OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
340 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (340)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairbanks, AK
Jun 26, 2007

On par for Waikiki

This is a slightly older hotel, in comparison to the newer ones in Waikiki, however the cost is comparable to the newer ones. It is RIGHT in the middle of Waikiki and an easy stroll to any resto, bar or attraction. It's super stroller friendly and there is a ton of staff around to help with questions, directions or suggestions. Overall not bad, but you're paying for the location and not necessarily a fancy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Hawaii
El Cerrito CA
Jun 21, 2014

Perfect location

The area this hotel is in is perfect in Waikiki. The staff was exceptional, so kind and very helpful. Our stay was great. The electrical outlets were a problem, things kept falling out. and the TV kind of was on the fritz, but since we didn't watch it much it wasn't a problem. Sara at the Activities Desk was SO helpful! She helped make our stay wonderful! She helped us get great tours at great prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
vancouver, wa
Mar 11, 2011

Great!

It was good except that the maid service comes too late in the day....around 1pm! they should come around 10am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very very very expensive stores!!!!

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kahului, HI
Aug 19, 2007

Bed was a little uncomfortable

Great location, room was somewhat small, but you get what you pay for. Bed was a little uncomfortable and the pillows were bad. We did like the city skyline from the room and the fresh air from the balcony. Just a bigger bed that was more comfortable and I would have loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many quality places for dining and entertainment within a short walking distance.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SmallDesire
MCBH, HI
Aug 8, 2011

Fair

We stayed here Oct 2010 for three nights four days. We had a decent view. Room was very very spacious. The only thing I didn't like was the bath tub. It would clog up and when taking a shower the water wouldn't go down. Over all I loved it here. House keeping was great. Lots of stores close by and chili's was right under us. Parking is a pain in the butt though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
France
Jun 20, 2011

Great staff

The room is quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
In the seas of Hawaii
Oct 14, 2010

My Stay

I went to walk around. The area was nice, the location is very good because there was a lot to do outside. The room was clean, But I wish they put me to a higher room. They gave me a double bed for just me, it was weird. The front desk that checked me in was professional but not much on the friendly side. But the housekeepers are excellent! They are all friendly, cheerful and very helpful. I love them. It was good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like shopping, you will really like this place. It's close to a lot of shopping centers, mall and even marketplace!

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monmouth Beach, NJ
Apr 24, 2009

Ohana Waikiki East

The hotel was enjoyable. What was very upsetting was booking my stay at the Ohana Waikiki West in February only to be informed by Orbitz 4 days before my trip in April that they suddenly realized they had overbooked the hotel. So they had to cancel my reservation and I ended up at the Ohana Waiki East. I don't think I'll be using Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maz fan
Longmont, Colorado
Oct 12, 2013

memories

We wanted to go back to Oahu for the 4th time and to touch memories from our honeymoon 17 years ago and the other times in between. Ohana west wasn't fancy but the location across from the International Market place and a block and a half from the beach and on the corner for most bus transportation can't be beat, plus a pool and bar and across the street from the pantry market made it perfect. The bed was comfortable, staff was very nice and ask for Charlie at the bar! Great bang for the buck! Kid friendly but not annoying to those of us without kids. Take a room on the first three floors though because the elevators were slow and constantly busy. Kitchenette was just right. Mahalo and aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

explore and avoid the price gougers! try Fatty's or the seaside restaurant or the steak plate at the pantry if you have run out of places at the international market place.These places had good food for a decent price!

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GO Canucks!!!
Vancouver Canada
Apr 22, 2009

Great Location!!! Free Trolley Rides!!!

Awesome location with tons of restaurants, fast food, and grocery nearby. Trolley stop is right infront of hotel and it's Free!!! Free long-distance US&Canada calling,free internet...Great service from staff!!! I read some previous review from others abt problem with elevator...i had no problems watsoever...they probably fixed it already. We have 2 adjoining rooms with kitchenette and only complaint is the showers in both rooms didn't have enough water coming out..no water pressure. Tip- If you want kitchenette, don't upgrade online..book standard room and call them up to upgrade...$10 additional per nite Didn't really need the kitchenette but extra sink, dining table and bigger fridge was worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top