$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
372 reviews
Great hotel and awesome location.

Loved this hotel, nice rooms, saw the sun come up in the morning. Beach restaurants all around ya. See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • Jul 24, 2014
absolutely great!!!!

The staff are very nice and the rooms are extremely clean. Food was fabulous! ! Will definitely... See full review

  • faithsimunick
  • Jul 13, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel Satisfied Traveler
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 12, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

Although our stay at the hotel was basically just for sleep and some rest in between our activities the staff was awesome about taking care of our room and making sure things like the towels and everything else were restocked every morning. We were also amazed that even though the room was not an oceanview room that we could still wake up every morning and look out on the balcony and the ocean was right there. I definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in an area that has a great atmosphere and many different local places to hang out and have fun after hours. Oh and don't forget all the shopping!!! I don't think I have ever seen so many places that held the next potential gift for someone else back at home. It was wonderful!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost anything that you want or need is within a five to six block radius. You can save money by walking and enjoying the wonderful weather and the people rather than spending money on a cab or any other form of transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kbe love traveling
Morganton,N.C.
Jun 5, 2011

Friends getway

Stayed at the outrigger from 5-19-11 to 5-26-11.we had a real good time hawaii is really beatiful place. From the time we check in till we check out,the service was really good. The staff was really friendly. Our housekepper made sure we had everthing we needed. Could not think of anything bad to say about the hotel.We ate at duke's buffet for breakfast it was real good. This hotel is a busy place.Lot ot young people at the dukes bar at night. Get there early if you want to set and have a drink and listen to the music.We done a lot of tours,ever day we had a full day.Only the last day did we have a lay back day.I recommend this hotel,I give the outrigger a 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
riverside ca
Feb 6, 2011

great getaway for couples

staff and atmosphere was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lee B
Potomac, Maryland
Apr 15, 2013

Great time

Just excellent, great stay. We had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff were helpful and courteous. Would love to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sad to have to leave
British Columbia, Canada
Feb 7, 2012

Excellent hotel!! Great trip!!

This is the second time we have stayed at the Outrigger and both times we haven’t been disappointed. We booked in a package so when we saw the breakdown I was a little surprised at the cost of the hotel alone but it is amazing anyway. The staff are great and the courtesy room while you wait for your flight is an excellent idea!! My only complaint would be the A/C as it is very dry and hard on your throat...other than that it was an excellent trip!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pool side drinks are very pricey, go across to the ABC store or in hotel for drinks and just put them in plastic cups. They noticed but didnt seem to mind

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
SEATTLE WA
Jun 3, 2009

Fantastic family getaway,

Our stay at this hotel was great. The location was all that we dreamed for. We experienced and enjoyed lots of fun activities and the food was great! No complaints. Just a very fun vacation. Thanks again Cheap Tickets for making this all possible. PEACE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Groom's Mom & Dad
Prienvill, Oregon
May 4, 2009

Wonderful room/view/price

Great room with perfect view. Breakfast that was included with the room rate was the clincher. Could'nt have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Sep 21, 2007

for everyone

everyone was very very nice I like the way the bathroom and the vanity was separate from bathroom, the bathroom mirror. everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

there was 3 dining areas , and beach and bar right on beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ellina
Business
Denver, CO
May 6, 2008

great location

comfortable place to stay, our room had an ocean view from balcony, at times noisy from the night crowd in the beach side restaurants, great location right on the beach, no street crossing. Duke's is a must, superb staff and mouth watering food might be a bit $$ but worth of money, easy access to international market for oyster opening and other trinkets and gifts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

revolving restaurant Top of Waikiki is a block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tomcat370
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

This was my very first visit to Hawaii. The Outrigger Waikiki offered the perfect location - right in the middle of everything. I was able to walk to multiple shopping locations, resturants, and stroll the beach at my leisure, The hotel staff was very helpful in arranging and recommending four different island tours the matched my interests. The breakfest buffet at Duke's also was very good. Overall the experience at the Outrigger exceeded my expecations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Multiple resturants within a short distance that are worth trying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search