$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 27, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
360 reviews
Great family hotel

This hotel was near great shopping and there are 2 very good resturants in the hotel. Very nice... See full review

  • king crush
  • Feb 24, 2014
Best Location!

Best Location and good service. Retarurants are also good! See full review

  • Akira N
  • Feb 10, 2014
Fun in the sun with legendary bar and restaurant on Waikiki Beach

Outrigger Waikiki is the flagship location of a favorite Hawaii hotel chain, perfect for couples and families. Located on the sand of Waikiki Beach, enjoy partial or full ocean views from most rooms and a festive, relaxed environment with contemporary decor. The hotel is home to Duke's Waikiki, Honolulu's legendary restaurant and bar. The mid-Waikiki setting makes a short walk to numerous attractions in the area. 

Highlights
  • Grab a mai tai and watch the sunset from Duke's Waikiki
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Beach Boy Valet package offers numerous water activities
  • 24-hour business center with computer, high-speed Internet and fax
Location

Outrigger Waikiki is in the heart of the action. Located oceanfront on a fashionable stretch of Waikiki Beach and midpoint along the famous beach mile, the hotel affords entertainment in all directions. The hotel's best-known bar and restaurant, Duke's, stretches into the sand for a beach experience day and night. Royal Hawaiian Center and other Waikiki shops are a block away.

Rooms

Step onto your private balcony for spectacular city or ocean views. Decor is Island-style with soft florals, earth tones and wood accents. One-bedroom units are also available. Rooms have free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, Nintendo,  alarm clock/radio with MP3 player and free direct-dial phone calls to anywhere in Hawaii, US mainland and Canada.

Dining

Don't miss one of the most happening beachfront hangouts in Waikiki, Duke's Waikiki. Named after surf legend Duke Kahanamoku, the breakfast buffet and happy hour are its biggest draws. Hear Hawaii's favorite musicians perform in the evenings. Upstairs, the Hula Grill offers ocean views and excellent mid-priced dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Recreation
  • Wedding vow renewal ceremonies on the beach, led by a nondenominational Hawaiian priest
  • Waikiki Plantation Spa, the only penthouse spa in Hawaii, with oceanfront views
  • Beach Boy Valet package offers surfing, paddleboarding, outrigger canoe surfing, sailing, reef diving and bodyboarding  
  • Learn lei-making or take ukulele and hula lessons
  • Swimming pool, sundeck and Jacuzzi
  • 24-hour fitness center
Transportation
  • Honolulu International Airport (11 mi/17.8 km)
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (fronting hotel)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (next door)
  • Honolulu Zoo (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
360 out of 360
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
erie co.
Jun 30, 2010

outrigger 33rd wedding anni

beach dine shop history

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
Larry Leisure
Redondo Beach, ca.
Oct 26, 2009

romantic getaway thats hard to leave

The staff was friendly, we enjoyed the partial ocean view room. This spot is right in the middle of Waikiki Beach. It's fun to walk up the beach at night and hear the music from all the other hotels . A very romantic spot to watch the sunset is in the ocean right in front of the hotel. It was hard to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
LV travelersusan
las vegas
Mar 2, 2013

singles getaway at waikiki

The hotel was perfectly located on the beach at Waikiki, easy to get transportation, services such as maid, concierge, bellman were excellent, however, didn't like that we had to pay for beach lounges/umbrellas. The hotel is between 2 five star historic hotels, the Royal Hawaiian and Moana Surfrider so we could take advantage of their restaurants/lounges/bars as well. International Marketplace souvenir shopping right across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Polynesian cultural center was not what would be anticipated from the ads, it was like Disney version of Polynesia, good for families as there are kids activities but cost $95 per adult for transportation/cheapest ticket and NOT authentic experience. It exists to support students at BYU Hawaii so not a total ripoff but, if you are a savvy adult looking for a nice experience,skip it, rent a car to North Shore instead and stop where you want

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
Lookin to Travel
Calgary, AB CANADA
Oct 6, 2009

Great service & close to everything

Outstanding - everyone was very helpful from bellhops to restaurant staff to those at the Events/courtesy desk. They helped us line up some great trips (such as Pearl Harbour), recommended the best Luau, provided some wonderful tips for our day trip of the island and secured a car rental at the last minute! Even the staff in the shops went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the small shop by the stairs outside Duke's - knowledgeable staff and a great chance to take home a little piece of the Island!

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
isaisa
kentucky
Aug 21, 2009

great location

always an enjoyable stay at the outrigger

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dukes is affordable and has nightly entertainment

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Arlington, Texas
Jun 22, 2010

Honolulu vacation 2010

The overall experience was good, like I note a little noisy, a lot of door slamming. The access to the beach was good but get there early if you want to get spot. In general Honolulu is typical big city. Our best times were out and away from the hotel. Especially on the north side of the island. Nothing to do with quality of the hotel, but if I knew what know now I would not have picked Honolulu. Up side there were lot of great resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
california
Jun 2, 2009

great location, great service

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Centrally located in down town waikiki and with easy beach access. The beach is only a couple of feet from when you get off the elevator. Great restaurants with awesome views of the beach. The hotel even gives you beach towels and are able to rent varies beach stuff. The bad thing about this hotel is that it is located on a very loud and busy street. When we first got there we were located on the 1st floor right next to the street. Even though it was a city view room it had a great view of the beach and ocean, however, we could hear all the street noises and the clubs across the street. We asked to change rooms and they moved us to the 10th floor with an even better view. It was still noisy but not as bad. The room had everything but a microwave and we asked for one and they brought it up. The staff really did everything to make us feel comfortable and answered all our questions and helped us with getting around and maps of the area. Would stay here again but would rather try out a hotel further away from the crowds since we rented a car. Oh yeah, its 25 dollars a day to park your car but well worth it. We never had to wait to get our car and with the valet parking it was easy getting in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping everywhere you turn. In the hotel and all around. Located next to several shops and malls with high end merchants like gucci, prada, dior, etc

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
Marilyn's bucket list
Florence, KY
May 29, 2011

On the Beach...

Terrific location with beach & surf feet away. Upon checkin, it would have helped if an overview of all amenities were verbally given. We felt like we were on our own. Front Desk (on 2nd floor Lobby Level)was not very informative when asked about TheBus or other transportation, she directed us to the Activities desk across from her. There was a separate activities counter on the 1st floor Lobby Level also. Somewhat confusing. We were told we had access to a hospitality room so we could freshen up or swim until our flight left if we wanted (checkout was 12noon,our flight left at 9:30pm)but when we went to use the room, we were given 30 minutes to use a small hotel room. Not enough time for 2 people to shower and get ready. Overall our room was clean, pillows were fantastic, shower/toilet area however was very tight (half bathtub/3ft wide w/shower). Our 16th floor balcony not curved like floors below but still had glimpse of ocean. We could have upgraded to oceanfront for $$ more but chose not to spend that kind of money. Hula Grill was fantastic in cost,service,taste & view of beach! Did not really care for Duke's breakfast buffet but lunch was good. Overall, location was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
jramzv
Colleyville, Texas
Sep 12, 2010

Access to everything...great hotel.

Access to everything...great hotel...definately will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
Mom and 3 Adult Daughters
San Francisco
Jul 17, 2013

Great Hospitality

Our stay was very enjoyable. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful and quick to respond to any need we had. The restaurants were great, location was very good and the room was comfortable. If we ever return to Waikiki, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchased the Go Oahu card for activities and took full advantage of it. We had a great time and got the most bang for the buck. Our favorite adventure was going out on a Katamaran (sp?) for the morning and we were delighted to see sea turtles and dolphins swimming along with us!

Back to menu Return to top