$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
View map of 2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
226 reviews
Great location near the beach

Just a short stroll from the beach, great location and budget hotel feel. Perfect for exploring all... See full review

  • Troy N.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Good place to stay

The room is good to stay! And it is really convinient because it is located near to the beach. See full review

  • Jiegeng
  • Aug 11, 2014

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 29, 2007

Short distance to all

I really enjoyed the balcony in our room. I was kind of missing a bathtub in our bathroom. It would be nice if they have a jacuzzi next to the swimming pool. I know it's Hawaii but people would used it after hiking to the Diamond head or shopping the whole day, believe me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The small chinese food stall across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
May 7, 2010

OHANA Waikiki West is a great value

The hotel is great for the price that you get. Location is excellent. Room is a bit small, but not really an issue if you're out all the time. It's perfect for a nice relaxing vacation in Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill is walking distance and a great place. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spidersva
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 19, 2007

Friendly, helpful staff

My daughter and I only stayed one night at this hotel. The room was clean but overlooked a parking lot. We were also on the same floor as the lounge and the pool. The lounge at night was a little loud but once we were in our room, we didn't hear it much. The shower was extremely small. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Aug 9, 2007

questionable rooms

We had chosen this hotel based on air conditioning and safety. We found our bathroom had an open window/vent which opened out onto the stairwell. You could take a shower and have people outside the shower. We also found two men passed out in the hallway when we first arrived which turned out to be actual hotel guests waiting for their roommate to return. But very scary. The hotel management did allow us to switch rooms which turned out to be fine. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Marketplace right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kahului, HI
Aug 19, 2007

Bed was a little uncomfortable

Great location, room was somewhat small, but you get what you pay for. Bed was a little uncomfortable and the pillows were bad. We did like the city skyline from the room and the fresh air from the balcony. Just a bigger bed that was more comfortable and I would have loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many quality places for dining and entertainment within a short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairbanks, AK
Jun 26, 2007

On par for Waikiki

This is a slightly older hotel, in comparison to the newer ones in Waikiki, however the cost is comparable to the newer ones. It is RIGHT in the middle of Waikiki and an easy stroll to any resto, bar or attraction. It's super stroller friendly and there is a ton of staff around to help with questions, directions or suggestions. Overall not bad, but you're paying for the location and not necessarily a fancy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Dec 9, 2010

Wonderful location

Really enjoyed the view through our window and the convenience of the almost central location in Waikiki. Close proximity to the beach, shopping places and street entertainment. We wished that free breakfast would have had a longer period. For business travel 7:45am - to 8:45am breakfast period would have been a very good option. Since we were on business/vacation we slept till about 8am, so we did not get to use our free breafast coupon because of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Great place for a great price!

We were only here for two nights, but it was clean, had a fantastic view of the ocean from the 12th floor, and was well worth what we paid (<$90/night!). The bathroom was a bit small but it didn't really matter. We spent very little time in the room, as we were out and about most of the time. Parking is an additional cost - we had military ID so we only paid $18 (50% off). Another nice touch was their hospitality room, where you can come back to shower and change, if your flight is after your check out time. you can leave your luggage, come back later, use the suite to shower and change before your flight. Great location, 2 blocks from the heart of Waikiki. Tons of shops and restuarants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RSVP Cruiser
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Nov 13, 2010

Bargain in great location!!

Stayed only one night before returning to LAX. I was very happy about the location so close to everything at Waikiki. King bed, little balcony, fast check in. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Great value for such a convenient location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Best of the Best
Business
Downstate IL
Oct 23, 2010

Will stay again

Hotel staff very courteous and helpful. This location was a quick step away from the beach. The view from my lanai was breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top