$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Good place to stay

The room is good to stay! And it is really convinient because it is located near to the beach. See full review

  • Jiegeng
  • Aug 11, 2014

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
France
Jun 20, 2011

Great staff

The room is quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy Laymon
Business
Lihue, HI, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Perfect weekend getaway

The waikiki ohana west is perfectly situated for night life, day time shopping, dinning, and access to just about everything you can get your hands on. The concierge hooked us up with so many great activities and we had a blast. Our room was very comfy and had more then what we needed to enjoy our hotel stay!!!! Mahalo & Aloha Ohana West, Andrea & Justin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redrie
Business
Indiana, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great location.

I stayed here for seven nights in October, which is a busy season I understand. Front desk man was very friendly when I checked in and explained all the amenities to me. The room was clean and cleaned well daily. I had a kitchenette and the staff made sure I had extra coffee and clean towels for the kitchen as well as the bathroom. The location was great-right on The Bus line, Trolley's and other public transportation. Everyone was friendly and not overbearing. I had a wonderful stay and would definately go back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Congierge in lobby was very informational without being pushy. (Except for the Wyndham representative next to the Outrigger Rep). She gave me information on tours or directions without pushing her services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALE 5241
Business
Huntington, NY, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Great Value

Kind staff , comfort rooms, great location for all stores near beach- great outside pool this is my first time at OHANA Waikiki West great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys across the steet - International House of Pancakes and other restaurents walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zazette
Business
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Dec 1, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

We were very pleased with the 15 minute free long distance phone calls, free safe, free daily newspaper, and the free pink shuttle which takes you to the Ala Moana shopping mall. We were pleasantly surprised when at the pool bar on Thanksgiving day we were offered a free full Turkey dinner buffet (optional $5.00 donation for a good charitable cause). The location was excellent, a couple blocks to the beach and around some great restaurants and Starbucks. Two complaints, the noise from the bar on weekends was excessive and the elevators did not level properly. We would stay here again, if the amenities stayed the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Wolfgang's Steakhouse offers half price drinks and half price appetizers between 4:00 and 6:30 at the bar. Inexpensive Korean BBQ across from the Pacific Monarch hotel- offering large plates of food for $10.00- delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunshine girl
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 12, 2012

great family vacation hotel

I really liked the location. The room was quite spacious and the kitchenette was very convenient if I did not want to go out for meals. The pool is very nice to relax and swim. Enjoyed my stay and would come again. This was my second time at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed going to Nashville and not having to walk anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex and Alberto
Business
San Jose, CA
Mar 30, 2012

Good for the price

This hotel was good for the price and location. Located a block away from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the pink trolley that is provided by the hotel. It's for free and stops at all local locations in Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lwang
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

nice hotel, staff need to improve though

the hotel is very convenient, and nice. It is within the center of waikiki area, so it is within walking distance to all major attraction. However, the hotel provide free access to pink trolley, which I tried to use. For 2 times, it never came within 30 minutes interval. During checkout, I complained about it. Surprisingly, the lady at frontdesk seems impatient, and told me " It is free bus, so what you do expect?". Yes, it is free, so I can not complain as it is barely usable? Meanwhile, I see huge space for improvement for hotel stuff how to communicate to customer as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabriel Super husband
Business
Argentina
May 17, 2012

Good choice

Hotel is good. A little old, but it was clean and functional. Location is perfect if you don't plan to rent a car (parking is 20 per day). Buses and trolleys ride right in the hotel street. 2 blocks from beach and from major stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhianna
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jun 1, 2012

honeymoon delight

close to International Market that has fantastic food and shopping. close to beach. Rooms dated, but very comfortable bed and pillows, clean, very friendly staff. Rooms quiet, could not hear through walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market for breakfast special with french toast and coconut syrup. Large servings reasonable at all eateries Duke's for Poke Rolls-heaven

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top