$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
338 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (338)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Haverhill, MA
Jul 12, 2011

Enjoy waiting

Pros: within walking distance of most things in Waikiki, free pink line trolley service around Waikiki Cons: the elevators are horrible, you will most likely wait over 5 to 7 minutes to get on one, and they are always overcrowded because of how long it takes you to get one. On top of that you must remember to use your room card to work the elevator which can be a pain. Being harassed by the activities desk(right next to the elevator)...don't listen to their offers they are way overpriced, do some research on activities before you get to Hawaii. Outdated rooms, mine had paint chipping and wallpaper coming up. No free wi-fi except in the lobby. The lobby also has two computers you can use however it cost big bucks to use or to print anything...so bring your own mobile device and use it in the lobby, the hotel is a rip off. No access to a microwave unless you get a kitchenette, so don't bring any leftovers back that you want heated up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your homework before you go. Look at trips and Activities you want to do before you get there; especially if you are planning on visiting another island. If you book going to another island your self instead of through one of the many tour offers you can save up to half price. Also Hawaii has great public transportation, do not be afraid to take the bus, it goes everywhere you want to go.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Haverhill, MA
Jul 12, 2011

Enjoy waiting

Pros: within walking distance of most things in Waikiki, free pink line trolley service around Waikiki Cons: the elevators are horrible, you will most likely wait over 5 to 7 minutes to get on one, and they are always overcrowded because of how long it takes you to get one. On top of that you must remember to use your room card to work the elevator which can be a pain. Being harassed by the activities desk(right next to the elevator)...don't listen to their offers they are way overpriced, do some research on activities before you get to Hawaii. Outdated rooms, mine had paint chipping and wallpaper coming up. No free wi-fi except in the lobby. The lobby also has two computers you can use however it cost big bucks to use or to print anything...so bring your own mobile device and use it in the lobby, the hotel is a rip off. No access to a microwave unless you get a kitchenette, so don't bring any leftovers back that you want heated up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your homework before you go. Look at trips and Activities you want to do before you get there; especially if you are planning on visiting another island. If you book going to another island your self instead of through one of the many tour offers you can save up to half price. Also Hawaii has great public transportation, do not be afraid to take the bus, it goes everywhere you want to go.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 5, 2011

Nice Budget Accommodations

Stayed for 9 nights in June - July 2011. Nice accommodations, lovely staff, cleanliness was pretty good if a bit of a run-down place in general. The proximity to the beach and downtown Waikiki was excellent. Very sweet staff - so helpful when we had a night flight after checking out at noon, we were able to use the "hospitality room" to shower off and change before going to the airport. Highly recommended for a small family, friends, or a couple on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The only country honky-tonk bar in Honolulu is in the basement... great happy hour drink deals and ladies' night Thursdays. I don't particularly like country music, but for happy hour, it's fun.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 5, 2011

Nice Budget Accommodations

Stayed for 9 nights in June - July 2011. Nice accommodations, lovely staff, cleanliness was pretty good if a bit of a run-down place in general. The proximity to the beach and downtown Waikiki was excellent. Very sweet staff - so helpful when we had a night flight after checking out at noon, we were able to use the "hospitality room" to shower off and change before going to the airport. Highly recommended for a small family, friends, or a couple on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The only country honky-tonk bar in Honolulu is in the basement... great happy hour drink deals and ladies' night Thursdays. I don't particularly like country music, but for happy hour, it's fun.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jul 1, 2011

Blood on the pillow, not mine...

I like to leave positive messages on these sites about my experience; this is the first negative I've ever left, but I feel I have to let people know how unhealthy this place is. My husband, 17 month old son and I woke up after sleeping in the sub par room (which when you look out the window, looks like you could be in the middle of downtown Cleveland, not Hawaii) and found a nice surprise of two drops of dried blood on the pillow, not the pillow case where I could have seen it the night before, but the pillow itself. The case folded back in the middle of the night and my face laid on some unknown person's blood all night...nope, it wasn't my blood. Disgusted and concerned, we got the heck out of there and went to Park Shore Waikiki, which was right on the ocean and was BEAUTIFUL! Seriously, steer clear of this place...the location is horrible and noisy and most importantly, it's a filthy, dirty, unhealthy mess in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
SAO PAULO
Jul 1, 2011

VERY GOOD LOCATION

NONE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jul 1, 2011

Blood on the pillow, not mine...

I like to leave positive messages on these sites about my experience; this is the first negative I've ever left, but I feel I have to let people know how unhealthy this place is. My husband, 17 month old son and I woke up after sleeping in the sub par room (which when you look out the window, looks like you could be in the middle of downtown Cleveland, not Hawaii) and found a nice surprise of two drops of dried blood on the pillow, not the pillow case where I could have seen it the night before, but the pillow itself. The case folded back in the middle of the night and my face laid on some unknown person's blood all night...nope, it wasn't my blood. Disgusted and concerned, we got the heck out of there and went to Park Shore Waikiki, which was right on the ocean and was BEAUTIFUL! Seriously, steer clear of this place...the location is horrible and noisy and most importantly, it's a filthy, dirty, unhealthy mess in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
France
Jun 20, 2011

Great staff

The room is quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
albany, ca
Jun 20, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

close to waikiki beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hansenbrood
Mission Viejo, Ca.
Jun 10, 2011

Nice for the price

My boys were meeting there brother who was returning from deployment on the USS Carl Vinson. They reported that the room was very clean and the beds plenty big enough for them to share. It was a great location to surrounding night life and restaurants. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful in figuring out local transportation. They said the bathroom was very small (but they're not picky) and the pool was a bit of a joke. It was great for a family of young adults and a teenager. So if its a quick turnaround trip, this place was good. for longer stays, my wife and I prefer the North Shore which is much more laid back. You can usually find good deals at Kuilima Estates at Turtle Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top