$298 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Outrigger Reef on the Beach

4 stars
2169 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
548 reviews
Beach Wedding

My friend recommended the Outrigger as she has stayed here several times. It's a beautiful hotel... See full review

  • Mayanne W
  • Jul 2, 2014
Loved it

No complaints great hotel the staff was the best and the room was so comfortable! See full review

  • maliachs
  • Jun 26, 2014
It's easy to believe paradise really does exist at the Outrigger Reef Hotel Oahu, with accommodations in the Ocean and Pacific Towers allowing full views of the Hawaiian island. Having undergone a $110 million renovation in 2009, you'll now find historian Herb Kane's collection of Polynesian canoe art mounted in the lobby, a Hawaiian literature library next door, and lots of extras like high-speed Wi-Fi around the pool (fees may apply) and direct phone calls to the US mainland (fees may apply). The resort ensures that guests get the most out of island life, from private surfing packages to hula lessons, all topped off with a fruit-packed cocktail and local pupus (hors d'oeuvres) at the poolside hangout, Kani Ka Pila Grille.
Key facts
  • Serenity Spa
  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 restaurants: Kani Ka Pila Grille, Ocean House and Shorebird Restaurant, and Beach Bar
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • On-site shops, including Ku'ai Market and Kuloko Arts of Hawaii
  • Free direct-dial phone calls to US mainland, Canada (fees may apply)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and communal areas, including pool 
  • Library and lounge
  • Swimming pool and sun deck
  • 2,500-square-feet of event space: Diamond Head Terrace
Neighborhood
The Outrigger Reef Hotel has a prime Hawaiian setting on the southern shores of Oahu, with barefoot access to the silky sands of Waikiki Beach. Roam the lush 500 acres of Kapiolani Park, or chase butterfly fish at the Waikiki Aquarium - both are within a mile of the hotel. Even stargazing from the Diamond Head crater is within walking distance of each guest's front door. If you crave designer labels, nearby Kalakaua Avenue beckons with upscale boutiques, fine jewelry emporiums and antique treasures.
Hints and Tips
There are different live music acts playing at the Kani Ka Pila Grille every night of the week. When the sun goes down, check out the Waikiki Beach Walk complex on Lewers Street, or the laidback, retro vibe of bars like Lulu's Waikiki, which becomes a club after the dinner crowd fades.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2787 -157.8323
Area served
Waikiki - Honolulu - Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Best value on Waikiki Beach, this full service Resort offers Ocean Front dining, Day Spa and array of shops on property. Adjacent to Waikiki Beach Walk featuring over 40 shops and restaurants. 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport 4 miles from Downtown Honolulu 1 mile from Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Reef on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Outrigger Reef on the Beach Rooms

Moderate
The Moderate rooms have no view and all rooms do not have lanais. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, & coffee maker. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.
Ocean Front
Oceanfront rooms feature one king or two double beds with one double sleeper sofa. Roooms are 405 sq.ft.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
One Bedroom Ocean Front
One bedroom Ocean Front rooms have one king bed, and one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 1008 sq. ft, and have two bathrooms, jacuzzi tub and shower.
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View rooms have one king bed, or two doubles with one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 355 sq.ft.
City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city or low pool view from the lanai. These rooms are 350 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.9 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.9 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.2 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Ocean House
Casual Island Elegance True Fine-dining experience - in service, presentaton, atmosphere and, of course, food. 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Reservations suggested.
Shorebird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Popular beachfront setting w/ Diamond Head view Buffet breakfast 7:00am -11:00am Lunch 11:30am - 3:00pm "Broil your own" dinners - 5pm - 10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Diamond Head Terrace provides 2520 square feet of meeting room space adjoining the swimming pool's large patio deck and the Shore Bird Restaurant. It is a pleasant setting for an informal meeting and reception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (548)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 548
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J. Miller
Business
Medina, OH 44256, USA
Apr 6, 2014

Business and pleasure for a week

Great value for your dollar. Right on the beach, huge pool restaurants and bars at both ends of the pool. The staff was great and very helpful when needed. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hiker2424
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Business/pleasure

The location of the room was not good as I overlooked the front entrance and found it noicy in the early AM. However, that was the only downside. The presentation was very nice, the staff was excellent, and the location right on the beach was perfect. In addition, they allowed me to use the hospitality suite for a shower and change after discharge to prepare for my flight home, which was a big bonus. I would recommend the hotel but ask for the room location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yard had best beer selection and excellent staff with better than average food for this type of place.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DGSE
Business
Dalton, Georgia
Nov 2, 2011

Why would you want to stay at any other place in Honolulu?

Of the different places we have stayed (this was our 6th trip) by far the best place. Great location right on the beach - close to all stores - within walking distance of the convention center (if you have business there like I did) - great restaurants within the hotel and several top places close by - and we got a great price on Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the coupon books to get dining discounts in serveal restaurants. We really like enjoy dining at Duke's on the Beach!

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona Ca
Apr 11, 2011

Excellent hotel value

I WAS THERE ON BUSINESS. ROOMS SINCE THE REMODEL ARE GREAT. I LOVE THE SHORE BIRD BUFFET FOR BREAKFAST AND THE SHORE BIRD BAR DURING HAPPY HOUR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona Ca
Apr 11, 2011

Excellent hotel value

I WAS THERE ON BUSINESS. ROOMS SINCE THE REMODEL ARE GREAT. I LOVE THE SHORE BIRD BUFFET FOR BREAKFAST AND THE SHORE BIRD BAR DURING HAPPY HOUR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oakland CA
Feb 28, 2011

hawaii

Great service and location. Lots of happy hours and nice bars and restauarts to hangout at. The city view rooms can be pretty loud with traffic and garbage pickup early in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oakland CA
Feb 28, 2011

hawaii

Great service and location. Lots of happy hours and nice bars and restauarts to hangout at. The city view rooms can be pretty loud with traffic and garbage pickup early in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 11, 2010

A Visit to Pearl Harbor & Hawaii

Visited Pearl Harbor, area Oahu military bases and points of interest related to World War II and December 7, 1941. I also did a luau and cruise around the harbor (supposed to be around the island, but the weather was bad). Had a horrible experience with Wyndam Resorts trying to wrestle me into buying a vacation property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus - CABS ARE VERY EXPENSIVE!!! The shuttle transportation is very nice from the airport to the hotel!

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jun 7, 2010

An amazing experience!

This is my second time attending a yearly conference in Waikiki. I decided to stay at the Outrigger Reef instead of the conference hotel because I was impressed with its amenities, location, and presentation. After arriving at the Outrigger Reef I could not have been more satisfied with my choice. Everyone at the Outrigger Reef from the bellhops to the check in people were courteous and always willing to ensure that we had everything we needed. The room was clean and the maid service did a wonderful job throughout our stay. They were really nice as well. I enjoyed talking to them. The same goes for the guys at the valet parking desk. I would also be remiss if I did not compliment the Outrigger Reef on the quality and professionalism of their check in staff. They were not only gracious but intelligent and well spoken. I got the sense they truly cared about ensuring that we got the most out of our Hawaii experience. I travel quite a bit and this hotel is my personal favorite for its combination of location, price, staff, and amenities. If you travel to Waikiki and do not give this hotel a chance you are missing a true treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jun 7, 2010

An amazing experience!

This is my second time attending a yearly conference in Waikiki. I decided to stay at the Outrigger Reef instead of the conference hotel because I was impressed with its amenities, location, and presentation. After arriving at the Outrigger Reef I could not have been more satisfied with my choice. Everyone at the Outrigger Reef from the bellhops to the check in people were courteous and always willing to ensure that we had everything we needed. The room was clean and the maid service did a wonderful job throughout our stay. They were really nice as well. I enjoyed talking to them. The same goes for the guys at the valet parking desk. I would also be remiss if I did not compliment the Outrigger Reef on the quality and professionalism of their check in staff. They were not only gracious but intelligent and well spoken. I got the sense they truly cared about ensuring that we got the most out of our Hawaii experience. I travel quite a bit and this hotel is my personal favorite for its combination of location, price, staff, and amenities. If you travel to Waikiki and do not give this hotel a chance you are missing a true treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top