... See full review

  • Ellen Boston Strong
  • Apr 17, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (637)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 637
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Dec 15, 2010

Too Noisy

WE had stayed out the outrigger before and found it very comfortable but I was extremeley disappointed with our last visit there and will not be staying there again. It was a Christmas getaway for us and we were hoping to rest up and that did not happen. The noise from our adjoining rooms was unacceptable both early in the mornings (5.30 - 6.00 am) and in the middle of the night. Finally when the people next door had left we were woken in the middle of the night by a sewer truck emptying the sewerage at the cheescake factory next door - this went on for ages. When we spoke to the staff about it they really didn't care. The fact that it is also a time share property was also a problem as the pool was always reserved for the so called regulars. Very annoying when you had also paid your money. Position is however fabulous - perhaps try one of the neighbouring hotels instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great dining places in the vicinity with a great choice of variety

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Dec 15, 2010

Too Noisy

WE had stayed out the outrigger before and found it very comfortable but I was extremeley disappointed with our last visit there and will not be staying there again. It was a Christmas getaway for us and we were hoping to rest up and that did not happen. The noise from our adjoining rooms was unacceptable both early in the mornings (5.30 - 6.00 am) and in the middle of the night. Finally when the people next door had left we were woken in the middle of the night by a sewer truck emptying the sewerage at the cheescake factory next door - this went on for ages. When we spoke to the staff about it they really didn't care. The fact that it is also a time share property was also a problem as the pool was always reserved for the so called regulars. Very annoying when you had also paid your money. Position is however fabulous - perhaps try one of the neighbouring hotels instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great dining places in the vicinity with a great choice of variety

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne Australia
Jan 12, 2010

Great location

The location of the hotel is fabulous - it is unfortunately getting tired, and the noise insulation between the rooms is terrible and so if you are unfortunate to get a noisy family next door or partying girls - like us then you are not going to be getting any sleep. Hotel staff did nothing to fix the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Waikele outlet shopping - for us in Australia great value for money.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne Australia
Jan 12, 2010

Great location

The location of the hotel is fabulous - it is unfortunately getting tired, and the noise insulation between the rooms is terrible and so if you are unfortunate to get a noisy family next door or partying girls - like us then you are not going to be getting any sleep. Hotel staff did nothing to fix the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Waikele outlet shopping - for us in Australia great value for money.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Repeat Hawaii Traveler
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2009

Not as Expected

Loved the location of hotel and beach access. Didn't like fact requested room with 2 beds and was only given 1 bed with hide-a-bed in couch which was very uncomfortable. Elevators kept breaking down. Also didn't like having to pay for internet access. Many hotels offer that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose, CA
Jun 20, 2009

nothing special

this hotel is definitely blessed with the best location in waikiki. you are smack in the middle of everything and even have a pretty nice stretch of beach to enjoy. however, that's about as far as the pros go. the cons greatly outweigh the benefits at this hotel. 1. it's old and it shows. the stores on the bottom level are outdated and irrelevant. rooms are tiny and do not live up to the level that the outrigger pretends to be at 2. staff is unfriendly and sometimes downright rude. it's fortunate that this is hawaii and most of the time you will be on the beach anyways. but if you ask housekeeping for extra towels or anything else, be ready to take some attitude. 3. ridiculous rates...the rates on orbitz for this hotel are just outrageous, you would be better off walking in than making a reservation through orbitz. we got ripped off and when we got to the hotel, the people there tried to push a "partial ocean view" room onto us for $50 more a night. of course we declined; when we got to our "regular" room, we noticed that we still had partial ocean view anyways. what a rip-off 4. the pool area is tiny. i guess you could go to dukes and have drinks but you don't need to be a hotel guest to enjoy this feature seriously, if you are on vacation in hawaii and have the money to spend on staying at the outrigger, i suggest you stay somewhere else. there are PLENTY of other options out there that are in the same location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chseto
Vancouver, BC
Apr 7, 2010

Average Only But Good Location

Housekeeping was not up to par. A couple times, housekeeping never refilled our soap/shampoo products and tub never seemed to be cleaned every day. Lanai railing never wiped as it always had the same bird [*]. Rooms don't have flat screen TV's. Pool was so small and not enough sunbathing chairs...all of them were always taken. I stayed at Sheraton Waikiki last year and it was way better especially the new pool. The only thing good about it is the central location in waikiki and close proximity to everything. Public parking was only valet which was not great coz it meant you had to tip the valet each time.Duke's Restaurant in the hotel is good for buffet breakfast. Dinner was okay but did include buffet salad bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's Restaurant buffet breakfast was a good deal and great patio seating.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nels mid-west
Oakdale, MN
Feb 18, 2011

excellent location/ beach

liked the hotel and location, staff was very pleasant and freindly.However, be aware of packages organized by the hotel,they are too expensive.Call the places and make your own arrangements and you will save alot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port Orchard, WA
May 23, 2008

rooms very small

I was very dissatisfied with the room. It was probably the smallest room I have had in the 10 or so times we have been to Hawaii. The location of course is ideal, but the street noise was constant outside our room and the aircondtioning did not keep it cool enough. The bathroom wasn't big enough to keep anything in it. The staff didn't seem to care about taking care of our needs at all. All in all my husband and I were shocked at the fact that as pricey as the Hotel was, we avoided our room as much as possible. We will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the center of everything, and the beach is beautiful, although so crowded it was hard to find a spot.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chseto
Vancouver, BC
Apr 7, 2010

Average Only But Good Location

Housekeeping was not up to par. A couple times, housekeeping never refilled our soap/shampoo products and tub never seemed to be cleaned every day. Lanai railing never wiped as it always had the same bird [*]. Rooms don't have flat screen TV's. Pool was so small and not enough sunbathing chairs...all of them were always taken. I stayed at Sheraton Waikiki last year and it was way better especially the new pool. The only thing good about it is the central location in waikiki and close proximity to everything. Public parking was only valet which was not great coz it meant you had to tip the valet each time.Duke's Restaurant in the hotel is good for buffet breakfast. Dinner was okay but did include buffet salad bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's Restaurant buffet breakfast was a good deal and great patio seating.

Back to menu Return to top