$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

4 stars
2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
638 reviews
absolutely great!!!!

The staff are very nice and the rooms are extremely clean. Food was fabulous! ! Will definitely... See full review

  • faithsimunick
  • Jul 13, 2014
Fantastic vacation

We loved this hotel. Everyone was so nice and the location was great. The views were breath taking.... See full review

  • Wehrle
  • Apr 26, 2014
An honored recipient of the Hawaii Tourism Authority's prestigious Kahili Award, the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach offers free daily workshops taught by well-respected teachers of Hawaiian music, art and culture. The 16-story tower of the Outrigger Waikiki has been offering soaring vistas of the Diamond Head summit since 1967, and if you're a music fan, the Outrigger is a repository of artifacts and information regarding the bygone era of the Waikiki Beach Boys. Feast on prime American steak at Chuck's Steak House, or hang out at Duke's Canoe Club for live Hawaiian sounds every night, along with the freshest of Waikiki fish on your plate.
Key facts
  • 524 guestrooms
  • 16 floors
  • 3 restaurants: Chuck's Steak house, Hula Grill Waikiki and Duke's Canoe Club
  • Pool
  • Plantation Spa
  • Fitness center
  • 3 meeting/conference rooms and an executive boardroom
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located right on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, the Outrigger Waikiki is just minutes from the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. The Diamond Head Summit Trail is easily walkable from the hotel, while culture fans can get their fix of authentic Hawaii at the Honolulu Museum of Art, just over two miles away.
Hints and tips
Does dinner at the nearby Cheesecake Factory or Jimmy's Buffett's Margaritaville sound appetizing? Ask the concierge to make reservations for you, since these popular venues are always busy.

If you plan to rent a car, there's free parking on Ala Wai, but many attractions are still accessible on foot.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2776 -157.8272
Area served
Waikiki, Honoloulu, Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) 8 miles
Area description
Located on Waikiki Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Rooms

City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city lights at night from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanais. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed.
Partial Oceanview
The Partial Ocean View room has a fantastic partial view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 320 sq. ft. the bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai. These rooms are 280-345 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds. Most rooms will also come with a sofa bed. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Seattle's Best
Coffee Shop 5:30am - 11:00pm
Hawaii's Sandwich Shop
Sandwiches, served daily. 8:00am - 5:00pm (M-S) (9-5pm on Sun-Hol)
Chuck's Steak House
Steaks and Seafood 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Duke's Canoe Club
Island-style seafood and steaks 7:00am -midnight

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (638)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
638 out of 638
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbie Frances
Shakopee, Mn.
May 8, 2011

LOVE THE LOCATION!!!

I really LOVE staying at this hotel mostly because of the location. Right on the beach and the best shopping Waikiki has to offer right at you doorstep. I have not stayed here for 12 years and the two things that have changed are the valet only parking and the assisted flush toilets. I was not too happy about paying a tip everytime you get your car and everytime you bring it back, but I guess it gives someone a job. The new toilets are Great when you are the one flushing it, but they are quite noisey and take some getting use too especially if you want to sleep in in the morning! The room was SUPER CLEAN with tons of closet space and a GREAT view of the ocean. Also there are three great restraunts in this hotel, Chuck's, Hula Grill, and Duke's, all with really good food. Would stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This is the twelveth time I have been to Honolulu and I have rented a car every time and because of the traffic I would not rent a car again if I come back. Too much time is wasted sitting in traffic jams, stay at the beach and enjoy yourselves instead!!!

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stanchfield, Mn
May 6, 2011

Super trip

This was a great hotel with super service, location, and amenities. Valet parking meant dropping off the car at the front door was wonderful. However, walking out the back of the hotel onto Waikiki beach with a view of Diamondhead, was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food a short distance from the hotel; but we could not go wrong when we ate at the hotel

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stanchfield, Mn
May 6, 2011

Super trip

This was a great hotel with super service, location, and amenities. Valet parking meant dropping off the car at the front door was wonderful. However, walking out the back of the hotel onto Waikiki beach with a view of Diamondhead, was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food a short distance from the hotel; but we could not go wrong when we ate at the hotel

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holidaymakers
Vancouver, BC
May 3, 2011

Simply wonderful!

Vacationing in Hawaii is so much fun. We came for our son's wedding which turned out beautifully and the hotel was a good choice for it's location. The view from our bedroom window was spectacular. Food at the Duke's was good and the buffet breakfast was great. The Society Seven show at the hotel was entertaining and simply hilarious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short beach walk to all other hotels along the Waikiki beach. The International Market is just across the street and there's easy access to all other stores in the vicinity. However, the day we were leaving, the road was closed due to the Lei Day Parade and not accessible to buses, taxis or cars. Thus, we were asked to lug our baggages across the street to another hotel to be picked up which was pretty awkward and cumbersome. Otherwise, we had a wonderful time.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holidaymakers
Vancouver, BC
May 3, 2011

Simply wonderful!

Vacationing in Hawaii is so much fun. We came for our son's wedding which turned out beautifully and the hotel was a good choice for it's location. The view from our bedroom window was spectacular. Food at the Duke's was good and the buffet breakfast was great. The Society Seven show at the hotel was entertaining and simply hilarious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short beach walk to all other hotels along the Waikiki beach. The International Market is just across the street and there's easy access to all other stores in the vicinity. However, the day we were leaving, the road was closed due to the Lei Day Parade and not accessible to buses, taxis or cars. Thus, we were asked to lug our baggages across the street to another hotel to be picked up which was pretty awkward and cumbersome. Otherwise, we had a wonderful time.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MahiMahiMike
Mission Viejo, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Great hotel and location

We just returned from a fantastic week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We had the one bedroom deluxe room with a great sweeping view of the beach and Diamond Head. This room has two bathrooms which was great having two teenagers. Everything about this hotel is wonderful and we highly recommend it. Dukes is lively and has great food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location and beach are the best. We will never stay anywhere else when we return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We rented surfboards for a week from Go Nuts near the International Marketplace. Much cheaper than the hotel or other beach rentals which charge by the hour. The hotel has free lockers for guests surfboards.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MahiMahiMike
Mission Viejo, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Great hotel and location

We just returned from a fantastic week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We had the one bedroom deluxe room with a great sweeping view of the beach and Diamond Head. This room has two bathrooms which was great having two teenagers. Everything about this hotel is wonderful and we highly recommend it. Dukes is lively and has great food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location and beach are the best. We will never stay anywhere else when we return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We rented surfboards for a week from Go Nuts near the International Marketplace. Much cheaper than the hotel or other beach rentals which charge by the hour. The hotel has free lockers for guests surfboards.

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Apr 19, 2011

Great trip for the money!

Overall the experience staying at the Outrigger was nice. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view which was a plus since it was our second honeymoon. The hotel is in a great location right in the middle of everything with plenty of restaurants, shopping and right on the beach. The rooms were nice but I think need a little TLC and painting... otherwise pretty nice. The only frustration with the trip was identifying our Outrigger. There is another Outrigger and it was a pain to keep confusing the two since they are both in Waikiki. With the tours we booked, they all call the Outriggers a different name so I was unsure which one was correct. Names such as Outrigger Main, Outrigger Waikiki, Outrigger Reef, Outrigger on the Beach, Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, Outrigger Luana...ugh. It was a pain to figure out what was the correct name for our hotel and not the other Outrigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for popular happy hours in the area to get discount food and drinks at good restaurants. We loved this place called Doraku... the yummiest sushi I've ever had. HH from 5-7. We had to go more than once!

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Apr 19, 2011

Great trip for the money!

Overall the experience staying at the Outrigger was nice. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view which was a plus since it was our second honeymoon. The hotel is in a great location right in the middle of everything with plenty of restaurants, shopping and right on the beach. The rooms were nice but I think need a little TLC and painting... otherwise pretty nice. The only frustration with the trip was identifying our Outrigger. There is another Outrigger and it was a pain to keep confusing the two since they are both in Waikiki. With the tours we booked, they all call the Outriggers a different name so I was unsure which one was correct. Names such as Outrigger Main, Outrigger Waikiki, Outrigger Reef, Outrigger on the Beach, Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, Outrigger Luana...ugh. It was a pain to figure out what was the correct name for our hotel and not the other Outrigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for popular happy hours in the area to get discount food and drinks at good restaurants. We loved this place called Doraku... the yummiest sushi I've ever had. HH from 5-7. We had to go more than once!

Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Maria, Ca
Apr 14, 2011

We Loved it, PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!

This was our first trip to Waikiki. It was centered perfectly from all the shopping and the beach was awesome. When we had breakfast, lunch or dinner at Duke's the view was amazing. Cant wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is right next to the hotel, the dining was great at Duke's right inside the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top