$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
372 reviews
Great hotel and awesome location.

Loved this hotel, nice rooms, saw the sun come up in the morning. Beach restaurants all around ya. See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • Jul 24, 2014
absolutely great!!!!

The staff are very nice and the rooms are extremely clean. Food was fabulous! ! Will definitely... See full review

  • faithsimunick
  • Jul 13, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desioktaviani
San diego
May 9, 2013

Great with my teenager get away

We can walk everywhere is central for shoping food and the beaches are wonderfull.i wish i didn't rent a car i did't need to drive any where exept the airport .food was great and great bar on the beach front .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lee B
Potomac, Maryland
Apr 15, 2013

Great time

Just excellent, great stay. We had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff were helpful and courteous. Would love to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victory Kingpin Rider
Erie, PA
Apr 12, 2013

GREAT HOTEL. LOCATION

Great hotel. Our first time staying at Outrigger Waikiki and was very HAPPY. Great room we had a Deluxe Ocean Front(really didn't face the ocean more of a side view)inside the room was very comfortable a decent view of the ocean and beach. Staff members are outstanding always friendly and willing to help. Great location to all the activities. Dukes breakfast is the BEST great food and omlets. We would consider staying at Outrigger Waikiki again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PJ77
Vancouver
Mar 29, 2013

Spring Break

Good location if you want to be in the centre of the action. Hotel was a little old and the pool could be better, very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cuksu
Arvada, CO
Mar 28, 2013

Great time and good service

Great spot since we only had one evening in Honolulu. Hotel checkin staff was great and our luggage was late and they brought it right up to our room. Valet staff was good as well and gave great directions. It was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wishing I live in Waikiki
Vancouver, Canada
Mar 20, 2013

Can`t say enough good things!

My boyfriend and I just got back from our 7 day, 6 night stay at the Outrigger Waikiki Beach Hotel. To say we were sad leaving is an understatement. During downtime on our lanai overlooking the ocean (highly recommend the Ocean Front room - worth the upgrade) we actually contemplated how we could relocate and find jobs on the island! I`d also recommend asking for a room on a higher floor so you can maximize your view. For breakfast we alternated between grabbing iced Hawaiian lattes and food from the Honolulu Coffee Co (conveniently located next door at the Moana Surfrider) and Island Vintage Coffee (in the Royal Hawaiian Center - 5 mins away). Lunches were grabbed wherever it was convenient that day. Definitely check out Marukame Udon on Kuhio for authentic Japanese udon. If going off the beaten path, try to find a Zippy`s. It`s a 24hr homestyle fast food Hawaiian restaurant that has homey style Hawaiian and Asian food, a bakery counter with all kinds of island delicacies and there is also a sushi station making fresh rolls. Another off the beaten path place is Leonards Bakery. Ask any local and they`ll tell you that Leonard`s Malasadas are legendary and a must try! We ordered 3 sugar and 3 cinnamon and all 6 were devoured in minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If contemplating renting a car, it`s worth getting it late the night before you actually need the vehicle. Rent as late as possible to maximize your 24 hr rental. We found inexpensive parking for $11 (just ask around), there is also free parking along Ala Wai. The GPS add on ($12.95 fee) is also worth it, makes exploring the island directionally challenged proof! Also if you`re planning on going to Pearl Harbor, go to the memorial`s website first and make a reservation for your designated day (must do months in advance). Otherwise you`ll need to be waiting in line at, no word of a lie, 6:30AM in order to make the first ferry ride to the USS Arizona memorial at 8 AM. Our itinerary was as follows: rented car at approx 5PM Sunday night, left Waikiki at 6AM Monday morning heading to Pearl Harbor, waited in line/toured the memorial/left at approx 9:30AM, then we headed to the Dole Pineapple Plantation (get the ice cream), after leaving Dole we continued along the highway and headed to the north shore stopping at all of the major beaches along the way, we continued around the ocean and were back at the rental agency with plenty of time to spare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LV travelersusan
las vegas
Mar 2, 2013

singles getaway at waikiki

The hotel was perfectly located on the beach at Waikiki, easy to get transportation, services such as maid, concierge, bellman were excellent, however, didn't like that we had to pay for beach lounges/umbrellas. The hotel is between 2 five star historic hotels, the Royal Hawaiian and Moana Surfrider so we could take advantage of their restaurants/lounges/bars as well. International Marketplace souvenir shopping right across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Polynesian cultural center was not what would be anticipated from the ads, it was like Disney version of Polynesia, good for families as there are kids activities but cost $95 per adult for transportation/cheapest ticket and NOT authentic experience. It exists to support students at BYU Hawaii so not a total ripoff but, if you are a savvy adult looking for a nice experience,skip it, rent a car to North Shore instead and stop where you want

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Paci 0
Calif
Jan 29, 2013

Wife and I get away

I ordered a Queen Size Bed through your company and the hotel gave us two twin beds , They said due to we ordered through your company they couldnt or wouldnt be able to give us what we ordered ? so the only way we could get a Queen bed was to upgrade ! so that cost us $550 dollars more We Was not Happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annia
East Rutherfod, New Jersey
Jan 20, 2013

Perfect!

Great place to have even a short vacation, I wish to get back some day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalena527
Santa Maria, CA
Jan 6, 2013

Hawaiian Christmas Getaway

The Outrigger Waikiki is my favorite hotel. The location is perfect, the service is nice, and I really like that they offer the extra pullout bed included in the room. It's been five years since my last visit and the only difference seems to be that the partial ocean view isn't as nice a view as it used to be. It's more of a city view now. I will definitely book an ocean view next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spending the day at Koaloa Ranch was a big hit with everyone in the family. There were so many different activities to choose from and something fun for everyone. Several movies and TV Shows have been filmed there and it was very exciting to see and hear about them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search