$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
339 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 339
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Didhavefun
Business
Upland ,Ca
Dec 10, 2011

I enjoyed my stay.

First the picture you have is of Ohana East not West the sister hotel and I have stayed there as well. At the West I was by myself. I had a small room but it fit me perfectly. The shower is to fit one person but the water pressure was great and the water was hot if I wanted. I found nothing wrong with this hotel. I will definitely stay here again. There is a Chili’s down stairs and a Cowboy night club. The Cabanas bar at the pool was fun and everyone was friendly. I'm 59 and enjoyed myself. The Market place is across the street. You are one block from the beachfront hotels. I walked straight through the market place and across the next street and I’m at Duke’s in the outrigger. If you want to save money stay here. Otherwise the outrigger is a great place for 190.00 a night and up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are about more than 10 bars in a few block walk.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama City, PA
May 31, 2011

Interesting Experience

This was an interesting experience because upon check in, the motel had no record of my reservation, nor pre-payment. Almost like I didn't exist, actually, it was like I didn't exist. I had to prove to the motel that I had prepaid for the room through [...]. This was done by getting online to show the motel the prepayment to [...], and then showing them my credit card transaction. I was petrified. I was sure they would turn me away, or make me pay again. What a hassle. Everything worked out okay. I got the room, and did not have to pay again. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama City, PA
May 31, 2011

Interesting Experience

This was an interesting experience because upon check in, the motel had no record of my reservation, nor pre-payment. Almost like I didn't exist, actually, it was like I didn't exist. I had to prove to the motel that I had prepaid for the room through [...]. This was done by getting online to show the motel the prepayment to [...], and then showing them my credit card transaction. I was petrified. I was sure they would turn me away, or make me pay again. What a hassle. Everything worked out okay. I got the room, and did not have to pay again. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck - World Traveler
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 25, 2010

Great location - Great Price!

Quick sight seeing to the Cultural Center and sights in the City. Very enjoyable but only a short time in Honolulu. About the same as most!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed the park and the zoo - all right in the city.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck - World Traveler
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 25, 2010

Great location - Great Price!

Quick sight seeing to the Cultural Center and sights in the City. Very enjoyable but only a short time in Honolulu. About the same as most!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed the park and the zoo - all right in the city.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waikiki, HI
Oct 21, 2010

Good stay

I was at this hotel for only a short stay on business. The room had free internet and the lobby has free wireless access. The desk staff was helpful and courteous. I did purchase one of the cheaper rooms available. It did suit my needs yet from a luxury standpoint may seem to be a bit old. Overall the stay was pleasurable and was close to shopping, dining and beach areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is very close by and easy to get to. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and many restaurants nearby.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waikiki, HI
Oct 21, 2010

Good stay

I was at this hotel for only a short stay on business. The room had free internet and the lobby has free wireless access. The desk staff was helpful and courteous. I did purchase one of the cheaper rooms available. It did suit my needs yet from a luxury standpoint may seem to be a bit old. Overall the stay was pleasurable and was close to shopping, dining and beach areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is very close by and easy to get to. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and many restaurants nearby.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
In the seas of Hawaii
Oct 14, 2010

My Stay

I went to walk around. The area was nice, the location is very good because there was a lot to do outside. The room was clean, But I wish they put me to a higher room. They gave me a double bed for just me, it was weird. The front desk that checked me in was professional but not much on the friendly side. But the housekeepers are excellent! They are all friendly, cheerful and very helpful. I love them. It was good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like shopping, you will really like this place. It's close to a lot of shopping centers, mall and even marketplace!

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
In the seas of Hawaii
Oct 14, 2010

My Stay

I went to walk around. The area was nice, the location is very good because there was a lot to do outside. The room was clean, But I wish they put me to a higher room. They gave me a double bed for just me, it was weird. The front desk that checked me in was professional but not much on the friendly side. But the housekeepers are excellent! They are all friendly, cheerful and very helpful. I love them. It was good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like shopping, you will really like this place. It's close to a lot of shopping centers, mall and even marketplace!

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
japan
Oct 11, 2009

great location for the price

local phone calls and calls to canada and the mainland usa are free for the first 15 minutes and free internet in the room. if you get a room on the kuhio street side it can be quite noisy with loud buses and partying tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top