$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
372 reviews
Great hotel and awesome location.

Loved this hotel, nice rooms, saw the sun come up in the morning. Beach restaurants all around ya. See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • Jul 24, 2014
absolutely great!!!!

The staff are very nice and the rooms are extremely clean. Food was fabulous! ! Will definitely... See full review

  • faithsimunick
  • Jul 13, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nebraska
Jan 30, 2011

Outstanding

The service was outstanding the food was amazing and the food was to die for!!! I would stay there again in a heartbeat!! Located right on the beach at Waikiki, you could not get a better location if you tried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pualani
San Jose CA
Jan 19, 2011

I always stay here!

I was there for my cousins' wedding. We also went whale watching, shopped at Aloha swap meet, ate a couple of new places. I love staying at OWOTB because it's centrally located on Kalakaua and it's oceanfront. The staff is very accomodating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Always ask the locals where to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
Jan 14, 2011

Great Location

This was a really nice place with a great location! The parking was a little steep especially having to valet and tip them every time in and out. Dukes was just as good as the reviews. Defiantly would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Holiday Seekers
Victoria,BC,Canada
Jan 13, 2011

Fabulous location,beachfront sunsets!

We wanted a hotel that was central to shopping, beach front, entertainment,pool,bar, etc. This hotel was perfect for us. The hospitality was so friendly, and the food was excellent. We pre-purchased our breakfast which was a great deal! We had the choice of either an oceanside buffet or a formal sit down ocean side restaurant. Both were fabulous! The hotel was very clean and updated with lots of Hawaiian charm. Dukes bar is located in the lower lobby and has great live entertainment and happy hour drinks. Also poolside service and for a fee beach umbrella service (about $50) per day....This part is pricey but, expected in Hawaii.The only other suprise cost was when we rented a car and had to park overnight ($30 per night fee). This can add up, but hard to put price on convenience. The valet parking was wonderful. Shuttle service to the airport was great ($15 round trip) International market is across the street and designer stores everywhere and malls close by. A wonderful holiday, but not a budget one. Worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake factory is the best food in the area for a great price. The wait can be about 1 hour, but worth it...just shop about while you wait. The Hard Rock Cafe is new to Waikiki , but we found it a disappointment...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wolcott, NY
Dec 24, 2010

Great hotel!

We lived in Hawaii for 3 years and stayed at many hotels on many islands. We only stayed 2 nights before moving back to the mainland, but Outrigger did a great job. If you have kids, the pool area is a little small, but so are most of the Waikiki hotels. Stay at Hilton or Sheraton if you want the big pools, but be aware, they are both VERY busy. The in-house restaurants are great. We always went to Duke's even before staying at the hotel, but don't rule out the Hula Grill or Chuck's. Both are very good! The rooms were very nice! We had a room with a double bed. We didn't ask for a view, so we were overlooking the roof of the shopping center next door, but you can still see Waikiki, the Royal Hawaiian Pink Palace, and a little bit of beach and ocean. Aside from the view, we had plenty of space, very comfortable bed, a couch, nice TV, and nice bathroom. The staff were all very friendly. We talked to MANY of them including front desk, bell services, housekeeping, and even an engineering/maintenance guy when our TV volume would not turn down. I would stay here again any day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If Duke's is a long wait, I would go to Chuck's over Hula Grill. The salad bar is small, but it covers the basics and the food is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time to Waikiki
Big Island, Hawaii
Dec 23, 2010

Great location!

The hotel is right on the beach which is great for families. No navigating streets with our child. The staff was helpful. The rooms were a little small but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sdfj
Utah
Dec 22, 2010

Outrigger Waikiki

We enjoyed this hotel. It has a great location, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms are very clean and comfortable. We would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Marketplace is directly across the street. There are tons of high-end fancy stores, restaurants, etc. down to the cheapest all within 3-4 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puyallup,WA
Dec 18, 2010

Nice Hotel in Waikii

great valet service,and nice environment,water front!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cool roofer
Business
camarillo, ca
Dec 16, 2010

Outrigger on the Beach

Quick check in. Ultra fast valet parking and car return, actually stunning. City view room allowed for moderate to high noise from street and Dukes restaraunt below at a 6th floor room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the middle of it all

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ComPH
Laguna Hills, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Nice Hotel, sound insulation like a tent

Everything about the hotel and staff is great, clean room, courteous staff, nice view... The sound insulation is just non-existent. We heard people arguing at 1:00 a.m., couple of nights there were very intimate noises (I would not take kids there), little gross. Sounds were easily heard from the inside, outside, all surrounding rooms, but especially the adjoining room. There we could hear like if it were the same room. When we tried to change room twice, the second time we were told to upgrade to "full ocean view" for extra fee of course. For that we could have been at the Royal Hawaiian. As a matter of fact, I traveled the world over, but never was I in a room so sound transparent. Too bad. If you want to hear an adult entertainment, this might be a free bonus I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search