$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
340 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (340)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doha Diva
Bakersfield, CA
Jun 15, 2009

Best holiday ever!

The hotel offered us an excellent upgrade deal, which gave us a better room, better view, and a kitchenette which practically paid for the upgrade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a kitchenette and have breakfast on your balcony one or two days.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pleasanton, CA
Jan 14, 2011

A Very Good Hotel

Hotel was very nice. We got exactly what we saw on the pictures. People were very nice and friendly, it's a good location 10 minutes to the beach, a lot of restaurants around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
GUAM
Jun 4, 2011

Great stay

Was in HI for 2 weeks; stayed at the Ohana West. GREAT hotel. Staff was super helpful! Room was exactly what we needed (a place to sleep after all the activities we did). My husband, my 1 1/2 year old daughter, & I got a Kitchenette room...great view! Housekeeping was great too, they came everyday, & cleaned up real well. Something missing to make the stay more enjoyable wouldve been free wifi access in the room..but there was free wired internet though. I had an iphone & wouldve preferred to FB on it while IN my room, & not in the hotel lobby (free wifi in the lobby only). This was our 1st stay here & it was great overall. To us, it was centrally located in Waikiki, without the big ticket price. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, & would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
GUAM
Jun 4, 2011

Great stay

Was in HI for 2 weeks; stayed at the Ohana West. GREAT hotel. Staff was super helpful! Room was exactly what we needed (a place to sleep after all the activities we did). My husband, my 1 1/2 year old daughter, & I got a Kitchenette room...great view! Housekeeping was great too, they came everyday, & cleaned up real well. Something missing to make the stay more enjoyable wouldve been free wifi access in the room..but there was free wired internet though. I had an iphone & wouldve preferred to FB on it while IN my room, & not in the hotel lobby (free wifi in the lobby only). This was our 1st stay here & it was great overall. To us, it was centrally located in Waikiki, without the big ticket price. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, & would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ojieddie
San Francisco Ca
Dec 27, 2010

Great Location For The Price

went Swimming Everyday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redwood City, CA
Mar 24, 2009

Unbeatable Location for the Price

This stay was our 4th or 5th (can't remember) at WW and enjoyed it very much. The staff is wonderful, expecially the bell people. I am handicapped w/wheelchair and they did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Our ADA room wasn't in the best of locations, but the only one available at the time. You are so close to The Bus, The Pantry, zoo, aquarium, International Market Place, beach, etc., that this hotel can't be beat. If I were to have any complaints, it would be that WW no longer has a smoking floor, which makes it very difficult if you are smokers & most uncomfortable if it happens to be raining, which it was for the 1st week of our visit. However, I encourage anyone, who isn't concerned about having all the bells and whistles of the luxury hotels, to try the Waikiki West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within 1/2 mile of the zoo and aquarium, both of which you can see in one day. Both are excellent with animals and fish you ordinarily would not see at home - most enjoyable.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winnipeg 5
Winnipeg, Canada
Sep 10, 2012

Excellent location for family getaway

The hotel location couldn't get any better. We were close to the beach, many restaurants, across from International Marketplace and the food pantry was just next door. In the future we will be staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doha Diva
Bakersfield, CA
Jun 15, 2009

Best holiday ever!

The hotel offered us an excellent upgrade deal, which gave us a better room, better view, and a kitchenette which practically paid for the upgrade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a kitchenette and have breakfast on your balcony one or two days.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winnipeg 5
Winnipeg, Canada
Sep 10, 2012

Excellent location

It was a nice surprise when my family and I found out we were so close to everything. We were right across from the International Marketplace, close to many restaurants, within walking distance to the beach and next door to the food pantry. We loved our location and would definitely be staying at this hotel again in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2008

The OHANA Waikiki West ...

The OHANA Waikiki West Hotel was good, clean, convenient accommodations. The hotel staff, including front desk, concierge and housekeeping, were all VERY courteous and responsive. The hotel is in an older building and is kept in good condition; the lobby is immaculate, hallways are clean although signs of normal wear are visible, the room was clean and fresh although, as I mentioned, older. Notably the bathroom was small. It had been modernized over time but it IS hard to expand a shower stall. The most positive point with this would be gallons of HOT water at GREAT pressure:-) Occasionally I heard the conversations of neighbors but it was not a deal breaker as far as my satisfaction with the stay. Coffee maker and safe included in the room. I do highly recommend the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You're in the heart Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Hawaii! Everything, the world class beach, world class shopping and world class dining are all right outside this comfortable hotel:-)

Back to menu Return to top