$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
637 reviews
Fantastic vacation

We loved this hotel. Everyone was so nice and the location was great. The views were breath taking.... See full review

  • Wehrle
  • Apr 26, 2014
Great Hotel

This was the second time we stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. The location is perfect... See full review

  • Ellen Boston Strong
  • Apr 17, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (637)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
637 out of 637
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sad to have to leave
British Columbia, Canada
Feb 7, 2012

Excellent hotel!! Great trip!!

This is the second time we have stayed at the Outrigger and both times we haven’t been disappointed. We booked in a package so when we saw the breakdown I was a little surprised at the cost of the hotel alone but it is amazing anyway. The staff are great and the courtesy room while you wait for your flight is an excellent idea!! My only complaint would be the A/C as it is very dry and hard on your throat...other than that it was an excellent trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pool side drinks are very pricey, go across to the ABC store or in hotel for drinks and just put them in plastic cups. They noticed but didnt seem to mind

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sikartim
中国上海市
Jan 30, 2012

Waikiki holidays

I've return to this hotel many times and have always enjoyed te location and the view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shrebird and Cheese cake factory!

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD11 Captain
Shanghai, China
Jan 29, 2012

Noisy

Even the sliding door was fully closed on the 11th floor, we could hear street artist performing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Lee
Taipei, Taiwan
Jan 29, 2012

Family reunion

At the check-in, we decided to upgrade to a full ocean front view room and the view was just fantastic and is well worth every penny of it! The front desk staff, especially Ms. Lea was very freindly and helpful! The location of the hotel is just perfect and right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the ShoreBird restaurant. Great food and value and the view is great, right on the beach.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BarbieZ
Mesa, AZ
Jan 27, 2012

beautiful view from corner suitte

We paid $113/nite for upgrade to ocean-front suite. Nice, but rooms desperatly need upgrading. Closet doors (wooden louvered) couldn,t close over hangers,- closet not deep enough. TV stand in bedrm was old tv stand for pre LCD/plasma tv's with drawers removed. Would have been nice to have sun tan and after-tan product instead of tooth brush which came apart in my mouth & 2mm hard t-paste in bathrm. you had to line up @ 7:am to get a towel and deck chair by pool - especially for 2 or more. Small fridge but no microwave Of course Duke,s & Barefoot bar - excellent food, drinks & entrtainment. Best location on Waikiki and worth the price for us for a one time experience. Quite expensive for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Smile
Porter Ranch, California
Dec 27, 2011

Excellent to stay in Waikiki

Staffs are excellent, welcome reception are excellent, hotel accommodates all you need, right on the center of everything, excellent breakfast buffet, Chuck's steak was also fabulous, just wonderful for family vacation...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For stores, foods, beach, trolley stops, and so on

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Was Big Al
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Dec 16, 2011

Lousy room

I've stayed at this hotel the past 4 trips. For the latest trip I was given room 307. This room was way smaller than the other rooms, it had no sofa to sit on and I could barely move in the bathroom as it was way too small. I booked my trip 3 months in advance, so you would think that a better room could have been reserved for me. If you happen to stay at The Outrigger, I would recommend not to accept room 307, 407, 507 and up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quidam
Folsom, CA
Dec 5, 2011

Good Place to stay in Waikiki

Though in a very convenient location the drive to the hotel can be inconvenient. The driveway crosses a major sidewalk that makes the approach to the valet parking inconvenient. The valet parking gang did a really good job getting our car quickly. Most of the time they helped with "crowd control" to get in and out of the driveway. The hotel room was clean and well stocked with the standard amenities. Though I only spoke to the guest services people a few times each time they were informative and helpful. I could easily recommend this hotel to people that need to stay in Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
judi G
Vero Beach, FL, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Our stay at the outrigger wakiki

I t was fantastic, however, we had a problem with the "no breakfast" part of our stay. We assumed that the stay included breakfast, but since we upgraded, it apparently did not incude breakfast. We did not know this when we made the switch. Overall, it was a great hotel and the location was great. We plan to go back to hawaii in the future. Date is unknown at this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is the International Market Place with shopping and dining places that are too numerous to mention. Prices are negotiable.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tomcat370
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

This was my very first visit to Hawaii. The Outrigger Waikiki offered the perfect location - right in the middle of everything. I was able to walk to multiple shopping locations, resturants, and stroll the beach at my leisure, The hotel staff was very helpful in arranging and recommending four different island tours the matched my interests. The breakfest buffet at Duke's also was very good. Overall the experience at the Outrigger exceeded my expecations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Multiple resturants within a short distance that are worth trying.

Back to menu Return to top