$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
221 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 221
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ms Melly
Business
Washington
Apr 28, 2014

Great location and that's all

Staff was rude to each other. Not professional! Chilies was the only place to eat. Maid was lazy, room wasn't clean and had roaches. Our floor was under construction, fumes were horrible. Glad we were gone most of the day. No wireless, we live in a smartphone, tablet, age. The location is perfect for touring and beaches. Can walk everywhere in Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Booze cruise from Waikiki beach, $30 per person 2hrs. Sail around and sip at dusk. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B0dacius
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 19, 2013

Birthday Celebration

Hotel was not a 3 stars. cleaning staff and parking attendants were nice but the front desk and other hotel staffs i have encountered with was extremely rude. I wouldn't recommend anyone staying here. Its a great location. Bed was uncomfortable and the hall way and room smell like mildew. It was a simple spring mattress that they pick up from the local goodwill place. Save yourself per the price, but with the extra fees they want to charge you can get a better place. Next time I will not listen to my friend because of the price but book the Hyatt or Sheraton where I have stayed at before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sheis
Business
Hayward
Sep 18, 2012

Bottles of water missing

On my last night at Ohana Waikiki West my 2 bottles of water disappeared. They were in the fridge at the night before. I reported to the front desk but she couldn't help because manager was not there. (Thought there should be a manager on duty 24 hours??) I reported to the manager again when checked out the next day. She asked me for the receipt of the water and gave me the fund after her calculation!!! I wanted water not money!!! Not good experience because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 5, 2011

Nice Budget Accommodations

Stayed for 9 nights in June - July 2011. Nice accommodations, lovely staff, cleanliness was pretty good if a bit of a run-down place in general. The proximity to the beach and downtown Waikiki was excellent. Very sweet staff - so helpful when we had a night flight after checking out at noon, we were able to use the "hospitality room" to shower off and change before going to the airport. Highly recommended for a small family, friends, or a couple on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The only country honky-tonk bar in Honolulu is in the basement... great happy hour drink deals and ladies' night Thursdays. I don't particularly like country music, but for happy hour, it's fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hansenbrood
Business
Mission Viejo, Ca.
Jun 10, 2011

Nice for the price

My boys were meeting there brother who was returning from deployment on the USS Carl Vinson. They reported that the room was very clean and the beds plenty big enough for them to share. It was a great location to surrounding night life and restaurants. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful in figuring out local transportation. They said the bathroom was very small (but they're not picky) and the pool was a bit of a joke. It was great for a family of young adults and a teenager. So if its a quick turnaround trip, this place was good. for longer stays, my wife and I prefer the North Shore which is much more laid back. You can usually find good deals at Kuilima Estates at Turtle Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debra Dee holiday girl
Business
Regina, SK Canada
Feb 24, 2011

Outstanding holiday

[...] Hotel was average, but clean and friendly, was all we wanted--close to Intl. Market Place, beach, shopping, dining, etc. Hotel was friendly & eager to please in every way from booking tours, shuttles, and any way that they could be of service. Our flight package was perfect and we made lots of new friends, did not want to leave Hawaii and certainly look forward to returning to Ohau soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
girl who loves Hawaii
Business
Fountain Valley, CA
Feb 15, 2011

Satisfied for the price

The location was great. Just a short walk through the International Market Place to get to Waikiki Beach. Mainly used the hotel for quick stops to shower and sleep. Chose this hotel in part because of the free internet access but the internet went down a couple of the nights I was there. Also, the free wifi is only available in the lobby. Overall, a good experience though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Used the bus and Trolley to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
V from Cali
Business
Bay Area, CA
Dec 6, 2010

Good price, decent rooms.

The hotel was in a great location and their security measures were great though sometime annoying. ie. room key to use the elevator or lobby bathroom The pool was fantastic and got good sun for the majority of the day. The pool bar, however, had a funny smell. The flat screen in the pool bar area were an ideal place for the boys to get their football fix though. The location was fantastic. Chilis located on the first floor. A country bar downstairs and a grocery store less than 1/2 block away. One could easily grab some goods and cook them in the little kitchenettes provided in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you aren't looking for a resort feel (just a bed and a pillow) this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
honolulu,hi
Nov 2, 2010

Halloween night

The room was smaller then i thought it would be and the shower felt like a prison cell. the room had a nice view from the lanai. dont let the kitchen fool you! it was just 2 burners and a tiny microwave and a mini fridge! its cheap for a reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Five O Girls!!!!!
Business
Edmonton, AB Canada
Feb 15, 2010

Great service, great location

I love the fact that they gave 15 mins of free long distance calls(per call). The people were friendly and very resourceful. Took a few tours with the help of the hotel staff. Can't wait to bring the whole family next time. Again great location. The price is right in my books

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

use the coupon books that the hotel gives you. Take full advantage

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top