$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
639 reviews
Great hotel and awesome location.

Loved this hotel, nice rooms, saw the sun come up in the morning. Beach restaurants all around ya. See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • Jul 24, 2014
absolutely great!!!!

The staff are very nice and the rooms are extremely clean. Food was fabulous! ! Will definitely... See full review

  • faithsimunick
  • Jul 13, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (639)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
639 out of 639
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jul 28, 2009

Great view- service not so good

Stay dates: 7/21/09 thru 7/26/09 First with the good: Great view from the ocean front room and good location as far as being right on the beach. The breakfast buffet at Duke's was also very good with plenty of food. Now for the bad: We were a day late checking into our hotel room, and I called more than 24 hours in advance to let them know this. When we arrived, I asked if we were going to be charged for the previous night that we did not stay in the hotel, and the intern working the desk told me that I would not be refunded any amount for this lost day and was not offered anything in return. All we got was a half hearted "sorry". This lack of welcome ness disappointed me very much. Nevertheless, we were on our honeymoon and decided that no matter what happened, we were going to make the best of our trip. This meant not getting in an argument or letting anything get in the way of us having fun. However, I feel like now that our trip is over I should say something to let other people know what our experience was like. Now for the room keys, they did not work half of the time. Therefore, we spent quite some time standing in front of our room just swiping our room key. I do not recall a time that our door unlocked on the very first swipe. On more than one occasion, a person from housekeeping noticed us trying to get into our room without any luck and had to let us in. Oh, and the room keys are also used to activate the elevators, so there was plenty of time spent inside the elevator just trying to get to our floor (#11), and we weren't the only ones with these problems. So, after a couple days of trying to swipe the rooms keys faster and slower to see if there was a sweet spot in the card readers, we called down to the front desk to get new keys. The hotel representative apologized and said that the new keys would be up shortly, but we never saw them. This lack of service was very disappointing. Overall, we had a good trip, but I do not feel like we got our money's worth at our hotel. We will definitely not stay here again, and would recommend the same to everyone that we know. There are plenty of other hotels in Waikiki that I'm sure can beat the service here. Hope this helps the rest of you looking for a place to stay in Waikiki. Brian & Amanda

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast buffet at Dukes. We booked a room with free breakfast for two everyday, and ate here most mornings.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jul 28, 2009

Great view- service not so good

Stay dates: 7/21/09 thru 7/26/09 First with the good: Great view from the ocean front room and good location as far as being right on the beach. The breakfast buffet at Duke's was also very good with plenty of food. Now for the bad: We were a day late checking into our hotel room, and I called more than 24 hours in advance to let them know this. When we arrived, I asked if we were going to be charged for the previous night that we did not stay in the hotel, and the intern working the desk told me that I would not be refunded any amount for this lost day and was not offered anything in return. All we got was a half hearted "sorry". This lack of welcome ness disappointed me very much. Nevertheless, we were on our honeymoon and decided that no matter what happened, we were going to make the best of our trip. This meant not getting in an argument or letting anything get in the way of us having fun. However, I feel like now that our trip is over I should say something to let other people know what our experience was like. Now for the room keys, they did not work half of the time. Therefore, we spent quite some time standing in front of our room just swiping our room key. I do not recall a time that our door unlocked on the very first swipe. On more than one occasion, a person from housekeeping noticed us trying to get into our room without any luck and had to let us in. Oh, and the room keys are also used to activate the elevators, so there was plenty of time spent inside the elevator just trying to get to our floor (#11), and we weren't the only ones with these problems. So, after a couple days of trying to swipe the rooms keys faster and slower to see if there was a sweet spot in the card readers, we called down to the front desk to get new keys. The hotel representative apologized and said that the new keys would be up shortly, but we never saw them. This lack of service was very disappointing. Overall, we had a good trip, but I do not feel like we got our money's worth at our hotel. We will definitely not stay here again, and would recommend the same to everyone that we know. There are plenty of other hotels in Waikiki that I'm sure can beat the service here. Hope this helps the rest of you looking for a place to stay in Waikiki. Brian & Amanda

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast buffet at Dukes. We booked a room with free breakfast for two everyday, and ate here most mornings.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tgb
San Antonio, TX
May 25, 2009

Great hotel, bad room location

The hotel was great, with the exception of the room location. We had a partial ocean view room, however right below the room was the hotel air conditioning unit and the unit was extremely noisy. Hotel stay would have been much better without all of the noise. Disappointed with the room location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Dec 15, 2010

Too Noisy

WE had stayed out the outrigger before and found it very comfortable but I was extremeley disappointed with our last visit there and will not be staying there again. It was a Christmas getaway for us and we were hoping to rest up and that did not happen. The noise from our adjoining rooms was unacceptable both early in the mornings (5.30 - 6.00 am) and in the middle of the night. Finally when the people next door had left we were woken in the middle of the night by a sewer truck emptying the sewerage at the cheescake factory next door - this went on for ages. When we spoke to the staff about it they really didn't care. The fact that it is also a time share property was also a problem as the pool was always reserved for the so called regulars. Very annoying when you had also paid your money. Position is however fabulous - perhaps try one of the neighbouring hotels instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great dining places in the vicinity with a great choice of variety

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tgb
San Antonio, TX
May 25, 2009

Great hotel, bad room location

The hotel was great, with the exception of the room location. We had a partial ocean view room, however right below the room was the hotel air conditioning unit and the unit was extremely noisy. Hotel stay would have been much better without all of the noise. Disappointed with the room location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ComPH
Laguna Hills, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Nice Hotel, sound insulation like a tent

Everything about the hotel and staff is great, clean room, courteous staff, nice view... The sound insulation is just non-existent. We heard people arguing at 1:00 a.m., couple of nights there were very intimate noises (I would not take kids there), little gross. Sounds were easily heard from the inside, outside, all surrounding rooms, but especially the adjoining room. There we could hear like if it were the same room. When we tried to change room twice, the second time we were told to upgrade to "full ocean view" for extra fee of course. For that we could have been at the Royal Hawaiian. As a matter of fact, I traveled the world over, but never was I in a room so sound transparent. Too bad. If you want to hear an adult entertainment, this might be a free bonus I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Dec 15, 2010

Too Noisy

WE had stayed out the outrigger before and found it very comfortable but I was extremeley disappointed with our last visit there and will not be staying there again. It was a Christmas getaway for us and we were hoping to rest up and that did not happen. The noise from our adjoining rooms was unacceptable both early in the mornings (5.30 - 6.00 am) and in the middle of the night. Finally when the people next door had left we were woken in the middle of the night by a sewer truck emptying the sewerage at the cheescake factory next door - this went on for ages. When we spoke to the staff about it they really didn't care. The fact that it is also a time share property was also a problem as the pool was always reserved for the so called regulars. Very annoying when you had also paid your money. Position is however fabulous - perhaps try one of the neighbouring hotels instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great dining places in the vicinity with a great choice of variety

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ComPH
Laguna Hills, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Nice Hotel, sound insulation like a tent

Everything about the hotel and staff is great, clean room, courteous staff, nice view... The sound insulation is just non-existent. We heard people arguing at 1:00 a.m., couple of nights there were very intimate noises (I would not take kids there), little gross. Sounds were easily heard from the inside, outside, all surrounding rooms, but especially the adjoining room. There we could hear like if it were the same room. When we tried to change room twice, the second time we were told to upgrade to "full ocean view" for extra fee of course. For that we could have been at the Royal Hawaiian. As a matter of fact, I traveled the world over, but never was I in a room so sound transparent. Too bad. If you want to hear an adult entertainment, this might be a free bonus I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne Australia
Jan 12, 2010

Great location

The location of the hotel is fabulous - it is unfortunately getting tired, and the noise insulation between the rooms is terrible and so if you are unfortunate to get a noisy family next door or partying girls - like us then you are not going to be getting any sleep. Hotel staff did nothing to fix the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Waikele outlet shopping - for us in Australia great value for money.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Paci 0
Calif
Jan 29, 2013

Wife and I get away

I ordered a Queen Size Bed through your company and the hotel gave us two twin beds , They said due to we ordered through your company they couldnt or wouldnt be able to give us what we ordered ? so the only way we could get a Queen bed was to upgrade ! so that cost us $550 dollars more We Was not Happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top