$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
219 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring, MD
Jun 3, 2009

Good price, but not great quality

We had a two-room suite with kitchenette, as we were travelling with our adult daughter. The first one we were given, on the tenth-floor, was not well-dusted, and the dinette table had been left sticky. When I turned down the spread and the top sheet of the king-size bed, I discovered that, although the sheets were crisp, there were hairs in the bed. I called the front desk twice before they sent someone from housekeeping to change the sheets. There was so much noise until around 2:30am that none of us could sleep, and this after a full day of travel from the East Coast to get there. The following morning, we asked to be moved to a quieter location and were given another, similar, suite, this time on the 12th floor, facing away from the street. The person at the front desk said there is often a problem with noise from revelers who go from bar to bar, including the one on their first floor, and get very boisterous. The second suite was just as poorly cleaned, and the overfull garbage can under the kitchenette sink hadn't been emptied after the prior guests left! Housekeeping had to be called twice before eventually taking care of this. In twenty-five-plus years of travelling in numerous places in the US and around the world, we've only encountered bad accommodations 6 or 7 times. The hotel is a very busy one serving many guests. We should have been much more insistent about getting a more satisfactory room. The lobby was nice and bright. I don't know if the entire rest of the hotel needs refurbishing, but the rooms we experienced certainly did. The bathrooms were quite worn-looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to take a Waikiki city tour by trolley and get off at as many cultural sites as you can set time aside to visit. And, by all means, sign up for several of the Oahu Tours; their drivers are FABULOUSLY KNOWLEDGEABLE and make the outings extremely worthwhile. The ones we signed up for were small group tours, with no more than 9 passengers, which is the preferable way to see the wonders of the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
big island
May 27, 2009

very convenient location

very convenient location, but unable to control AC in the room. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurants & nite life as well as access to beach area was great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alistia
Arcadia, CA
May 27, 2009

Average Hotel

The rooms are small, old and they are not very clean. One morning we woke up and found the drain in the shower had dirt came out of it. However after noticing the front desk upon that matter they cleaned it almost right away. Seems like it had happened before. The best things of the hotel were its location and free trolley rides around Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Mary
Louisiana
May 25, 2009

Best Hotel and Staff we will be back!

We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. It was our first time in Hawaii. The Ohana Waikiki West hotel was perfect for us.It was clean and comfortable and we felt very safe away from home. It's in the middle of everything we wanted to do and see.We had all our plans made before we left home, but the hotel had available to us more info for tours and events happening in Hawaii. When checking in we was given a map of the area and highlighted where we are and said if we needed help with anything to just ask. We also got a free draw string tote bag as a free gift. It was perfect to carry maps and hotel keys, etc. that you need while exploring. We loved having the pink trolley pass for our entire stay. Did I mention It comes free for booking with this hotel! The hotel was not expensive so we was able to enjoy some shopping. We ate at Chili's Resturant connected to hotel, it was great. And we had a kitchenette in our room with a coffee maker & delicous coffee supplied by hotel every day. They also have the local newspaper free to guest every day. We have our 1st souvenir, the newspaper with our anniversary date on it. Thanks Ohana Waikiki West. There is also a grocery store across the street for some icecream and snacks or if you want to cook in your room, they have everything. The location is perfect. This hotel is on the list for many tours as a location for pickup and drop off. We just went out the door and waited for our ride. All the trolleys stop right in front of hotel to pickup and drop off. There is even a free round trip shuttle to take you shopping at the famous Hilo Hattie, in front of hotel. Who could ask for anything more. My husband lost his cell phone on a tour bus.. the tour company found it and delivered it back to our hotel the same day. The hotel staff called our room when it arrived so we didn't have to worry about it. We got wake up calls when we requested. That didn't always happen when we stayed at other hotels on vacations before. We checked out on our last day by noon, but our flight home wasn't until around 11pm. So the hotel stored our luggage for us so we could enjoy our last day. Then we wanted to visit the restroom to freshen up before we head for the airport and we was given a key to a hospitality room to freshen up at no extra cost. It was awesome , it had a bed, shower with fresh soap and towels just like we was just checking in. We never had that experience before. This vacation was affordable and so very enjoyable thanks to Ohana Waikiki West and their friendly and helpful staff. We will be back soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want the best prices on souvenirs go visit the Aloha Stadium open on Wednesday,Saturday And Sunday. they have the worlds largest fleamarket, with mostly new things, but also homemade goods too. We just ask the front desk how to get there and on the back of the map they gave us had that and many more places to see. It was so easy. Just a few steps from hotel's front entrance and we caught a bus for just a couple of dollars each and it drops you off right there. The bus driver gives you a transfer paper and you can shop and before two hours is up you can get back on the bus with this transfer for free to get back to your hotel where you was picked up. How cool is that. And the International Market Place is just steps away from the hotel they also have great shopping and prices. Enjoy your trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Surf Addict
Eagles Mere, PA
May 1, 2009

Excellent Stay

I was given a room on the 17th floor facing makai with Diamondhead visible to the east. The view of the ocean was excellent and the upper floor room diminished the sounds of the street below. The room was very clean with new carpeting and linens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Marketplace has had a significiant facelift with many good clean places to find delicious pacific fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monmouth Beach, NJ
Apr 24, 2009

Ohana Waikiki East

The hotel was enjoyable. What was very upsetting was booking my stay at the Ohana Waikiki West in February only to be informed by Orbitz 4 days before my trip in April that they suddenly realized they had overbooked the hotel. So they had to cancel my reservation and I ended up at the Ohana Waiki East. I don't think I'll be using Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Perfect!

It was great. We had a room right on the busy street and we didn't hear a thing all night. It was within walking distance to all eating locations and we were 2 blocks from the beach. The International Marketplace was right across the street which was perfect. The rooms were big and the restrooms small, but since we had so much to do we only took quick showers so it didn't matter!The pool was amazing... You just had to get up really early to get a lounge chair by the pool. Which didn't really matter since the beach was right down the street. The hotel even set us up with a ride to the airport and a rental car. The room rates were OUTSTANDING! I will be staying there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GO Canucks!!!
Vancouver Canada
Apr 22, 2009

Great Location!!! Free Trolley Rides!!!

Awesome location with tons of restaurants, fast food, and grocery nearby. Trolley stop is right infront of hotel and it's Free!!! Free long-distance US&Canada calling,free internet...Great service from staff!!! I read some previous review from others abt problem with elevator...i had no problems watsoever...they probably fixed it already. We have 2 adjoining rooms with kitchenette and only complaint is the showers in both rooms didn't have enough water coming out..no water pressure. Tip- If you want kitchenette, don't upgrade online..book standard room and call them up to upgrade...$10 additional per nite Didn't really need the kitchenette but extra sink, dining table and bigger fridge was worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redwood City, CA
Mar 24, 2009

Unbeatable Location for the Price

This stay was our 4th or 5th (can't remember) at WW and enjoyed it very much. The staff is wonderful, expecially the bell people. I am handicapped w/wheelchair and they did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Our ADA room wasn't in the best of locations, but the only one available at the time. You are so close to The Bus, The Pantry, zoo, aquarium, International Market Place, beach, etc., that this hotel can't be beat. If I were to have any complaints, it would be that WW no longer has a smoking floor, which makes it very difficult if you are smokers & most uncomfortable if it happens to be raining, which it was for the 1st week of our visit. However, I encourage anyone, who isn't concerned about having all the bells and whistles of the luxury hotels, to try the Waikiki West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within 1/2 mile of the zoo and aquarium, both of which you can see in one day. Both are excellent with animals and fish you ordinarily would not see at home - most enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Touchet
Jan 6, 2009

Cochroach

We found a 2 long roach in our room. Probably came in under the door, there was a large gap. Also no hot tub. They charge $18 per day to park your rental car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap breakfast across the streety at the Galaxy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search