$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
301 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HHI Dave
Cincinnati
Feb 14, 2014

Reservation was not accepted

Although we had a confirmation code from Cheap Tickets, the hotel said they had no reservation for us. When I talked to the manager, she said the hotel had declined the reservation price from Cheap Tickets. This was not a good experience...we had to drive over 1 hour to get a place to sleep at a comparable price. The hotel may be a very nice place to stay, but since we could not stay there, I can not give it a positive rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 31, 2007

My review of OHANA Waikiki West

Although a decent hotel, one of our last nights while we were sleeping our room was broken into and robbed. I had to cancel all my credit cards, two phones were stolen, and a pair of expensive shoes. Even worse all they did was move us to another room, they did not recompensate us for that night or anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nesse
San Francisco, CA
Apr 1, 2011

Not so good

Very simple, the hotel staff is rude. The ATM in this hotel did not have money all I got was a reciept. I told the staff about it and acted like they did'nt care. This hotel is a very 80's look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AA2112
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2012

I did not like the room!!!

We had bookrd 2 rooms with 3 pepole in each room 5 mo. before we arrived . One room that my mother ,sister and son stayed in was find execpt they tried to charge us an extra person fee when they told us up front that they would not. It cost $20. per day to park our rental car in the garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a condo and a car and drive to North shore .

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DAVE DOGGYY
Portland, OR
Apr 18, 2013

DISGUSTING AND GROSS

There were all sorts of problems with this place. For one there were prstitutes walking outside of the place looking for the next customers and that was awful. Hated it. They charge $25 a day for parking. And there is no breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Veeman
San Francisco, California
Jul 10, 2013

You pay for what you get.

The only thing good about this place is the location. The workers there are rude. Especially the younger female in the front desk. I didn't get her name cause her hair was covering her name tag. The room is old and smells like cigarettes even though we asked for a non smoking room. Pay the extra hundred dollars and go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pete Nak
Spokane wa
Dec 9, 2013

Never Again! Should be one star hotel.

1) mold, mold, mold 2) dirty and broken cabinets/shelves 3) poor AC 4) closet sliding door is broken 5) balcony sliding door is broken 6) angry staff 7) horrible parking 8) very expensive parking 9) dirty lobby 10) elevator problems We looked at another room and it was in much worse condition than ours. If you doubt my review, please feel free and book your stay at Wakiki West Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargain with the local Asian vendors!

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Mar 14, 2008

unfriendly

We were put on a construction floor with no sheets on our bed and when we asked for bottom sheets, we were told that they did not have any available. we were the only ones on this floor and felt like a castaway. I will never stay on this property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jul 1, 2011

Blood on the pillow, not mine...

I like to leave positive messages on these sites about my experience; this is the first negative I've ever left, but I feel I have to let people know how unhealthy this place is. My husband, 17 month old son and I woke up after sleeping in the sub par room (which when you look out the window, looks like you could be in the middle of downtown Cleveland, not Hawaii) and found a nice surprise of two drops of dried blood on the pillow, not the pillow case where I could have seen it the night before, but the pillow itself. The case folded back in the middle of the night and my face laid on some unknown person's blood all night...nope, it wasn't my blood. Disgusted and concerned, we got the heck out of there and went to Park Shore Waikiki, which was right on the ocean and was BEAUTIFUL! Seriously, steer clear of this place...the location is horrible and noisy and most importantly, it's a filthy, dirty, unhealthy mess in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Apr 20, 2011

Horrid Hotel

The hotel does not do anything to separate vacationers and residents. I was continually hearing the 4 am alarm clock of a resident getting up and going to work. This person didn't even turn it off after he was up. The worst trip to Hawaii ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search