$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
339 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 339
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love Waikiki
vancouver, bc
Apr 21, 2014

central location, easy walk to beach, restaurants, shops

This was my third visit to this hotel, so obviously I'm satisfied with the accommodation. It's nothing fancy but decent value for the price, given the Ohana West's great location. It has a pool overlooking Kuhio street and a bar adjacent to the pool with $3 drinks from 4 to 8 p.m. served by an enthusiastic staff. Unfortunately, there's a major demolition and construction project going on directly across Kuhio Street (the old Miramar Hotel is coming down and the International Market Place has been razed and will be reborn as more high-end shopping buildings) so that promises to be noisy and disruptive for probably the next year and a half. The reception staff at the Ohana West is helpful and friendly, but our housekeeping was uneven this time around. Another convenience , beside the central location, is the Food Pantry, a well-stocked store just across the corner--a bonus if you don't want to eat out for every meal and choose to make use of a kitchenette suite in the hotel. Our kitchenette could definitely have benefited from a new mini-fridge and a few more dishes/glassware in the cabinet. All in all, good value for the money but nothing fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diego Hawaii
South Beach Miami
May 30, 2013

Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to Waikiki I won't see others options,I'll stay there again and again, just an amazing time since I get there until I left. A very professional staff in every department with a real aloha spirit...Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fyli
SF, CA
May 8, 2013

Disappointed

Small tight bathroom and amenities are over-rated. Staff do not know the local area well to make comprehensive recommendations for food. Did not assign me the room I requested initially.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seoul Searcher
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 24, 2013

Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean. The hotel staff was friendly & helpful. I'd definitely go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Terry the Scribe
Vancouver BC, Canada
Dec 3, 2012

Good value family hotel

The central location and amenities offered at the Ohana West are excellent value for money, especially the FREE plug-in Internet in every room. Just a short one-block walk and you are right on Waikiki Beach! Having a kitchenette and being located right next to a food mart enabled big savings in food costs. The Ohana West is clean, comfortable, conveniently located and offers great value for anyone on a limited budget. Guests even have FREE access to a downtown trolley which serves the major local shopping mall. I would definitely recommend the Ohana West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dblanks
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Sep 13, 2012

...Not Bad

I've read several reviews on how bad this place is, but I honestly didn't find it to be that bad. Don't expect a resort-styled hotel, or even a general Marriot for that matter. You definitely get what you pay for, but the value was good. $20/day parking is very unfortunate. I hated that. And, no room service. Also, VERY outdated, old looking rooms. HOWEVER, I wasn't in Hawaii for a top-tier hotel, and if I really wanted one, I would have upped my hotel budget to get something within that realm. I simply wanted a place to sleep, change clothes, and have decent hotel service that I could depend on. This had all of that, and a great location too. It's on Kuhio Street, which is the secondary strip in Waikiki, and just a block down from the main strip. PLENTY of amazing things to see and do. Also, 'Cabanas' was an OK hotel bar, with some nice staff. Not everyone (sorry to say). I really enjoyed Mark (I think that was his name) and Casey. REALLY nice people. They actually improved my time there whenever I went to the hotel bar. Next time I may stay in a 4-5 star hotel or resort...however, if I decide to watch my pennies again, I can think of no better place to do it while still having a great experience than this cool hotel-Ohana Waikiki West!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

DO NOT RENT A CAR!!! It is a money drain to pay the hotel's $20/day parking fee. It doesn't sound like a lot, but when you're there for 2 weeks, that's almost $300.00 that you could spend elsewhere...especially when you don't end up using the vehicle...which I didn't. No car really needed in Oahu.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALE 5241
Huntington, NY, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Great Value

Kind staff , comfort rooms, great location for all stores near beach- great outside pool this is my first time at OHANA Waikiki West great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys across the steet - International House of Pancakes and other restaurents walking distance

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redrie
Indiana, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great location.

I stayed here for seven nights in October, which is a busy season I understand. Front desk man was very friendly when I checked in and explained all the amenities to me. The room was clean and cleaned well daily. I had a kitchenette and the staff made sure I had extra coffee and clean towels for the kitchen as well as the bathroom. The location was great-right on The Bus line, Trolley's and other public transportation. Everyone was friendly and not overbearing. I had a wonderful stay and would definately go back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Congierge in lobby was very informational without being pushy. (Except for the Wyndham representative next to the Outrigger Rep). She gave me information on tours or directions without pushing her services.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lehigh Valley PA
Apr 24, 2011

Ohana Waikiki west

Great location, right in the center of Waikiki, basic facilities but all clean. Good value for its cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lehigh Valley PA
Apr 24, 2011

Ohana Waikiki west

Great location, right in the center of Waikiki, basic facilities but all clean. Good value for its cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top