$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Good place to stay

The room is good to stay! And it is really convinient because it is located near to the beach. See full review

  • Jiegeng
  • Aug 11, 2014
Perfect location

The area this hotel is in is perfect in Waikiki. The staff was exceptional, so kind and very... See full review

  • Jo Hawaii
  • Jun 21, 2014
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki. - The OHANA Waikiki West is a 663-room hotel located just behind the International MarketPlace on Kuhio Avenue. Here you'll find OHANA's special brand of island hospitality.

This popular hotel offers a slew of services, including a pool overlooking the street, a sundeck and coin-operated laundry. Add a little spice to your meals at Chili's Grill & Bar, then kick up your heals with some terrific country-western music at Nashville Waikiki. There's a Pharmacy on property, and just across the street is a 24-hour market for groceries and snacks. At the OHANA Waikiki West, you'll be steps from the thousands of items on sales at the International Market Place. Waikiki Beach is just two blocks away. Book a sightseeing tour at the hotel's Activities Desk or hop on the city's award-winning bus line on Kuhio Avenue for a fun way to explore the island.

Guests staying at OHANA Waikiki West can take advantage of the Ohana Waikiki Connection, which includes Complimentary Internet Access, Complimentary local and long distance phone calls to US and Canada, Complimentary in-room coffee and daily local newspaper, and complimentary rides on the Waikiki Trolley's Pink Line throughout Waikiki.

This is a non-smoking property. Parking is $25 per day.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AshleyN
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Aug 5, 2012

horrible stay!

I have always stayed here, and I even lived in this hotel while I was in college and I've always loved it. however, this trip will be the last time I stay there. I booked my trip 6 months ago and at check-in, I asked if my room had 1 bed as requested and they said I had 2 and couldn't change because I was in a standard room, although the option is given. then we get to our room, and our "balcony" is less than a foot in length. there was no balcony. I could barely step on it, and I was furious. then throught the week, a security guard from the hotel continued yelling at my 17 month old son because he was squealing outside or at the pool, so I finally had to say something to her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

straight walk across international marketplace to Dukes restaurant!! get the hula pie.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigislandgirl
Business
Kailua-Kona, HI
Jun 6, 2012

Great deal.

Staff was friendly. Clean room. Location is convenient and safe. The only downfall is that parking is tight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to the beach or zoo. Short walk to shops and free trolley to ala moana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhianna
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jun 1, 2012

honeymoon delight

close to International Market that has fantastic food and shopping. close to beach. Rooms dated, but very comfortable bed and pillows, clean, very friendly staff. Rooms quiet, could not hear through walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market for breakfast special with french toast and coconut syrup. Large servings reasonable at all eateries Duke's for Poke Rolls-heaven

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabriel Super husband
Business
Argentina
May 17, 2012

Good choice

Hotel is good. A little old, but it was clean and functional. Location is perfect if you don't plan to rent a car (parking is 20 per day). Buses and trolleys ride right in the hotel street. 2 blocks from beach and from major stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Auntie Ree
Business
Tucson, Arizona
May 13, 2012

Keep looking...don't stay here!

My sister and I just returned from our trip to Waikiki. From the time we stepped into the lobby of the Ohana West - we knew we may be in trouble .A few pros and cons - Hotel is in a great location, but the entire hotel needs a facelift and redo. Most of the employees are friendly and helpful, some were clearly not interested in assisting yet another tourist...they might want to rethink their career choice!) Rooms are run down, beds (they are getting new ones soon I was told) are very firm and uncomfortable, sliding glass door would not lock (totally unsafe) and keep in mind that they have a bar - Nashville Waikiki directly below your room if you are in a room facing Kuhio St. beginning at approximately 11:00 PM it gets extremely loud - forget about trying to sleep around 4:00 AM when the bar closes. In a nutshell, we walked around the whole Waikiki area and found several hotels (try the AQUA boutique hotels) that are tucked away on the side streets and would be a much better place to enjoy your holiday. I wish we would have read more of the reviews before we booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market directly across the street - lots of good interesting things and the vendors are willing to negotiate prices with you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
suzRN
Business
Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania
May 4, 2012

great vacation

We had a great time. Never had a problem with the staff. We were there for 2 weeks and only had the housekeeper come in a few times but if they saw us they always offered to refill supplies like coffee, tea, soap and shampoo. We were on the 12th floor so we didn't hear as much of the road noise but I would imagine it could be quite loud on the lower floors (the price you pay for having less road noise on the lower floors was longer elevator rides). FYI the tv has a video game controller that doesn't have a lock out so if you child is playing with it there is a fee charged to the room. Had I not looked when I did, my son would have skipped right past the screen the says there is a fee. I called down to the front desk and they removed the charge right away. Hawaii is a beautiful place and well worth the expense of the trip to experience paradise! We can cross that off our "bucket list"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
big wave dave
Business
Alaska, USA
Apr 25, 2012

inexpensive for on the go fam

this is a perfect location for a family to be a part of the waikiki scene, close to all the shops and restraunts, hotel is clean and accommodating, a little older but still a decent hotel, no hot tub and not too much for young children to play in the pool, but the revamped pool bar is alot better than 5 -8 years ago.more modern and comfortable. this is a perfect hotel for your family if you dont need to stay at the hotel all day.. enough to shower sleep eat and relax after a hot day at the beach or touring the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

abc store every where and a food land accross the strret easy for stocking the kitchenette in your room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lwang
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

nice hotel, staff need to improve though

the hotel is very convenient, and nice. It is within the center of waikiki area, so it is within walking distance to all major attraction. However, the hotel provide free access to pink trolley, which I tried to use. For 2 times, it never came within 30 minutes interval. During checkout, I complained about it. Surprisingly, the lady at frontdesk seems impatient, and told me " It is free bus, so what you do expect?". Yes, it is free, so I can not complain as it is barely usable? Meanwhile, I see huge space for improvement for hotel stuff how to communicate to customer as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dani velloso
Business
Oceanside, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Great family vacation

Great hotel great location all amenities!!!We loved the hotek n having a stove in rhe room was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Best grocery store n goid food really cheap!!!Right on the corner of hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mauinative
Business
Wailuku, HI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

get what you pay for

We stayed here for easter weekend and it was alright. We were here for business so the looks and room weren't that important so we decided to save a few bucks and book here. The rooms are cozy but the beds are very springy. The staff are nice but the other tourists are jerks. The parking cost $20 a night or $10 if you are kamaaina. Theres a sign that says if the parking is full at this particular hotel that you would have to park at one of their other hotels which are a few blocks away. Luckily though parking was always available when we needed it, even at 2 in the morning. This hotel was alright. Nothing special. No frills. No thrills. Just a bed and a shower while I was in town since we were hardly in the room anyways. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR..........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is right downstairs and you are basically in the center of waikiki. Food, shopping, bars, and excitement are only blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top