$335 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Outrigger Reef on the Beach

4 stars
2169 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
548 reviews
Beach Wedding

My friend recommended the Outrigger as she has stayed here several times. It's a beautiful hotel... See full review

  • Mayanne W
  • Jul 2, 2014
Loved it

No complaints great hotel the staff was the best and the room was so comfortable! See full review

  • maliachs
  • Jun 26, 2014
It's easy to believe paradise really does exist at the Outrigger Reef Hotel Oahu, with accommodations in the Ocean and Pacific Towers allowing full views of the Hawaiian island. Having undergone a $110 million renovation in 2009, you'll now find historian Herb Kane's collection of Polynesian canoe art mounted in the lobby, a Hawaiian literature library next door, and lots of extras like high-speed Wi-Fi around the pool (fees may apply) and direct phone calls to the US mainland (fees may apply). The resort ensures that guests get the most out of island life, from private surfing packages to hula lessons, all topped off with a fruit-packed cocktail and local pupus (hors d'oeuvres) at the poolside hangout, Kani Ka Pila Grille.
Key facts
  • Serenity Spa
  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 restaurants: Kani Ka Pila Grille, Ocean House and Shorebird Restaurant, and Beach Bar
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • On-site shops, including Ku'ai Market and Kuloko Arts of Hawaii
  • Free direct-dial phone calls to US mainland, Canada (fees may apply)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and communal areas, including pool 
  • Library and lounge
  • Swimming pool and sun deck
  • 2,500-square-feet of event space: Diamond Head Terrace
Neighborhood
The Outrigger Reef Hotel has a prime Hawaiian setting on the southern shores of Oahu, with barefoot access to the silky sands of Waikiki Beach. Roam the lush 500 acres of Kapiolani Park, or chase butterfly fish at the Waikiki Aquarium - both are within a mile of the hotel. Even stargazing from the Diamond Head crater is within walking distance of each guest's front door. If you crave designer labels, nearby Kalakaua Avenue beckons with upscale boutiques, fine jewelry emporiums and antique treasures.
Hints and Tips
There are different live music acts playing at the Kani Ka Pila Grille every night of the week. When the sun goes down, check out the Waikiki Beach Walk complex on Lewers Street, or the laidback, retro vibe of bars like Lulu's Waikiki, which becomes a club after the dinner crowd fades.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2787 -157.8323
Area served
Waikiki - Honolulu - Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Best value on Waikiki Beach, this full service Resort offers Ocean Front dining, Day Spa and array of shops on property. Adjacent to Waikiki Beach Walk featuring over 40 shops and restaurants. 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport 4 miles from Downtown Honolulu 1 mile from Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Reef on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Outrigger Reef on the Beach Rooms

Moderate
The Moderate rooms have no view and all rooms do not have lanais. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, & coffee maker. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.
Ocean Front
Oceanfront rooms feature one king or two double beds with one double sleeper sofa. Roooms are 405 sq.ft.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
One Bedroom Ocean Front
One bedroom Ocean Front rooms have one king bed, and one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 1008 sq. ft, and have two bathrooms, jacuzzi tub and shower.
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View rooms have one king bed, or two doubles with one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 355 sq.ft.
City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city or low pool view from the lanai. These rooms are 350 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.9 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.9 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.2 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Diamond Head Terrace provides 2520 square feet of meeting room space adjoining the swimming pool's large patio deck and the Shore Bird Restaurant. It is a pleasant setting for an informal meeting and reception.

Dining

Ocean House
Casual Island Elegance True Fine-dining experience - in service, presentaton, atmosphere and, of course, food. 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Reservations suggested.
Shorebird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Popular beachfront setting w/ Diamond Head view Buffet breakfast 7:00am -11:00am Lunch 11:30am - 3:00pm "Broil your own" dinners - 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (548)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
548 out of 548
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
work2play
Burlingame, CA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Good value on Waikiki Beach

The Outrigger Reef on the Beach probably is the LAST good value hotel in all of Waikiki, let alone ON Waikiki Beach. Their recent renovations help them keep up with the higher end hotels that surround it. The hotel concierge staff were very helpful throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Uncle Clay's Shaved Ice shop on the southeast side of Oahu. We stumbled on it after a LONG day at Hanauma Bay. YUM! The quality is much better then the stuff you'd get on Waikiki and, it's closer and less crowded than Matsumoto's.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rosiexo
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

wonderful hotel

right at the beach, clean, friendly staff, beautiful view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mocha1
Kansas City, MO
Sep 26, 2011

Wonderful Vacation!

Clean, right on the beach. The comfort of the bed was excellent. All you want is within walking distance. Hotel took care of any tour you might want. If you want a rental car for a day, schedule BEFORE you leave. None available once you get there. Food at the hotel was great. Used Reliable for transportation to and from the hotel, great service and on time. NO security issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A number of nearby resturants. Various price ranges, but everything much more expensive than in the mainland.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mocha1
Kansas City, MO
Sep 26, 2011

Wonderful Vacation!

Clean, right on the beach. The comfort of the bed was excellent. All you want is within walking distance. Hotel took care of any tour you might want. If you want a rental car for a day, schedule BEFORE you leave. None available once you get there. Food at the hotel was great. Used Reliable for transportation to and from the hotel, great service and on time. NO security issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A number of nearby resturants. Various price ranges, but everything much more expensive than in the mainland.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Artin
Belmont, CA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Excellent Location

Our experience at Outrigger Reef on the Beach has been excellent and the hotel has been very much accomodating to our needs. Overall a very nice experience. Regards, Gregory

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located directly on the beach

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
judymac
HB CA
Aug 30, 2011

Great location to beach and shops

I stayed here while getting my son settled into the University. I was very pleased with the staff, restaurants, and location. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and family. I don't think I'll go anywhere else...The Outrigger on the Beach has it all!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants, lots of shopping, walking distance.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
judymac
HB CA
Aug 30, 2011

Great location to beach and shops

I stayed here while getting my son settled into the University. I was very pleased with the staff, restaurants, and location. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and family. I don't think I'll go anywhere else...The Outrigger on the Beach has it all!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants, lots of shopping, walking distance.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maysha Z.
Milford, CT, USA
Aug 27, 2011

A Great Honeymoon Experience!

My husband and I came to the Outrigger Reef on The Beach to celebrate our marriage. It was the perfect beginning to our marriage. We booked an Ocean View room. Initially, I was sad that we could not afford to book an Ocean Front room, but after seeing our room, I couldn't have asked for anything better. Our room had a great view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Something did, however, get lost in translation because I booked through Orbitz. We got a double room instead of a king. We just stayed in the room (1008) because we loved the view so much. The concierge and front desk staff were very helpful. The staff even gave us a bottle of sparkling wine as a gift (makana) for our wedding. BEWARE: This is the ONLY reason I did not give the place 5 stars. There are 2 desks of Wyndham staff trying to sell you timeshares. One desk is located right beside the concierge, so when you go to ask the concierge a question, you get slightly harassed by the timeshare crew. Just know before you go- they offer you a free breakfast or lunch and a $100 gift card. It sounds appealing, but at the end of the day, I doubt this is how you want to spend your vacation. Take it from me- I was suckered into the presentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across the street to Roy's for some great food. You may need to make reservations. Sit outside if possible.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maysha Z.
Milford, CT, USA
Aug 27, 2011

A Great Honeymoon Experience!

My husband and I came to the Outrigger Reef on The Beach to celebrate our marriage. It was the perfect beginning to our marriage. We booked an Ocean View room. Initially, I was sad that we could not afford to book an Ocean Front room, but after seeing our room, I couldn't have asked for anything better. Our room had a great view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Something did, however, get lost in translation because I booked through Orbitz. We got a double room instead of a king. We just stayed in the room (1008) because we loved the view so much. The concierge and front desk staff were very helpful. The staff even gave us a bottle of sparkling wine as a gift (makana) for our wedding. BEWARE: This is the ONLY reason I did not give the place 5 stars. There are 2 desks of Wyndham staff trying to sell you timeshares. One desk is located right beside the concierge, so when you go to ask the concierge a question, you get slightly harassed by the timeshare crew. Just know before you go- they offer you a free breakfast or lunch and a $100 gift card. It sounds appealing, but at the end of the day, I doubt this is how you want to spend your vacation. Take it from me- I was suckered into the presentation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across the street to Roy's for some great food. You may need to make reservations. Sit outside if possible.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Durbanguy
San Francisco Bay Area
Aug 14, 2011

Love the Outrigger Reef

We had a room on the 17th floor with wonderful partial ocean views. Room was spotless and recently renovated. Beds were very comfortable. The hotel has a great feel to it -- open air lobby with live music playing at the poolside restaurant. $3.50 mai tais anyone? (noon to 5pm) at Shorebird and lovely $19.95 prime rib dinners at the Ocean House restaurant both overlooking the beach. Recommend the breakfast upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

$19.95 prime rib dinner at Ocean House and get the breakfast upgrade and eat at the Ocean House overlooking the beach. Gracious service.

Back to menu Return to top