$335 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Outrigger Reef on the Beach

4 stars
2169 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
548 reviews
Beach Wedding

My friend recommended the Outrigger as she has stayed here several times. It's a beautiful hotel... See full review

  • Mayanne W
  • Jul 2, 2014
Loved it

No complaints great hotel the staff was the best and the room was so comfortable! See full review

  • maliachs
  • Jun 26, 2014
It's easy to believe paradise really does exist at the Outrigger Reef Hotel Oahu, with accommodations in the Ocean and Pacific Towers allowing full views of the Hawaiian island. Having undergone a $110 million renovation in 2009, you'll now find historian Herb Kane's collection of Polynesian canoe art mounted in the lobby, a Hawaiian literature library next door, and lots of extras like high-speed Wi-Fi around the pool (fees may apply) and direct phone calls to the US mainland (fees may apply). The resort ensures that guests get the most out of island life, from private surfing packages to hula lessons, all topped off with a fruit-packed cocktail and local pupus (hors d'oeuvres) at the poolside hangout, Kani Ka Pila Grille.
Key facts
  • Serenity Spa
  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 restaurants: Kani Ka Pila Grille, Ocean House and Shorebird Restaurant, and Beach Bar
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • On-site shops, including Ku'ai Market and Kuloko Arts of Hawaii
  • Free direct-dial phone calls to US mainland, Canada (fees may apply)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and communal areas, including pool 
  • Library and lounge
  • Swimming pool and sun deck
  • 2,500-square-feet of event space: Diamond Head Terrace
Neighborhood
The Outrigger Reef Hotel has a prime Hawaiian setting on the southern shores of Oahu, with barefoot access to the silky sands of Waikiki Beach. Roam the lush 500 acres of Kapiolani Park, or chase butterfly fish at the Waikiki Aquarium - both are within a mile of the hotel. Even stargazing from the Diamond Head crater is within walking distance of each guest's front door. If you crave designer labels, nearby Kalakaua Avenue beckons with upscale boutiques, fine jewelry emporiums and antique treasures.
Hints and Tips
There are different live music acts playing at the Kani Ka Pila Grille every night of the week. When the sun goes down, check out the Waikiki Beach Walk complex on Lewers Street, or the laidback, retro vibe of bars like Lulu's Waikiki, which becomes a club after the dinner crowd fades.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2787 -157.8323
Area served
Waikiki - Honolulu - Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Best value on Waikiki Beach, this full service Resort offers Ocean Front dining, Day Spa and array of shops on property. Adjacent to Waikiki Beach Walk featuring over 40 shops and restaurants. 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport 4 miles from Downtown Honolulu 1 mile from Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Reef on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Outrigger Reef on the Beach Rooms

Moderate
The Moderate rooms have no view and all rooms do not have lanais. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, & coffee maker. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.
Ocean Front
Oceanfront rooms feature one king or two double beds with one double sleeper sofa. Roooms are 405 sq.ft.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
One Bedroom Ocean Front
One bedroom Ocean Front rooms have one king bed, and one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 1008 sq. ft, and have two bathrooms, jacuzzi tub and shower.
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View rooms have one king bed, or two doubles with one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 355 sq.ft.
City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city or low pool view from the lanai. These rooms are 350 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.9 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.9 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.2 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Ocean House
Casual Island Elegance True Fine-dining experience - in service, presentaton, atmosphere and, of course, food. 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Reservations suggested.
Shorebird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Popular beachfront setting w/ Diamond Head view Buffet breakfast 7:00am -11:00am Lunch 11:30am - 3:00pm "Broil your own" dinners - 5pm - 10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Diamond Head Terrace provides 2520 square feet of meeting room space adjoining the swimming pool's large patio deck and the Shore Bird Restaurant. It is a pleasant setting for an informal meeting and reception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (548)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
548 out of 548
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Apr 13, 2007

Under Construction!

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.None of the days could we sit on our balcony because of the odor! Strong smell of epoxy from the construction. Constant jake hammering throughout the day. Had to call room service two days to come clean the room, because they forgot. Wife got sick twice from the dinning in the resturant. Other then that, the location was nice. Would I recommend this hotel...Hmmm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Apr 13, 2007

Under Construction!

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.None of the days could we sit on our balcony because of the odor! Strong smell of epoxy from the construction. Constant jake hammering throughout the day. Had to call room service two days to come clean the room, because they forgot. Wife got sick twice from the dinning in the resturant. Other then that, the location was nice. Would I recommend this hotel...Hmmm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 15, 2007

Under construction

I have stayed at this hotel befor and was very happy in the past. Unfortunately it is under construction and since I am on vacation I don't wish to hear pounding all day. I will return once again after the remodeling is done. My husband said that the part of the hotel that is finished being remodeled is beautiful. You can't beat the location of this hotel, its beach and view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and night life is close by, a park next door and lots of beach to walk on.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enyin
Glen Rock, NJ
Apr 12, 2011

Relatively Frustrating Experience

We arrived at Outrigger Reef after staying at another resort on Maui, so we had that experience fresh in our minds when considering Outrigger Reef. We ran into our first issue when checking in, the front desk informed us that they only had rooms with two double beds left and no room with king bed (you couldn't specify at booking). They did offer to change us to another room with a king bed after the first night....now this wasn't a huge issue for us, but when paying for this level of hotel this is an inconvenience that i don't expect to deal with.Second issue was with the package we purchased, the package included 3rd night free and free breakfast each day. This package is/was clearly shown on sites like [...]as well as the Outrigger's own specials page. When we got to the hotel there was no mention of it and when i asked the front desk after check-in, they gave some extremely vague info about how we were supposed to have received some information on this from [...]. This happened several times with front desk staff giving strange answers to my inquiries. So from there, we entered a back and forth between [...]and the hotel staff/managers [...]. At the end of the day, the hotel refused to just honor the package and fought tooth and nail, and i believe [...]ended up being the one to pay for breakfast...they got the hotel to give us the breakfast vouchers for the 2nd and 3rd day (still not sure how/if we're going to get reimbursed for the first day's breakfast). In the end, i don't know who messed up here, but as a customer again i don't expect to deal with this kind of thing at a hotel of this level, the hotel manager should have just given us the vouchers and worked it out with [...]on their own without involving us or eating up our vacation time with frustration. So that was our experience with the hotel, which unfortunately overshadowed what appears to be a pretty nice hotel with recently renovated rooms (though new, our partial ocean view room was what i would consider modest, nothing crazy high-end or anything, no jetted tub, etc) Also, i know all the hotels in the area do this, but i would consider our room a 'courtyard' view, but they call it partial ocean view because you can see the ocean in the distance from the balcony...I felt a bit cheated at this but i know all the hotels in the area do it, any sliver of ocean visible makes it a partial ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to save some money, use the Roberts shuttles from the airport to hotel and back. Inexpensive and great service. Google it to find their website, they appear to be the largest shuttle service in the area so they're easy to find.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Sep 4, 2007

My review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

The Outrigger Reef On The Beach was under construction at the time of my vacation. The Hotel did upgrade us to a nicer room for the inconveinence. Still, the noise was very annoying. I beleive that when they are finished it will be a nice hotel to vacation at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Swim with the Sea Turtles. You paddle boat out into the ocean and go snorkling. Not only do you see the Sea Turtles but you see and feed several other kinds of fish. Its really amazing! The guide was great and it was fairly cheep.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 18, 2007

Jack Hammers at 9 am

The Outrigger oin the Reef is a nice enough Hotel unfortunaly it is undergoing a major renovation at this time. I understand I had reduced rates due to this constrution so I telephoned the Hotel prior to my stay and was informed that the real noise was actually across the street at the Trump Tower. This was not true. There were jack hammers, nail guns and large peices of lumber being dropped from 6am until 6pm all week long. The noise did level drop 'some' on the weekend. I was also told that most everything at the hotel was up and going inluding the resturants, this was also not true, the 2 restrants that were open had wonderful food but a very limited menu and NO room service. This was very important to me. Our first room was small but had a view of the ocean, when I complained of the jack hammer we were moved to another room, larger quiter but no view. The location was great right on the beach and blocks to just everything else! I would only reccomend this Hotel AFTER the work is finshed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Zoo is walking distance and worth a trip.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LjWana
Poulsbo, Washington
Oct 22, 2010

Hawaii Vacation

The hotel is very deceptive about the type of room you will get upon check-in. We reserved an Ocean View room what we got was a room that looked directly into the hotel's other tower and below us was the pool and restaurant. Only if you turned sideways on a TINY balcony could you see the Ocean. Also they say on their website "parking available" it is but at the cost of 25.00 per day. The room refrigerator does not keep anything cold, not even your water bottles. Hotel is very noisy and you are constantly "offered" tours, "specials", etc. by vendors. Not a quiet vacation spot at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

High end, expensive shops a very short walk away. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Lots of vendors on the street trying to "suck" you into "deals", very annoying!

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 18, 2007

Jack Hammers at 9 am

The Outrigger oin the Reef is a nice enough Hotel unfortunaly it is undergoing a major renovation at this time. I understand I had reduced rates due to this constrution so I telephoned the Hotel prior to my stay and was informed that the real noise was actually across the street at the Trump Tower. This was not true. There were jack hammers, nail guns and large peices of lumber being dropped from 6am until 6pm all week long. The noise did level drop 'some' on the weekend. I was also told that most everything at the hotel was up and going inluding the resturants, this was also not true, the 2 restrants that were open had wonderful food but a very limited menu and NO room service. This was very important to me. Our first room was small but had a view of the ocean, when I complained of the jack hammer we were moved to another room, larger quiter but no view. The location was great right on the beach and blocks to just everything else! I would only reccomend this Hotel AFTER the work is finshed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Zoo is walking distance and worth a trip.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enyin
Glen Rock, NJ
Apr 12, 2011

Relatively Frustrating Experience

We arrived at Outrigger Reef after staying at another resort on Maui, so we had that experience fresh in our minds when considering Outrigger Reef. We ran into our first issue when checking in, the front desk informed us that they only had rooms with two double beds left and no room with king bed (you couldn't specify at booking). They did offer to change us to another room with a king bed after the first night....now this wasn't a huge issue for us, but when paying for this level of hotel this is an inconvenience that i don't expect to deal with.Second issue was with the package we purchased, the package included 3rd night free and free breakfast each day. This package is/was clearly shown on sites like [...]as well as the Outrigger's own specials page. When we got to the hotel there was no mention of it and when i asked the front desk after check-in, they gave some extremely vague info about how we were supposed to have received some information on this from [...]. This happened several times with front desk staff giving strange answers to my inquiries. So from there, we entered a back and forth between [...]and the hotel staff/managers [...]. At the end of the day, the hotel refused to just honor the package and fought tooth and nail, and i believe [...]ended up being the one to pay for breakfast...they got the hotel to give us the breakfast vouchers for the 2nd and 3rd day (still not sure how/if we're going to get reimbursed for the first day's breakfast). In the end, i don't know who messed up here, but as a customer again i don't expect to deal with this kind of thing at a hotel of this level, the hotel manager should have just given us the vouchers and worked it out with [...]on their own without involving us or eating up our vacation time with frustration. So that was our experience with the hotel, which unfortunately overshadowed what appears to be a pretty nice hotel with recently renovated rooms (though new, our partial ocean view room was what i would consider modest, nothing crazy high-end or anything, no jetted tub, etc) Also, i know all the hotels in the area do this, but i would consider our room a 'courtyard' view, but they call it partial ocean view because you can see the ocean in the distance from the balcony...I felt a bit cheated at this but i know all the hotels in the area do it, any sliver of ocean visible makes it a partial ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to save some money, use the Roberts shuttles from the airport to hotel and back. Inexpensive and great service. Google it to find their website, they appear to be the largest shuttle service in the area so they're easy to find.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Norby413
Reno Nevada
Apr 30, 2012

Some good, some bad

I'll do the pro-con thing to make this easier to read. Pro: -Mostly nice staff, if not too helpful issues -Good Waikiki location, off less busy road but 1 block from the action. Good central beach location. -Didn't have car, but valet and entry/exit seemed easy. -Nice pool area, attractive grounds, easy beach/pool access. -Views, Our expensive "Ocean View" had view of beach, pool, Diamond head, but only from balcony and 1/2 of view was hotel next door. -Lots of pillows in room Cons: -Rooms a bit cramped -Furniture outdated, had only bed, dresser, small table for 2. -Blind wouldn't close completely, light at 6am -Bathroom average and VERY cramped. Toile t and shower only in closed area, sink in main room, can't get to closet if someone using sink. -Cheapest,thinnest toil-et paper I've every used. -When you book through "service" not clear that its up to hotel if you get King or 2 doubles. Wife wasn't happy w/2 doubles we got. Staff COMPLETELY unhelpful. -Staff in Shore Bird restaraunt disinterested and badly trained. Perhaps since they're always busy, they've developed "take it or leave it" attitude. Left after being seated in back, next to heavily smoking BBQ grill and nobody seemed to care. Told we could take that table or wait 45min, even though several empty tables near beach were open. BTW, ended up at Hard Rock cafe, OUTSTANDING service and food, highly recommed over hotel choices. -Called and asked if hotel had airport shuttle. Told yes, time reserved. Got to airport, and guy asked for "voucher" from hotel. Never told we needed one or were offered one, paid 22bucks for ride. -"Gratuity Fees", OK, I understand hotel food and services are going to be expensive, thats fine. But EVERYTHING had a price, then in fine print, a "Gratuity fee" or "service charge". Spa, roomservice, etc. All I ask is that the price listed be the real price. Now I have to calculate 20% on room service prices, 18% on Spa, then figure tax and tip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

-Got to ABC just down the street on your first day and load up fridge with drinks, snacks, etc. -Hard Rock good food, GREAT service/atmosphere -Get early reservations for popular places, like Dukes, Shorebird, etc. Giovanni Pastrami just around corner is pretty good, 10%off if you're hotel guest,

Back to menu Return to top