$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
422 reviews
Great hotel and awesome location.

Loved this hotel, nice rooms, saw the sun come up in the morning. Beach restaurants all around ya. See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • Jul 24, 2014
absolutely great!!!!

The staff are very nice and the rooms are extremely clean. Food was fabulous! ! Will definitely... See full review

  • faithsimunick
  • Jul 13, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
422 out of 422
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayhawkers
Olathe, Kansas
Jun 2, 2009

1st timers- a great time had by all!

This was our 1st trip to Hawaii- we took our 2 grown sons along. The hotel was great - I would definitely recommend it. The location was perfect and we loved having direct access to the beach. Eating breakfast at Hula's with a view of the beach was one of my favorite things to do! We got to do about everything we wanted. It would have been nice to have a map showing the location of places to eat within walking distance and a handout on how to use the city bus and/or trolley. Remind folks to budget extra $$ for shopping at the ABC stores!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

"South Shore Grill" - a small 'hole-in-the-wall' local place on Monsarrat - all 3 of my guys raved about their fish tacos.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jygli
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 2, 2009

It's ON the Beach!

Possibly the best location in Waikiki. Hotel's on the beach, there no need to exit or cross the street. Shower, food, bar is conveniently located with a full view. Local restaurants, shopping centers are within 1 block. Noisy, constant party and activities. If you plan to sleep 12 hours a day, this place is not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking block inland away from the beach, dining prices fall dramatically.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fab-elicious
Vjo, CA
Jun 2, 2009

I'd stay there again!

This was my husband and my first time at the Outrigger on the Beach and we loved it! There were a couple of highlights about the hotel. 1) Good Customer Service - When we were checking in I mentioned that it was our 1 yr anniversary and the person gave us a complimentary upgrade on the room. Also, whenever we had a question for the Concierge, the person was very very helpful! It saved us time and money! 2) The location - It's right on the beach and in the middle of what I like to call "the strip". Wherever and whenever... everything was at our fingertips!! It was especially nice when we went to the beach for a swim! All we had to do is jump right out of the ocean and two seconds later we jump right into the shower! Another thing that I like about the hotel was that there were three main restaurant that all had a view of the ocean (if you asked to sit in the right place). My hotel experience was b.e.a.utiful! I'd stay there again in a heart beat! ...the only down side to the hotel... depending on what time of the day it is, the elevators can take forever... you'll see! Lol!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seriously Satisfied
Highlands Ranch, CO
Jun 1, 2009

Great Time, Great Hotel!

Great hotel in a great location. We had a wonderful time staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are not very needy in our travels, but the limited interaction we had with staff was wonderful. They were friendly and very helpful. The location of the hotel is great and having Duke's right there is a bonus. The only negative about it was that the walls are a bit thin. Of course I think we had some noisy neighbors who would often come back to the hotel at 3:30 am, so maybe we just got unlucky. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Beach, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Vacation 5/23-5/30

I felt the hotel was superior in service, from the valet to the houskeeping, everything was excellent and the value of the room was very good. I will stay there all four times a year that I will visit Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Dukes is out of this world fun and the staff there is the most amazing in customer service I have experienced around the world. A+++++++++++

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LakersFan
Gardena, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Great couples getaway

Great hotel location, go down the elevator and walk about 200 feet to the beach. Good size in room safe where I could keep my small laptop. Bell staff was fast in taking my luggage as soon as I was dropped off by the shuttle and delivered fast when I checked into room. Concierge was great in checking me in and printing my boarding passes. Complimentary internet was good to plan next day activities. I liked getting the daily newspaper delivered to my room everyday. Friendly staff, only problem was first day it was a little noisy for 20 minutes because room was located right next to housekeeping closet, so advise to ask for room not located next to housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The show Magic of Polynesia and International Market Place

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 1, 2009

"Home away from Home"

This was our first time in Hawaii and it was all & more that I could have ever imagined. I picked Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach by the description & pictures on line. I must say it was exactly as pictured. The location was spectacular; we were right on the beach & our room had a partial ocean view. The staff was very accomodating & friendly. My husband forgot his razor & I called down to the front desk to see if they had a complimentary razor & not only did they have one, they brought it up to our room within minutes. The only thing that would have made our stay better would have been a complimentary breakfast. We stayed 7days & breakfast was a little steep every morning in their restaurant. I must say it was awesome & I would do it all over again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

rent mopeds to see Diamond Head Volcano. It is only a 15min drive there & you get to see the city.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Al & Jo
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 1, 2009

We enjoy staying at the Outrigger

As good as it gets, Outrigger gets an A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Bus whenever you can, great bargain and fast transportation to anywhere on the island

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego,Ca
Jun 1, 2009

Vacation of Dreams

I have visited Oahu on a couple different occasions. This by far was the nicest hotel. The location and the service was outstanding. When we checked in we had a partial ocean view and the view was not what we expected. We had a partial view but the other half was of a huge air conditioning unit over looking the neigboring hotel. Was loud and awful. The service was great we upgraded with no problems and will remember to request full ocean view next time. The hotel staff was very accomadating! Thank you to The Outrigger for allowing us to stay and share fantastic memories together!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
las vegas, nv
May 31, 2009

The beauty of Hawaii

They provided first class service and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

having breakfast in the hotel was a delite and a great expeience.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search