$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
637 reviews
Fantastic vacation

We loved this hotel. Everyone was so nice and the location was great. The views were breath taking.... See full review

  • Wehrle
  • Apr 26, 2014
Great Hotel

This was the second time we stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. The location is perfect... See full review

  • Ellen Boston Strong
  • Apr 17, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (637)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
637 out of 637
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port Orchard, WA
May 23, 2008

rooms very small

I was very dissatisfied with the room. It was probably the smallest room I have had in the 10 or so times we have been to Hawaii. The location of course is ideal, but the street noise was constant outside our room and the aircondtioning did not keep it cool enough. The bathroom wasn't big enough to keep anything in it. The staff didn't seem to care about taking care of our needs at all. All in all my husband and I were shocked at the fact that as pricey as the Hotel was, we avoided our room as much as possible. We will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the center of everything, and the beach is beautiful, although so crowded it was hard to find a spot.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chseto
Vancouver, BC
Apr 7, 2010

Average Only But Good Location

Housekeeping was not up to par. A couple times, housekeeping never refilled our soap/shampoo products and tub never seemed to be cleaned every day. Lanai railing never wiped as it always had the same bird [*]. Rooms don't have flat screen TV's. Pool was so small and not enough sunbathing chairs...all of them were always taken. I stayed at Sheraton Waikiki last year and it was way better especially the new pool. The only thing good about it is the central location in waikiki and close proximity to everything. Public parking was only valet which was not great coz it meant you had to tip the valet each time.Duke's Restaurant in the hotel is good for buffet breakfast. Dinner was okay but did include buffet salad bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's Restaurant buffet breakfast was a good deal and great patio seating.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonin'
Wisconsin
Feb 18, 2011

Be careful of 'Ocean View'

Hotel was nice, although not 4 stars even though it was priced as such. I thought we were getting an ocean view, but it was more like an alley view with a glimpse of the ocean. At check in they said we were given an ocean "side" room. Upgrade was $90 per night... Also was expecting a king bed for our honeymoon - not two double beds, but we made it work. Lobby, dining, and beach areas are nice but would probably stay at Outrigger on the Reef instead next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Valet parking is $30 per night. If just staying on the beach save the money on a rental and parking.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quidam
Folsom, CA
Dec 5, 2011

Good Place to stay in Waikiki

Though in a very convenient location the drive to the hotel can be inconvenient. The driveway crosses a major sidewalk that makes the approach to the valet parking inconvenient. The valet parking gang did a really good job getting our car quickly. Most of the time they helped with "crowd control" to get in and out of the driveway. The hotel room was clean and well stocked with the standard amenities. Though I only spoke to the guest services people a few times each time they were informative and helpful. I could easily recommend this hotel to people that need to stay in Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose, CA
Jun 20, 2009

nothing special

this hotel is definitely blessed with the best location in waikiki. you are smack in the middle of everything and even have a pretty nice stretch of beach to enjoy. however, that's about as far as the pros go. the cons greatly outweigh the benefits at this hotel. 1. it's old and it shows. the stores on the bottom level are outdated and irrelevant. rooms are tiny and do not live up to the level that the outrigger pretends to be at 2. staff is unfriendly and sometimes downright rude. it's fortunate that this is hawaii and most of the time you will be on the beach anyways. but if you ask housekeeping for extra towels or anything else, be ready to take some attitude. 3. ridiculous rates...the rates on orbitz for this hotel are just outrageous, you would be better off walking in than making a reservation through orbitz. we got ripped off and when we got to the hotel, the people there tried to push a "partial ocean view" room onto us for $50 more a night. of course we declined; when we got to our "regular" room, we noticed that we still had partial ocean view anyways. what a rip-off 4. the pool area is tiny. i guess you could go to dukes and have drinks but you don't need to be a hotel guest to enjoy this feature seriously, if you are on vacation in hawaii and have the money to spend on staying at the outrigger, i suggest you stay somewhere else. there are PLENTY of other options out there that are in the same location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Dec 17, 2008

Nice location

The room seemed much larger than most with a desk area and a table and two chairs. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink with a long counter and there was adequate space for hanging clothes and they provided two suitcase stands. The location was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very Close to the beach and shops

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllyL
Irvine, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Decent Hotel

I LOVED the location of this hotel. Its right on Waikiki beach and is walking distance to some great shopping and restaurants downtown. The hotel is decent, however, I could tell that the hotel is a bit dated. Maybe that's why its undergoing renovation. I got a discounted rate to stay at this hotel because of the renovations, which sort of made of up for the outrageous $30/day hotel parking fee. Besides the paper thin walls, noisy construction during the day, and expensive parking, overall I was pleased with my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's! Great food and drinks. Awesome location right on the beach.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Whittier, CA
Nov 3, 2009

Too much chaos!

I wanted to stay in Waikiki for the last night of our trip to enjoy one last sunset on Waikiki beach. I forgot since the last time we visited, how crowded and totally overrun it was with all the tourists trying frantically to spend their money in all the crowded shops. The shops so crowd the entrance to the hotel that we missed it three times and they charged us $25 to park the rental car. Room was small but clean. Tub was a joke (a half tub that a "little person" wouldn't even be comfortable in. But hey, who takes baths anymore) Safe didn't work, so I gave up and took a chance that my jewelry would be safe. But it was adequate for the price I spent through [...]. It was OK for one night, but not for me. Only one positive thing I can say about Honolulu is, don't rent a car if you're only planning to stay in and around the city. Busses go practically everywhere you want to go and all the shopping, eateries, entertainment and nightlife is within walking distance (if that's what you're into). If you want quiet tranquility and peace, go to the outer areas of Oahu. They are there, you just have to look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market was right across the street from this hotel. Vendors practically pounce on you when you near their cart. They all have the same things, so shop and barter.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Had a great time anyway
Virginia
Feb 19, 2012

Mediocre hotel in excellent location

Rooms area bit small, beds are average, you have to swipe a room key to use the elevators which gets annoying, small gym with a decent view, Duke's on the first floor has great food and really good prices especially for being right on the beach, the Outrigger is in the direct center of Waikiki Beach, aimed at somewhat younger crowd, bands by the pool nearly every afternoon but also means they close the pool/spa around 3 or 4pm., staff are great, decent shops downstairs, also right across the street from the International market. May stay there again but prefer a couple other hotels a bit more then walk over and eat at Duke's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's is great for any meal, on the beach, inexpensive, great food but if you want some of the best food in Waikiki go to the Halekulani's House Without A Key without a reservation or Halekulani's Orchids with a reservation.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TIGeR-.-
Alamogordo, NM
Dec 7, 2010

Good Stay!

When you wanna stay on Hawaii go in Outrigger, Surfrider or Royal Hawaiian.... its expensiv than other hotels but the beach is the best on this corner... and you are in the midle of the shopping mile... Dont forget Hawaii is very expansive for 2 ppl we have pay litle bit more than 4000 usd.... hf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes = good Breakfast all you can eat (35 USD incl Tax two personons) Cheasecakefactory= perfect dinner!!! go early so u dont have to wait... it was realy good and sheep for 2 persons 75 usd...

Back to menu Return to top