$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
637 reviews
Fantastic vacation

We loved this hotel. Everyone was so nice and the location was great. The views were breath taking.... See full review

  • Wehrle
  • Apr 26, 2014
Great Hotel

This was the second time we stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. The location is perfect... See full review

  • Ellen Boston Strong
  • Apr 17, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (637)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
637 out of 637
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Aug 18, 2009

Great location, good price

This was a great location, we were able to walk to everything in Waikiki. The room was a nice size for the price and clean. I would rate the hotel staff as average, some were very nice and some were not so helpful. The beach is very nice in front of the hotel. All in all we had a great trip and we would stay there again. We did not have our children with us this time, but there were many families staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's Restaurant is in the hotel and it is some of the best food we ate while in Waikiki.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClarkCast360
Bushkill, PA
Apr 2, 2011

Aloha - Mahalo

Of the 3 dining options at the Outrigger I would have to rate Chuck's and Hulu Grill over Duke's. Loved the fact that we could walk straight out onto the beach from the hotel. Staff was great. Hotel was within walking distance of many dining and shopping options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake Factory, Chuck's and Hulu Grille

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ike Farhan
Seattle,Washington
Apr 28, 2014

Best location

This is very convenient location for Waikiki, hotel has all the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great choices around the hotel.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn's bucket list
Florence, KY
May 29, 2011

On the Beach...

Terrific location with beach & surf feet away. Upon checkin, it would have helped if an overview of all amenities were verbally given. We felt like we were on our own. Front Desk (on 2nd floor Lobby Level)was not very informative when asked about TheBus or other transportation, she directed us to the Activities desk across from her. There was a separate activities counter on the 1st floor Lobby Level also. Somewhat confusing. We were told we had access to a hospitality room so we could freshen up or swim until our flight left if we wanted (checkout was 12noon,our flight left at 9:30pm)but when we went to use the room, we were given 30 minutes to use a small hotel room. Not enough time for 2 people to shower and get ready. Overall our room was clean, pillows were fantastic, shower/toilet area however was very tight (half bathtub/3ft wide w/shower). Our 16th floor balcony not curved like floors below but still had glimpse of ocean. We could have upgraded to oceanfront for $$ more but chose not to spend that kind of money. Hula Grill was fantastic in cost,service,taste & view of beach! Did not really care for Duke's breakfast buffet but lunch was good. Overall, location was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vik
Minnesota
Feb 7, 2011

Great place for honeymoon and anniversar

Very good location write on a beach,and meddle of the city on the main street ,in a day time on a beach,in evenings and night time a lot of shows on the main street and a lot of shopping center around and in a front,has 3 or 4 greet restaurants,ocean view , fresh food, great prices. Compare to last trip to Cancun Mexico,i liked there too its nice to go with kids more lay down,easier to go to restaurants all inclusive, here have to wait for seat and a lot of places to go to see around the island,here more like romantic trip to refresh your relations with your spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Location on the 5 skill will be 10 very good situated in a middle of everything + write on a beach,Make shore when you book your hotel in Waikiki it is on a beach ,Waikiki has a lot of great hotels but not on a beach.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, CA
Sep 30, 2007

very friendly staff

The hotel staff was very friendly starting from check-in to check-out. The room was clean and it was a decent size. The location is very convenient, it's right across from The International Market, and plenty of ABC stores around. Overall, this is a pretty nice hotel, but I might try another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I was told by a honeymooner that the drinks down at the Duke's bar is good (STRONG!!), but I didn't get a chance to tr it.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Vacation
Savannah, GA
Sep 20, 2010

Fantastic Vacation

The Outrigger was excellent. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean and just right. The breakfast was excellent. Recommend that you get the breakfast included with the hotel, saves money and makes things easier. The Hotel tour guide had a very good understanding of what we were looking for and got the tours scheduled and made seem easy. Great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jramzv
Colleyville, Texas
Sep 12, 2010

Access to everything...great hotel.

Access to everything...great hotel...definately will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pleasant Hill
Jul 8, 2009

Rubio vacation

Our time at the Outrigger was too short. We would have like to spend a few more days to truly enjoy our stay. We stopped in Waikiki to see Pearl Harbor and other sites. The staff was excellent from the momnet we found the hotel. The crew at the front took care of us and made the checking in a breeze. I would stay and recommend this hotel over and over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the Pearl Harbor exhibit close to the airport especially the Arizona memorial.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners
Palm Springs,CA
Nov 16, 2009

Great place to have a honeymoon!!

This hotel was in a great location close to everything. There were two great restaurants there too!! The pool was eight next to the beach and laying in the lawn chairs we had a great view of the ocean. We had an amaZing time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Paradise cove luau and pearl harbor were our favorite activities. The shopping was great too. Evertiing was accessible by foot or trolley..

Back to menu Return to top