$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
View map of 2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
226 reviews
Great location near the beach

Just a short stroll from the beach, great location and budget hotel feel. Perfect for exploring all... See full review

  • Troy N.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Good place to stay

The room is good to stay! And it is really convinient because it is located near to the beach. See full review

  • Jiegeng
  • Aug 11, 2014

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rapid City, SD.
Mar 2, 2010

Great Place

Great Location, Nice friendly workers, very well policed, great auto garage, close to everything that you need, close to beach. Centrally located. Not the Hilton but you are not paying the Hilton prices. International Market is across the street. Grocery store next door and lots of eating places real close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Surf Addict
Business
Eagles Mere, PA
May 1, 2009

Excellent Stay

I was given a room on the 17th floor facing makai with Diamondhead visible to the east. The view of the ocean was excellent and the upper floor room diminished the sounds of the street below. The room was very clean with new carpeting and linens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Marketplace has had a significiant facelift with many good clean places to find delicious pacific fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Perfect!

It was great. We had a room right on the busy street and we didn't hear a thing all night. It was within walking distance to all eating locations and we were 2 blocks from the beach. The International Marketplace was right across the street which was perfect. The rooms were big and the restrooms small, but since we had so much to do we only took quick showers so it didn't matter!The pool was amazing... You just had to get up really early to get a lounge chair by the pool. Which didn't really matter since the beach was right down the street. The hotel even set us up with a ride to the airport and a rental car. The room rates were OUTSTANDING! I will be staying there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R.J's Mom
Business
Tracy, CA
Apr 8, 2011

Ohana Waikiki West

Only 2 blocks from the beach, next to international market. Lots to do. The best part is you have access to trolleys that go around Waikiki! Having the kitchenette was soooo worth it! Grocery store right next door. The only thing is the on site parking cost $20 per day and it is first come first serve so if there is no parking you have to park a block down. All in all I will return to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you plan to go to Waikiki beach take the trolley or walk, don't drive its too hard to find parking. If you go to Ala monana shopping center take the trolley. The trolley is a fun way to get around, and it is less time consuming!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Jul 2, 2010

troublefree stay

clean, quiet, friendly and helpful staff...couldnt ask for anything more for the price. will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Navy Officer on Leave
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 14, 2011

Great Experience - Would stay again

The hotel was extremely accomodating and had a very friendly and helpful staff. The room through Orbitz was small but sufficient, but I upgraded for $20/night and got a higher floor (a MUST if you want any degree of quiet), bigger layout and king sized bed. Free courtesy room for 30 mins on the last day was GREAT to let us spend the day at the beach and grab a quick shower before our night flight. Pool area was very nice with bar right there. 5-10 minute walk to the beach depending on how long you take to get through the International Market (across the street). Great location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Top of Waikiki is a rotating restaurant with amazing food about a 7-10 minute walk from the hotel. A MUST for couples. Great food and amazing views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hondafw
Business
Federal Way, WA
May 19, 2011

Ohana Waikiki West

Attended the University of Hawaii graduation. Parking was a bit of a challenge at Ohana Waikiki West due to very small stalls and limited number of handicapped slots. A handicapped van would not work in that parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pink line trolley was a great way to get around Waikiki and out to the Ala Moana shopping center. And Ohana guests are free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lehigh Valley PA
Apr 24, 2011

Ohana Waikiki west

Great location, right in the center of Waikiki, basic facilities but all clean. Good value for its cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waikiki beach lover
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 31, 2009

3rd time's a charm

This was my wife's and I third trip to Waikiki. First time was in 03 at a very nice Outrigger hotel (since turned into a timeshare/condo thingy), second time in 08 at a cheap but conincidentally a hotel on the same block which was behind the Ohana, and this year 09 we stayed here. Location is excellent as it's right behind the International Market and about 2 blocks from the beach. Actually, more like 1 block but you have walk on 2 sides of the same block and you end up right on the beach. The rooms themselves were clean and room service was done daily. Every room has a lanai (balcony with chairs) so you can enjoy the cool evenings. The beds were getting pretty worn but we were able to sleep. This shouldn't be a problem if you do activities during the day and are tired but if you're going to relax all day in the room then there are better places to do that. Ammenities were good, we had FREE in room safe, high speed internet, fitness center, unlimited beach towels, AND free pass on the Ala Moana trolly. The trolly takes you to the mall but also stops at several other hotels so you could ride around waikiki for free. The mall is also right across from the Ala Moana beach park (great for picnics, has almost no waves, free parking) and is just a couple blocks away from the marina (where most of the water sports like parasailing, jet skiing, fishing trips are booked and departed). The bad thing about this hotel is also its location. It is on the very busy street Kuhio. We had a room on the 5th flr facing the Kuhio and Ohua intersection. This hotel also has an open air bar on the 2nd flr but it is on the eastside at the Wailea intersection. That wasnt the problem. Right across the street on the backend of the International market was a new club that opened up. All you could hear till 2am was the pounding bass of whatever song they were playing. I like bass but not late at night. We got used to it and fortunately we were tired from our activities so it wasnt much of a problem. I would request an upper level floor if you needed quiet. They have 17 so its not a problem way up there. The other problem is not with the hotel but again, the location. The backend of the International Market is a hangout spot for a younger crowd. We stayed 7 nights and on 2 seperate occasions there were fights. Not to mention all the "ladies of the night" walking back and forth. Again, all of that is not a big problem if you are back in your room by 10p as most shops close that time anyway. The ABC stores are of course always open. The biggest benefits of this hotel is the value in price, ammenities and location, but in the same sense, the location can be noisy at times. They also have the Ohana East that's 1/2 a block away which is closer to the beach, at an even busier intersection in terms of cars and foot traffic but its very quiet at night. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and the hotel and staff made up for any street annoyances. There are plenty of nice 5 star hotels for 3x the price but there are even more poorly rated hotels for the SAME price as staying here. This place is the best in this price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't book your activities online. There are a few good, cheap tour and activities companies in waikiki. The same tours and activities, just cheaper. I recommend Hawaii Tour & Travel. They have people handing out their peach/pink flyers all over waikiki. They are also in many of the discount books. Speaking of which, get all of them as they have many good coupons on transportation and dining. Also, don't buy your souveniers at the International Market, go to the flea market on Wednesdays and Saturdays at the Aloha stadium. All the same stuff just cheaper and you can haggle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric Waikiki Veteran
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 18, 2010

Great place near all Waikiki hot spots!

Visited friends and walked to the beach and other tourist attractions. Very convenient. Shuttle service was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top