$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Good place to stay

The room is good to stay! And it is really convinient because it is located near to the beach. See full review

  • Jiegeng
  • Aug 11, 2014
Perfect location

The area this hotel is in is perfect in Waikiki. The staff was exceptional, so kind and very... See full review

  • Jo Hawaii
  • Jun 21, 2014
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki. - The OHANA Waikiki West is a 663-room hotel located just behind the International MarketPlace on Kuhio Avenue. Here you'll find OHANA's special brand of island hospitality.

This popular hotel offers a slew of services, including a pool overlooking the street, a sundeck and coin-operated laundry. Add a little spice to your meals at Chili's Grill & Bar, then kick up your heals with some terrific country-western music at Nashville Waikiki. There's a Pharmacy on property, and just across the street is a 24-hour market for groceries and snacks. At the OHANA Waikiki West, you'll be steps from the thousands of items on sales at the International Market Place. Waikiki Beach is just two blocks away. Book a sightseeing tour at the hotel's Activities Desk or hop on the city's award-winning bus line on Kuhio Avenue for a fun way to explore the island.

Guests staying at OHANA Waikiki West can take advantage of the Ohana Waikiki Connection, which includes Complimentary Internet Access, Complimentary local and long distance phone calls to US and Canada, Complimentary in-room coffee and daily local newspaper, and complimentary rides on the Waikiki Trolley's Pink Line throughout Waikiki.

This is a non-smoking property. Parking is $25 per day.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SmallDesire
Business
MCBH, HI
Aug 8, 2011

Fair

We stayed here Oct 2010 for three nights four days. We had a decent view. Room was very very spacious. The only thing I didn't like was the bath tub. It would clog up and when taking a shower the water wouldn't go down. Over all I loved it here. House keeping was great. Lots of stores close by and chili's was right under us. Parking is a pain in the butt though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaiifornia
Business
Tracy, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Hotel Hell

Very uncomfortable and unsatisfactory hotel stay. The room was extremely small, the elevators moved very slow, and the hotel parking we paid for was always full so we had to park in another buildings' garage which was three blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can buy the same stuff at cheaper prices, outside of Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 31, 2011

First time in HI!

We were in our room only to sleep and eat, since we got the kitchennette room, which was helpful to save some money. Sometimes they forgot to replace our cofee and sugar packets and I did find one big bed bug crawling on the bed spread that I killed, cause my lil daughter was freaking out. =)I also, didn't like thier shampoo/conditioner, it was not leathering and only tangled my hair. I ended up using my own shampoo and suggest u do the same! Otherwise, location was great and we walked to couple of beaches and the Honolulu Zoo, everything is very close, I liked riding the trolley. Most fun we had was swimming in the blue clear warm ocean and we were really sad to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I strongly suggest to try some local seafood, it's very tasty! Try the restoraunt on the beach at Outrigger hotel (I think that was the name of it, but it's the same hotel family)but it's spendy, so if you're on budget I wouldn't recommend dining out every day. =)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guam
Jul 24, 2011

Nice for a short stay

The location good, it is close to the shops and not too far from the beach. The room was small but not bad for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haverhill, MA
Jul 12, 2011

Enjoy waiting

Pros: within walking distance of most things in Waikiki, free pink line trolley service around Waikiki Cons: the elevators are horrible, you will most likely wait over 5 to 7 minutes to get on one, and they are always overcrowded because of how long it takes you to get one. On top of that you must remember to use your room card to work the elevator which can be a pain. Being harassed by the activities desk(right next to the elevator)...don't listen to their offers they are way overpriced, do some research on activities before you get to Hawaii. Outdated rooms, mine had paint chipping and wallpaper coming up. No free wi-fi except in the lobby. The lobby also has two computers you can use however it cost big bucks to use or to print anything...so bring your own mobile device and use it in the lobby, the hotel is a rip off. No access to a microwave unless you get a kitchenette, so don't bring any leftovers back that you want heated up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your homework before you go. Look at trips and Activities you want to do before you get there; especially if you are planning on visiting another island. If you book going to another island your self instead of through one of the many tour offers you can save up to half price. Also Hawaii has great public transportation, do not be afraid to take the bus, it goes everywhere you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 5, 2011

Nice Budget Accommodations

Stayed for 9 nights in June - July 2011. Nice accommodations, lovely staff, cleanliness was pretty good if a bit of a run-down place in general. The proximity to the beach and downtown Waikiki was excellent. Very sweet staff - so helpful when we had a night flight after checking out at noon, we were able to use the "hospitality room" to shower off and change before going to the airport. Highly recommended for a small family, friends, or a couple on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The only country honky-tonk bar in Honolulu is in the basement... great happy hour drink deals and ladies' night Thursdays. I don't particularly like country music, but for happy hour, it's fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAO PAULO
Jul 1, 2011

VERY GOOD LOCATION

NONE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 1, 2011

Blood on the pillow, not mine...

I like to leave positive messages on these sites about my experience; this is the first negative I've ever left, but I feel I have to let people know how unhealthy this place is. My husband, 17 month old son and I woke up after sleeping in the sub par room (which when you look out the window, looks like you could be in the middle of downtown Cleveland, not Hawaii) and found a nice surprise of two drops of dried blood on the pillow, not the pillow case where I could have seen it the night before, but the pillow itself. The case folded back in the middle of the night and my face laid on some unknown person's blood all night...nope, it wasn't my blood. Disgusted and concerned, we got the heck out of there and went to Park Shore Waikiki, which was right on the ocean and was BEAUTIFUL! Seriously, steer clear of this place...the location is horrible and noisy and most importantly, it's a filthy, dirty, unhealthy mess in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
France
Jun 20, 2011

Great staff

The room is quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albany, ca
Jun 20, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

close to waikiki beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top