$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Good place to stay

The room is good to stay! And it is really convinient because it is located near to the beach. See full review

  • Jiegeng
  • Aug 11, 2014
Perfect location

The area this hotel is in is perfect in Waikiki. The staff was exceptional, so kind and very... See full review

  • Jo Hawaii
  • Jun 21, 2014

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kozy
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Sep 3, 2012

Good location!

Just a corner away from Wikiki Beach. Across the street in front of the hotel, we found a market place where hundreds of souvenir shops and a food court can be found:-) And at the side of the hotel, there is a supermarket where we used to buy some foods to cook in the room. In the room, there are a microwave, some plates, silvers, a pot, a pan, a refregirator, and two stoves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pennyh
Business
new york, ny
Feb 8, 2013

good choice

location is good, no breakfast. but it has simple kichen in the room, you can cook by yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Mouselips
Business
Big Island, Hawaii
Feb 9, 2013

Good Hotel

Our 4-night stay was enjoyable. I brought my own wireless router so the lack of WiFi in the room was not an issue. Location was convenient and the price was reasonable for the area. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melinda1967
Business
Illinois
Feb 26, 2013

Ohana West Waikiki

Really enjoyed our stay. The room had a nice kitchenette which allowed us savings of cooking some meals in our room. Our room was on the 9th floor corner, inner balcony to a quiet courtyard vs. the busy street. The hotel has a Chilli's restaurant as well as a sandwich bar poolside & bar. Great location of hotel, only 3 blocks from Waikiki Beach, Food Pantry grocery store across the street, easy area to catch tours etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Chilli's was great! We ate there 3 times, service was outstanding, food was wonderful & good value for the $.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhoDey2323
Business
Anaheim, California
Apr 10, 2013

Better than expected

For the price, Ohana West was better than expected. The room was clean and quiet, and very central to everything. The bathroom wasn't the nicest, but worked for our stay. We had a parking lot facing room, which was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, and there was a fridge in the room which was a huge plus. It's very central (right across from the International Market) so you can walk anywhere which makes it not necessary to have a car if you're just spending time in Waikiki. 3 blocks from the beach as well. We were very happy with Ohana West for the money we paid. As long as you go in with the expectation that it's not the fanciest hotel, it'll definitely work for those on a budget looking for a quiet place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaside Bar & Grill is just a few blocks away and had great breakfast. Very fast and cheap, but good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UmDoreen
Business
Roselle, NJ
May 17, 2013

Great place to be and visit -

My mom who is a senior in her 70's and I enjoyed our stay at the Ohana Waikiki West Hotel. Situated within walking distance from shopping, beach and even a church. Family friendly atmosphere...great people to share space with. The amenities were great and hotel is located directly across the street from a grocery store which stocked everything we needed for our refrigerator, microwave and stove amenities. The beds were great to sleep on and the hygiene was good. Flat screen TV with enough programs to keep you viewing (if you were not hanging by the cabana pool located in the hotel. Small, but equipped fitness room - I enjoyed the intimacy of the room. just enough space for a few interested guest to get their workouts in. The staff treated us like we were in a five star hotel - I've been in some like the Omni S...and their staff's attitudes were not as congenial as the one's here. I especially liked that they offered us storage for our luggage while we waited the hours before our taxi ride to the airport. Plus we got a full room to shower and change.. - at no extra charge - FANTASTIC. ....that topped it off. Great place. I plan to book there again. Doreen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to a kitchenette and purchase your groceries from directly across the street from the hotel. That saves you dining money and thus more for shopping and enjoyment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davetap
Business
Okc, ok
May 31, 2013

Good inexpensive hotel

It was well worth the price. It was an easy walk to the beach with lots of food places and shops very near by. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hugo Munster
Business
Big Island
Sep 16, 2013

Nice Place

Well I couldn't say a lot of about the hotel due to I was there just one night, however it was a good experience and the peoplethere y so friendly and ready to solve some issue...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maz fan
Business
Longmont, Colorado
Oct 12, 2013

memories

We wanted to go back to Oahu for the 4th time and to touch memories from our honeymoon 17 years ago and the other times in between. Ohana west wasn't fancy but the location across from the International Market place and a block and a half from the beach and on the corner for most bus transportation can't be beat, plus a pool and bar and across the street from the pantry market made it perfect. The bed was comfortable, staff was very nice and ask for Charlie at the bar! Great bang for the buck! Kid friendly but not annoying to those of us without kids. Take a room on the first three floors though because the elevators were slow and constantly busy. Kitchenette was just right. Mahalo and aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

explore and avoid the price gougers! try Fatty's or the seaside restaurant or the steak plate at the pantry if you have run out of places at the international market place.These places had good food for a decent price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty Mom
Business
stockton, ca
Jan 24, 2014

Enjoyable Place, Good Location & Great Price

We enjoyed our stay with Ohana West. We were on 17th floor ... nice view even it was the back of hotel. Room is very cozy for two anniversary celebrants .... clean room, clean sheets & towels everyday, in room safe, in room iron & board, coffeemaker, fridge, flat tv w/ variety channels, clean cozy bathroom. AC was great. Nice balcony with 2 chairs and a table ... nice to sit in the morning .. have coffee and McDonald breakfast ( eggs, Spam and rice & my hubby had Sausage Mcmuffin ) only 1 1/2 blocks from hotel. So close to a lot of eateries, shopping, bus stops. Also a free Trolley ride to Ala Moana Mall. Walking distance to Waikiki. Enjoyed strolling Kuhio and Kalakaua Ave in evening … lots of foot traffic . Walked so much … took the trolley ride back to hotel. Close to ABC stores, souvenir shops where you can bargain , Food pantry and close to high end stores ... Coach, Mark Jacob, Channel etc. They also have activity desk to offer you some tours. Great for the price and staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame Udon ... great soup. My hubby loved the Curry Udon and i loved the Niku Udon $5.75. Fresh noodles and amazing broth. Try also the shrimp tempura, mushroom tempura, calamari ... only $1.50 each. Though long line ... it goes fast. Delicious and reasonable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top