$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Outrigger Reef on the Beach

4 stars
2169 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
323 reviews
Perfect Location & Room for Families w/ Young Children

We had a perfect experience at the Outrigger Reef hotel in Waikiki. The spacious 1 BR suite was... See full review

  • Warm Weather Mom
  • Aug 4, 2014
Perfect Spot for a Family w/ 2 Little Ones!!

The Outrigger Reef was a last minute booking for us and we couldn't have picked a better spot! The... See full review

  • Warm Weather Mom
  • Jul 30, 2014
It's easy to believe paradise really does exist at the Outrigger Reef Hotel Oahu, with accommodations in the Ocean and Pacific Towers allowing full views of the Hawaiian island. Having undergone a $110 million renovation in 2009, you'll now find historian Herb Kane's collection of Polynesian canoe art mounted in the lobby, a Hawaiian literature library next door, and lots of extras like high-speed Wi-Fi around the pool (fees may apply) and direct phone calls to the US mainland (fees may apply). The resort ensures that guests get the most out of island life, from private surfing packages to hula lessons, all topped off with a fruit-packed cocktail and local pupus (hors d'oeuvres) at the poolside hangout, Kani Ka Pila Grille.
Key facts
  • Serenity Spa
  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 restaurants: Kani Ka Pila Grille, Ocean House and Shorebird Restaurant, and Beach Bar
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • On-site shops, including Ku'ai Market and Kuloko Arts of Hawaii
  • Free direct-dial phone calls to US mainland, Canada (fees may apply)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and communal areas, including pool 
  • Library and lounge
  • Swimming pool and sun deck
  • 2,500-square-feet of event space: Diamond Head Terrace
Neighborhood
The Outrigger Reef Hotel has a prime Hawaiian setting on the southern shores of Oahu, with barefoot access to the silky sands of Waikiki Beach. Roam the lush 500 acres of Kapiolani Park, or chase butterfly fish at the Waikiki Aquarium - both are within a mile of the hotel. Even stargazing from the Diamond Head crater is within walking distance of each guest's front door. If you crave designer labels, nearby Kalakaua Avenue beckons with upscale boutiques, fine jewelry emporiums and antique treasures.
Hints and Tips
There are different live music acts playing at the Kani Ka Pila Grille every night of the week. When the sun goes down, check out the Waikiki Beach Walk complex on Lewers Street, or the laidback, retro vibe of bars like Lulu's Waikiki, which becomes a club after the dinner crowd fades.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2787 -157.8323
Area served
Waikiki - Honolulu - Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Best value on Waikiki Beach, this full service Resort offers Ocean Front dining, Day Spa and array of shops on property. Adjacent to Waikiki Beach Walk featuring over 40 shops and restaurants. 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport 4 miles from Downtown Honolulu 1 mile from Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Reef on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Outrigger Reef on the Beach Rooms

Moderate
The Moderate rooms have no view and all rooms do not have lanais. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, & coffee maker. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.
Ocean Front
Oceanfront rooms feature one king or two double beds with one double sleeper sofa. Roooms are 405 sq.ft.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
One Bedroom Ocean Front
One bedroom Ocean Front rooms have one king bed, and one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 1008 sq. ft, and have two bathrooms, jacuzzi tub and shower.
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View rooms have one king bed, or two doubles with one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 355 sq.ft.
City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city or low pool view from the lanai. These rooms are 350 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.9 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.9 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.2 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Diamond Head Terrace provides 2520 square feet of meeting room space adjoining the swimming pool's large patio deck and the Shore Bird Restaurant. It is a pleasant setting for an informal meeting and reception.

Dining

Ocean House
Casual Island Elegance True Fine-dining experience - in service, presentaton, atmosphere and, of course, food. 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Reservations suggested.
Shorebird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Popular beachfront setting w/ Diamond Head view Buffet breakfast 7:00am -11:00am Lunch 11:30am - 3:00pm "Broil your own" dinners - 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time Hawaiianers
Louisville, KY
Nov 7, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of Honolulu

Great hotel in the heart of Honolulu. If you like the city life and upscale shopping, you will love the Outrigger Reef. Reasonably priced - remember, this is Honolulu - and excellent amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xmatlow
Livingston, Scotland
Oct 20, 2013

Didn't Want To Leave

We couldn't have picked a better hotel. Right on the beach with 3 great restaurants. Our favourite was the Shorebird restaurant, all you can eat buffet and cook your own meat, all at really good prices especially for Waikiki. Our room was a decent size with a good view of the ocean, (Room 1651). Was great to be able to look out and watch the activity on the ocean every day, surfers, ships, submarines, para-sailing, it was all visible right from our bed. Room service was great too, our maid was called Lilia, she was fantastic, always greeted us with a smile and "Aloha, good morning Mr XXX, Mrs XXX". I have never been anywhere where I have received such good hospitality from all the staff. The pool side bar, Kani Ka Pila Grille, serves food and also has nightly live Hawaiian music from 6pm to 9pm, it really sets the atmosphere. If you like karaoke, you can get your fill of that too in the Shorebird from 10pm onwards, it's also happy hour at this time, even better. Located in the hotel is Enterprise Car Rental which we used for a day, they were great, didn't have the car we had asked for so upgraded us free of charge to a Ford Mustang Convertible, we loved it. Returning the car out of hours was easy, just dropped it off at the hotel across the road, no fuss. The hotel backs right onto the beach, where you can rent sunbeds, surfboards, paddleboards etc, there are many different rental places along the beach. It's quite expensive to rent stuff, but you can take a towel from the pool area and sit on that on the beach for free. We bought a snorkel, mask and body board to use as it was cheaper than renting equipment and just as much fun. We gave away the body board at the end of our 2 weeks, it made someones day. The sunsets on the beach are amazing and if you're feeling a bit romantic the Ocean House restaurant in the hotel is a great place to dine at this time but book ahead. Located within a minutes walk is an ABC store for all your touristy stuff but also for food and drink, sandwiches, pizza, beer, limited groceries etc. It's a great place to go if you just fancy something quick and reasonably priced, a break from just eating out all the time. At night time, the Waikiki area comes alive, it's beautiful, flaming torches everywhere and people wandering about enjoying the shops and restaurants. There is no trouble and the area is spotlessly clean. we've never been anywhere where we've felt so safe. Everything is on the doorstep of this hotel and you can easily walk along to the other end of Waikiki in around 20-30 minutes at a nice leisurely stroll. Overall, we can't wait to go back and we would definitely recommend this hotel, it's in a great location and it's amazingly good.!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the ABC stores to save some money on dining out in restaurants.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pakfamily
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 15, 2013

Family Friendly

Pros: Clean, great staff, great services, and great value. Cons: City View (Noisey - Tour Buses), Expensive Parking $35/day, and a bad breakfast buffet. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magpie73
Providence RI
Sep 17, 2013

Great place

We just returned after a week stay in September. The location was great, room was clean with a spacious bathroom & vanity area. We had two double beds which were more like 2 full size beds. There wasn't enough room for a roll away. The beds were comfortable though. Even though the hotel is located on the beach it was rocky & full of coral.. But a 5 minute walk down the way is a better area with soft sand & a larger area to relax. The Restuarants were ok. One served a buffet which didn't look to appealing; the other 2 were better. There menus states which dishes are gluten free which I thought was great since I suffer from a gluten allergy. But beware I think cross contamination is pretty high since I got sick after each meal so I avoided them all together. There are many other restaurants located all around. Overall a nice place, with friendly helpful staff. There is an enterprise car rental place located in the building ..but not associated w the outrigger.we rented from them 3 times & had multiple issues with the service there. --them being rude. We complained to the regional office & were picked up & taken to another location. Much better customer service there. I booked a scuba dive through the activity desk.. Dive Oahu. Excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dragon 1 oh
latrobe,pa
Sep 8, 2013

Excellent hotel

The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. They went above and beyond to be helpful. The room cleaning staff even wished us a safe trip home. Definately would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Magic of Polynesia show. It was very good and with the dinner we all had a great time. We laughed so hard our faces hurt and we were amazed at the same time.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnn Mac
Washington
Aug 23, 2013

Great way to experience Waikiki

The hotel was very clean, comfortable, luxurious, and the staff was super friendly. Location was way far away from the everything else. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Paddle boarding and water fun is just right back door of the hotel.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sar1gno
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2013

Great location!

This hotel has an amazing location! Right on the beach and next to fun surf. The staff were super friendly and helpful. It was also located near some excellent restaurants (across the street from Roy's).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's restaurant across the street

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May Honeymooners
griffin, georgia
May 23, 2013

Great hotel!

friendly staff, nice restaurants at the hotel and in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seasoned Traveler GT
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2013

Great room - bad view

The room we stayed in was extremely clean, had new furnishings and great amenities. However, we had a view of the building across from us that was about 15 feet away. We did not anticipate a beach view - but being that close made us keep curtains shut the whole time so people could not see in. It took away from being able to enjoy fresh air/sunlight. Otherwise - the location was right across from lots of shopping and dining. There ware 3 different bars/restaurants in the hotel - which had great happy hour specials!! ($3.50 for mai tais). The pool is set back far from the beach - so you don't get the hawaii feel if you want to be in pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackson brown
Seattle WA
Apr 1, 2013

Great

Staff was amazing, location was perfect. I was very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock

Back to menu Return to top

Change search