$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
372 reviews
Great hotel and awesome location.

Loved this hotel, nice rooms, saw the sun come up in the morning. Beach restaurants all around ya. See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • Jul 24, 2014
absolutely great!!!!

The staff are very nice and the rooms are extremely clean. Food was fabulous! ! Will definitely... See full review

  • faithsimunick
  • Jul 13, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Oct 12, 2010

Would ONLY stay at Outrigger Waikiki

An amazing stay...on check-in (after being greeted by the GREAT valet guys), we were moved from a 3rd floor beachfront to the 14th floor beachfront. Rooms are great with all amenities you need: safe, free high-speed internet, separate shower from vanity area, plenty of storage/closet space for 2 adults, 2 teen girls, big balcony w/comfy lounge chairs and table, 2 double-beds, pull out sofa, mini-fridge. Did not hear noise from other rooms. Really quiet and peaceful. Duke's played music at night but not late. Duke's breakfast-a definite don't miss - even the locals recommend Duke's. One of the best beaches of all hotels - soft sand, very little reef. Watch surfers from sunrise to sunset. Location was the best for the Waikiki area. We did not go through the hotel's activities desk. Instead we chose and booked our own - pick up any tourist book for more details. TO DO: Pearl Harbor - Arizona Memorial, hike to top of Diamond Head Crater (wow!), kayaking at Kailua Bay, snorkel Hanuama Bay, drive up to North Shore, drive around the coast for the most amazing views, swim at as many beaches as you possibly can just to name a few (tour Dole Plantation, visit Polynesian Culture Center, go parasailing), and have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping is plentiful but expensive. Try Ala Moana Shopping Center, Waikele Outlet, Intl Market Place (negotiate with the vendors!), or swap meet at the stadium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg and Deb
HI
Oct 11, 2010

Location, service, price!

I took my wife for her 50th birthday. I read a lot about this hotel beforehand and chose it mostly because of it's location on the beach and in the center of Waikiki. I wasn't disappointed. Every employee of the hotel was genuinely courteous and helpful and you could walk to decent restaurants, shopping, and local sites of interest. I wasn't a fan of the $25 a day cost of parking your rental car, but unfortunately, this is standard at most hotels. All in all, we truly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 4, 2010

Amazing time in Hawaii

The hotel was great! I was very glad I picked this hotel. The location was the best part about this hotel. It was right on the beach, activity tours pick you right in front of the hotel or down the block. There are three restaurants located within the hotel grounds, international market right across the street. Also, the nightlife bars are within blocks of the hotel. Also, my flight was about seven hours after check out. The hotel staff was nice enough to hold my bags while I had one last day at the beach. When i returned to get my bags they gave me a hospitality room to change and shower. Great experience, great hotel. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Vacation
Savannah, GA
Sep 20, 2010

Fantastic Vacation

The Outrigger was excellent. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean and just right. The breakfast was excellent. Recommend that you get the breakfast included with the hotel, saves money and makes things easier. The Hotel tour guide had a very good understanding of what we were looking for and got the tours scheduled and made seem easy. Great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb and Pete
Clyde NY
Sep 19, 2010

Super Hotel

We stayed at the Outrigger with our children in 1971 the experience then was wonderful. Forty years later the experience was even better. The staff were always there ready to assist. Our room was very comfortable and the maid service was excellent. We especially enjoyed the lanai after a long day sightseeing. The bus service is fantastic, a block a way from the Outrigger which we used on serveral of our day trips. Diamond Head, which we hiked to the top. Pearl Harbor and the Aloho Stadium Flea Market and of course a trip to downtown Honolulu. We also took a day flight to the Big Island and a bus tour to the Polynesian Cutural Center. Both tours completed a superb time in Hawaii. Last, but not least, the Outrigger is located on the beach, near lots of shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jramzv
Colleyville, Texas
Sep 12, 2010

Access to everything...great hotel.

Access to everything...great hotel...definately will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markyboy
Kilmarnock
Sep 3, 2010

Theres no better Location in Waikiki

Rooms a bit small but clean and have everything needed, hotel is perfectly located on Waikiki beach, Quiet in hotel at night although Shops, restaurants on doorstep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go next door to the CheeseCake Factory

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Mexico
Aug 16, 2010

Great vacation

The hotel was great,good service, excellant beach front. I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food is costly on the strip. A short drive and the food less costly and affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FW
Ventura, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Waikiki Getaway!!!

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were fine, nothing to write home about, but then again didn't spend to much time in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
erie co.
Jun 30, 2010

outrigger 33rd wedding anni

beach dine shop history

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search