$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
View map of 2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
226 reviews
Great location near the beach

Just a short stroll from the beach, great location and budget hotel feel. Perfect for exploring all... See full review

  • Troy N.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Good place to stay

The room is good to stay! And it is really convinient because it is located near to the beach. See full review

  • Jiegeng
  • Aug 11, 2014

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 226
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tourist1991
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 17, 2014

Outdated, bad area, wouldn't stay here again

I got what I paid for here. If you're on a budget it's okay, the place is clean enough and safe enough. I didn't appreciate the rickety elevators, noisy part of Waikiki, hookers & drunk people on the streets well into the night, the lack of parking (had to park most nights at the Waikiki Trade Center 3 blocks down), and the lack of customer service shown me by both front desk and bellhop staff. Need a band-aid? Go to the gift shop--they can't even help with that. There's no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. Wall ports for internet. Starbuck's at the street corner is better (sometimes, the "maximum users" message came up on the modem connection in-room). Parking is $25/day on-site, with an agreement that you can also park at the WTC. Next time I'll be coughing up the money to stay at a better hotel with valet on O'ahu. Much less stressful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ross is 3 blocks away and has AMAZING selection. Got new work shoes, sunglasses, and swim shorts there. Almost bought a new suitcase too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mel O
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 25, 2014

Seriously needs to come out of the Stone Age

The air conditioner was strong but then again the room was tiny and had only 3 settings (Lo Med & HI). It was so strong that it was pulling air from the gap under the door pretty good. The bathroom smelled like Body Odor (ugh) and I'm pretty tolerant. All the fixtures were old, No Wifi to the room (folks, Ipads and Ipods and Smartphones do not use CAT5 cables). The only 3 elevators were uber-slow even during 5am. Limited parking. On the plus side, the location was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame Udon. nothing compares!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Didhavefun
Business
Upland ,Ca
Dec 10, 2011

I enjoyed my stay.

First the picture you have is of Ohana East not West the sister hotel and I have stayed there as well. At the West I was by myself. I had a small room but it fit me perfectly. The shower is to fit one person but the water pressure was great and the water was hot if I wanted. I found nothing wrong with this hotel. I will definitely stay here again. There is a Chili’s down stairs and a Cowboy night club. The Cabanas bar at the pool was fun and everyone was friendly. I'm 59 and enjoyed myself. The Market place is across the street. You are one block from the beachfront hotels. I walked straight through the market place and across the next street and I’m at Duke’s in the outrigger. If you want to save money stay here. Otherwise the outrigger is a great place for 190.00 a night and up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are about more than 10 bars in a few block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama City, PA
May 31, 2011

Interesting Experience

This was an interesting experience because upon check in, the motel had no record of my reservation, nor pre-payment. Almost like I didn't exist, actually, it was like I didn't exist. I had to prove to the motel that I had prepaid for the room through [...]. This was done by getting online to show the motel the prepayment to [...], and then showing them my credit card transaction. I was petrified. I was sure they would turn me away, or make me pay again. What a hassle. Everything worked out okay. I got the room, and did not have to pay again. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck - World Traveler
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 25, 2010

Great location - Great Price!

Quick sight seeing to the Cultural Center and sights in the City. Very enjoyable but only a short time in Honolulu. About the same as most!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed the park and the zoo - all right in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waikiki, HI
Oct 21, 2010

Good stay

I was at this hotel for only a short stay on business. The room had free internet and the lobby has free wireless access. The desk staff was helpful and courteous. I did purchase one of the cheaper rooms available. It did suit my needs yet from a luxury standpoint may seem to be a bit old. Overall the stay was pleasurable and was close to shopping, dining and beach areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is very close by and easy to get to. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and many restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
In the seas of Hawaii
Oct 14, 2010

My Stay

I went to walk around. The area was nice, the location is very good because there was a lot to do outside. The room was clean, But I wish they put me to a higher room. They gave me a double bed for just me, it was weird. The front desk that checked me in was professional but not much on the friendly side. But the housekeepers are excellent! They are all friendly, cheerful and very helpful. I love them. It was good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like shopping, you will really like this place. It's close to a lot of shopping centers, mall and even marketplace!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
japan
Oct 11, 2009

great location for the price

local phone calls and calls to canada and the mainland usa are free for the first 15 minutes and free internet in the room. if you get a room on the kuhio street side it can be quite noisy with loud buses and partying tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Touchet
Jan 6, 2009

Cochroach

We found a 2 long roach in our room. Probably came in under the door, there was a large gap. Also no hot tub. They charge $18 per day to park your rental car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap breakfast across the streety at the Galaxy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2008

The OHANA Waikiki West ...

The OHANA Waikiki West Hotel was good, clean, convenient accommodations. The hotel staff, including front desk, concierge and housekeeping, were all VERY courteous and responsive. The hotel is in an older building and is kept in good condition; the lobby is immaculate, hallways are clean although signs of normal wear are visible, the room was clean and fresh although, as I mentioned, older. Notably the bathroom was small. It had been modernized over time but it IS hard to expand a shower stall. The most positive point with this would be gallons of HOT water at GREAT pressure:-) Occasionally I heard the conversations of neighbors but it was not a deal breaker as far as my satisfaction with the stay. Coffee maker and safe included in the room. I do highly recommend the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You're in the heart Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Hawaii! Everything, the world class beach, world class shopping and world class dining are all right outside this comfortable hotel:-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top