$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
340 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (340)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Veeman
San Francisco, California
Jul 10, 2013

You pay for what you get.

The only thing good about this place is the location. The workers there are rude. Especially the younger female in the front desk. I didn't get her name cause her hair was covering her name tag. The room is old and smells like cigarettes even though we asked for a non smoking room. Pay the extra hundred dollars and go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super World Traveller
San Francisco, California
Jun 3, 2013

You get what you pay for

The location is pretty good, just minutes away from the beaches, and with convenient stores around the corner. This hotel claims to have been renovated in recent years, but we saw no such signs. Our room was very dirty, the bed so soft we almost sank down to the floor. The overall standard of this hotel is 1/5, which many other reviews will tell you. It's just so poorly cleaned, and the threat of bed bugs will keep you awake at night. The elevators are super slow and you will have to wait several minutes to catch one. Bottom line: take your money elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davetap
Okc, ok
May 31, 2013

Good inexpensive hotel

It was well worth the price. It was an easy walk to the beach with lots of food places and shops very near by. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diego Hawaii
South Beach Miami
May 30, 2013

Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to Waikiki I won't see others options,I'll stay there again and again, just an amazing time since I get there until I left. A very professional staff in every department with a real aloha spirit...Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jbaran
naugatuck, CT
May 30, 2013

some disappointments...

was taken aback when we were told that we had to pay $25 a day parking. that should be told in the hotel search or made clearer. felt like we were taken advantage of when we were called over to who we thought was someone that worked in the hotel and all they were doing was trying to get us to go to breakfast in the morning and we had to give them money up front... after a ten hour flight...NO ONE needs to be put on the spot like that... we did not go to breakfast and we lost that money.. i would recommend this hotel but i would tell people about these hidden costs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

there is a parking garage not far from this hotel that you can park your car for $8 a day

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UmDoreen
Roselle, NJ
May 17, 2013

Great place to be and visit -

My mom who is a senior in her 70's and I enjoyed our stay at the Ohana Waikiki West Hotel. Situated within walking distance from shopping, beach and even a church. Family friendly atmosphere...great people to share space with. The amenities were great and hotel is located directly across the street from a grocery store which stocked everything we needed for our refrigerator, microwave and stove amenities. The beds were great to sleep on and the hygiene was good. Flat screen TV with enough programs to keep you viewing (if you were not hanging by the cabana pool located in the hotel. Small, but equipped fitness room - I enjoyed the intimacy of the room. just enough space for a few interested guest to get their workouts in. The staff treated us like we were in a five star hotel - I've been in some like the Omni S...and their staff's attitudes were not as congenial as the one's here. I especially liked that they offered us storage for our luggage while we waited the hours before our taxi ride to the airport. Plus we got a full room to shower and change.. - at no extra charge - FANTASTIC. ....that topped it off. Great place. I plan to book there again. Doreen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to a kitchenette and purchase your groceries from directly across the street from the hotel. That saves you dining money and thus more for shopping and enjoyment.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fyli
SF, CA
May 8, 2013

Disappointed

Small tight bathroom and amenities are over-rated. Staff do not know the local area well to make comprehensive recommendations for food. Did not assign me the room I requested initially.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
short term guest
Waikiki, HI
May 5, 2013

Dated interior

Parking is very limited and not guaranteed. Also cost $25 per day in addition to room rate. Staff and procedures, A+. Worn carpet, dated colors, but clean and comfortable. 3 blocks from the beach. No view from our 4th floor balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Chili's in hotel; good food and service but pricey for quantity. Denny's right across the street.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NorCal123456
California
May 5, 2013

Tourism

Low price hotel walking to Waikiki beach. Room is too small - low ceiling, micro-bathroom, color/texture is old. A/C works very slow- takes 2-4 hour to cool the room at night. Very ineffective in day. Overall descent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seoul Searcher
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 24, 2013

Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean. The hotel staff was friendly & helpful. I'd definitely go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top