$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Outrigger Reef on the Beach

4 stars
2169 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
323 reviews
Perfect Location & Room for Families w/ Young Children

We had a perfect experience at the Outrigger Reef hotel in Waikiki. The spacious 1 BR suite was... See full review

  • Warm Weather Mom
  • Aug 4, 2014
Perfect Spot for a Family w/ 2 Little Ones!!

The Outrigger Reef was a last minute booking for us and we couldn't have picked a better spot! The... See full review

  • Warm Weather Mom
  • Jul 30, 2014
It's easy to believe paradise really does exist at the Outrigger Reef Hotel Oahu, with accommodations in the Ocean and Pacific Towers allowing full views of the Hawaiian island. Having undergone a $110 million renovation in 2009, you'll now find historian Herb Kane's collection of Polynesian canoe art mounted in the lobby, a Hawaiian literature library next door, and lots of extras like high-speed Wi-Fi around the pool (fees may apply) and direct phone calls to the US mainland (fees may apply). The resort ensures that guests get the most out of island life, from private surfing packages to hula lessons, all topped off with a fruit-packed cocktail and local pupus (hors d'oeuvres) at the poolside hangout, Kani Ka Pila Grille.
Key facts
  • Serenity Spa
  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 restaurants: Kani Ka Pila Grille, Ocean House and Shorebird Restaurant, and Beach Bar
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • On-site shops, including Ku'ai Market and Kuloko Arts of Hawaii
  • Free direct-dial phone calls to US mainland, Canada (fees may apply)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and communal areas, including pool 
  • Library and lounge
  • Swimming pool and sun deck
  • 2,500-square-feet of event space: Diamond Head Terrace
Neighborhood
The Outrigger Reef Hotel has a prime Hawaiian setting on the southern shores of Oahu, with barefoot access to the silky sands of Waikiki Beach. Roam the lush 500 acres of Kapiolani Park, or chase butterfly fish at the Waikiki Aquarium - both are within a mile of the hotel. Even stargazing from the Diamond Head crater is within walking distance of each guest's front door. If you crave designer labels, nearby Kalakaua Avenue beckons with upscale boutiques, fine jewelry emporiums and antique treasures.
Hints and Tips
There are different live music acts playing at the Kani Ka Pila Grille every night of the week. When the sun goes down, check out the Waikiki Beach Walk complex on Lewers Street, or the laidback, retro vibe of bars like Lulu's Waikiki, which becomes a club after the dinner crowd fades.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2787 -157.8323
Area served
Waikiki - Honolulu - Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Best value on Waikiki Beach, this full service Resort offers Ocean Front dining, Day Spa and array of shops on property. Adjacent to Waikiki Beach Walk featuring over 40 shops and restaurants. 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport 4 miles from Downtown Honolulu 1 mile from Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Reef on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Outrigger Reef on the Beach Rooms

Moderate
The Moderate rooms have no view and all rooms do not have lanais. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, & coffee maker. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.
Ocean Front
Oceanfront rooms feature one king or two double beds with one double sleeper sofa. Roooms are 405 sq.ft.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
One Bedroom Ocean Front
One bedroom Ocean Front rooms have one king bed, and one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 1008 sq. ft, and have two bathrooms, jacuzzi tub and shower.
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View rooms have one king bed, or two doubles with one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 355 sq.ft.
City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city or low pool view from the lanai. These rooms are 350 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.9 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.9 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.2 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Ocean House
Casual Island Elegance True Fine-dining experience - in service, presentaton, atmosphere and, of course, food. 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Reservations suggested.
Shorebird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Popular beachfront setting w/ Diamond Head view Buffet breakfast 7:00am -11:00am Lunch 11:30am - 3:00pm "Broil your own" dinners - 5pm - 10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Diamond Head Terrace provides 2520 square feet of meeting room space adjoining the swimming pool's large patio deck and the Shore Bird Restaurant. It is a pleasant setting for an informal meeting and reception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dizzyred
Augusta, Michigan
Jun 1, 2011

Paradise Getaway

I loved the hotel the moment we approached it! The grounds are famous, the staff was pleasant due to we flew all the way from Michigan and arrived very late in the evening. Waking to the beautiful views of the ocean and grabbing an excellent breakfast downstairs. The lobby had wonderful ladies that assisted us in our tours which where also rememberable with wonderful tour guides. The evening was a pleasant one with easy access to the beach for a lovely evening walk. The hotel is very warm in assisting you to fine dining locations along with easy access to shopping. I would love to come back this hotel if my travels bring me back here to Hawaii. Maloha Outriggers for making my stay with my husband a memorable and pleasant one.. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's 5 o'clock somewhere :)

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Loveland, CO
May 14, 2011

Very nice hotel

This is a beautiful hotel with great access to everything!!!!! The rooms are beautifully done. I had stayed here once back in 2004 and that's why I wanted to stay here again. You can walk on the sidewalks for a long time by the beach. I had to switch rooms after the first night because of the outside noise, and the staff didn't give me any problems. I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone and would give it a 5 star rating. Very clean facility!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D and J
Charlotte, NC
May 7, 2011

Paradise Found

Gorgeous Hotel, very friendly staff, great location for shopping and the beach was fantastic. We'll be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Prepare to relax.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gapcap
huntington beach, ca
May 2, 2011

8 days in paradise

The Outrigger Reef is located in a terrific place on the beach in Waikiki. The hotel is very beautiful and well maintained. The staff are courteous and helpful. The view of Diamond Head from the hotel is spectacular. The hotel pool is very nice, but certainly not memorable. The location is great as far as being close to shopping, dining and entertainment. I look forward to returning to this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Leesburg, VA
Apr 30, 2011

Most Relaxed Hotel on Waikiki Beach

[...].I walked through all the other hotels on Waikiki Beach and by far the Outrigger Reef had the nicest pool and relaxed atmosphere. The other hotels have too many shops and are a little to materialistic and touresty for my tastes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge service in the hotel to set up all your tours. It is run by an Orbitz competitor and they offer anything you would want to do at very reasonable prices. There is no reason to rent a car. Save yourself the money and sign up for the tours.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chilly in Illinois
chicago
Apr 24, 2011

Great place for the family

Took two tours thru the hotel. Both were great Room view was fabulous Nice beach,great pool, I couldnt have imagened nicer staff working there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dchamp712
Pawcatuck, CT
Apr 23, 2011

A wonderful experience

Clean comfortable room. All aspects of service were top notch. Agreat hotel in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

great food with great service.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enyin
Glen Rock, NJ
Apr 12, 2011

Relatively Frustrating Experience

We arrived at Outrigger Reef after staying at another resort on Maui, so we had that experience fresh in our minds when considering Outrigger Reef. We ran into our first issue when checking in, the front desk informed us that they only had rooms with two double beds left and no room with king bed (you couldn't specify at booking). They did offer to change us to another room with a king bed after the first night....now this wasn't a huge issue for us, but when paying for this level of hotel this is an inconvenience that i don't expect to deal with.Second issue was with the package we purchased, the package included 3rd night free and free breakfast each day. This package is/was clearly shown on sites like [...]as well as the Outrigger's own specials page. When we got to the hotel there was no mention of it and when i asked the front desk after check-in, they gave some extremely vague info about how we were supposed to have received some information on this from [...]. This happened several times with front desk staff giving strange answers to my inquiries. So from there, we entered a back and forth between [...]and the hotel staff/managers [...]. At the end of the day, the hotel refused to just honor the package and fought tooth and nail, and i believe [...]ended up being the one to pay for breakfast...they got the hotel to give us the breakfast vouchers for the 2nd and 3rd day (still not sure how/if we're going to get reimbursed for the first day's breakfast). In the end, i don't know who messed up here, but as a customer again i don't expect to deal with this kind of thing at a hotel of this level, the hotel manager should have just given us the vouchers and worked it out with [...]on their own without involving us or eating up our vacation time with frustration. So that was our experience with the hotel, which unfortunately overshadowed what appears to be a pretty nice hotel with recently renovated rooms (though new, our partial ocean view room was what i would consider modest, nothing crazy high-end or anything, no jetted tub, etc) Also, i know all the hotels in the area do this, but i would consider our room a 'courtyard' view, but they call it partial ocean view because you can see the ocean in the distance from the balcony...I felt a bit cheated at this but i know all the hotels in the area do it, any sliver of ocean visible makes it a partial ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to save some money, use the Roberts shuttles from the airport to hotel and back. Inexpensive and great service. Google it to find their website, they appear to be the largest shuttle service in the area so they're easy to find.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona Ca
Apr 11, 2011

Excellent hotel value

I WAS THERE ON BUSINESS. ROOMS SINCE THE REMODEL ARE GREAT. I LOVE THE SHORE BIRD BUFFET FOR BREAKFAST AND THE SHORE BIRD BAR DURING HAPPY HOUR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Galesburg, MI
Apr 10, 2011

Our 35th Wedding Anniversary Trip

It was our 35th Wedding Anniversary and our first trip to Hawaii. We enjoyed the hotel and it's surroundings very much. The service we received while on your island was exceptional. Being right on the beach was what we wanted and we were not disappointed. The hotel restaurants food and service were great. Since it was for our anniversary, we Renewed our Wedding Vows at your hotel right on the beach. A very nice amenity to offer and a nice touch for our vacation. We do wish though that we would of been able to purchase clothing with the hotel name on them. The excursions we took while we were there were, Germaine's Luau, the Star of Honolulu dinner cruise and the Circle Tour of the island. We were pleased with all of them. We wished we would of had more time on your beautiful island. It was our dream vacation of a lifetime and we would love to return to paradise in Oahu, Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search