$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
219 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Jan 18, 2010

Great location

The location on Kuhio Avenue (main city bus line and trolley line) was great. Being able to ride the pink line trolley for free was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eibbor
Pitt Meadow, British Columbia
Jan 16, 2010

GREAT PLACE TO GO, LOCATION WAS GREAT

We were able to make all our bookings for out side trips at the hotel. Staff were very knoledgable and gave us some great tips. Hotel was clean, the bathroom in our room could use some upgrading but was very adequit. It was great we were able to make long distance calls to Canada and United State, first 15 minutes free. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Circle Island Tour, it was great,our Tour Guide was fill with great information about the Island and the people. We had a better idea of what we wanted to go back and see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Jan 7, 2010

Great location and attractive place

I liked this hotel better than others in Waikiki for the price. It was affordable, clean and quiet. Good value, upgraded to an efficiency which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market was close and fun to shop at. The best bargains are at the Aloha Stadium Swap meet, though, just hop on the bus and shop til you drop!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coos Bay,Oregon
Dec 30, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

Great location,entral to all activities in hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
loveland, Colorado
Dec 29, 2009

great stay

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Kitchenette let us make several meals which saved money for other activities. Right on bus and trolley stop if you are using public transportation. Exercise room has limited equipment so get there early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the Banyon about 6 blocks east (Diamond Head). They charge $10 per day or $60/week with in and out privileges and always had a space. We paid to park in the Ohana the first hight ($18/day) but were told when we returned the second day that they had no space even though our 24 hours had not expired yet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sault Ste Marie Canada
Nov 17, 2009

Great Location

This Hotel was a perfect location .Ocean View,bus stops outside Hotel Market across the street.Restaurants everywhere.Great Pool.Only thing was there was a nightclub in the basement of Hotel we were on the 8th floor and could hear the Music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When you go to the Market the best price is not the only price they will come down 75%.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Oct 12, 2009

It was okay

Would have liked to have a place to eat at the hotel since we did not arrive until after mid-night, tired and hungry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
japan
Oct 11, 2009

great location for the price

local phone calls and calls to canada and the mainland usa are free for the first 15 minutes and free internet in the room. if you get a room on the kuhio street side it can be quite noisy with loud buses and partying tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Oct 9, 2009

SKIP THIS ONE

I would recommend skipping this hotel. The staff was unusually unfriendly. Customer service was very poor. We got bug bites overnight, presumably from our beds. Cleanliness was not a high priority for this staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On the next corner from this hotel is a food pantry (supermarket) where you can get things to put in the hotel refrigerator. They also have good coffee to go and bento boxes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventurous Single Grandma
Ventura Co, California
Sep 23, 2009

Perfect for me ! ( you too ! )

I am a 52 yrs. young widow who was traveling alone for the first time. I booked on Orbitz, with a total travel pkg. My adult son helped me with that. I went online and researched things to do in Honolulu/Waikiki. I kept a notebook that I traveled with. I read all the reviews and travel tips from other travelers. Got some really good ideas and suggestions from that and used the info to my advantage. The Honolulu/Waikiki area has a wonderful city bus system. Take advantage of this. It cuts the cost of things you would pay a tour co. big bucks for. I went to Hanauma Bay by city bus ($2.25ea. way for all bus trips.) Rent your snorkel gear there, $6-$10 there. If you have any problems with it you can swap it out there. $7.50 to get in. Nice beach and good snorkeling. Pack snacks to take in. Small vendors & snack bar there too. (Lockers for $3.00). Other bus trips I took were: Pearl Harbor, Arizona Memorial,(FREE). Aloha Stadium Open Air Market ($1.00). Foster Botanical Gardens ($5.00) Highly recommend the gardens. Pack a snack or lunch to take in or exit the park for lunch across the street at Zippy's. I hiked Diamond Head, great views from the top.($1.00) Make sure you buy a refreshing shave ice from the lunch truck after your hike, for your walk back to the bus stop. When you start using the bus ask for bus #'s at the concierge's desk. They want to sell you stuff but info is FREE! Go on a catamaran cruise at the Sheraton on the beach. Reservations needed for sunset cruise ($34.00)Maitai's included. (800)462-7975. This is great value for your dollar! So much fun. I easily walked everywhere lots to see. Check out the galleries in town take yourself on a walking tour of art. I enjoyed the beach, the warm aqua blue waters call your name to jump in. The pool and open air bar was lots of fun at Ohana West. I packed instant oatmeal and had coffee and breakfast in my room. Use The coffee maker for hot water, you can make lots of stuff with that. Great frig. and freezer in my room. brought leftovers back to eat later. Food Pantry right next door to hotel. Snacks,Fruit,Beverages etc. reasonable prices. Also check out the ABC Stores some have more groc. items than others. Cheap sandwiches and stuff for lunch. For dinners bring all your gift cards that you've stashed away. Cheesecake Factory, Chili's, Outback etc. See what's there. I ate very good for reasonably cheap. Some places I called for take out and ate peacefully some where else. Lots of drink specials all over town, keep your eyes open and check those out. Loved my hotel....you're in Hawaii every thing's perfect. I am the type of person that looks at everything like the glass is half full. If your elevator is slow talk to the people around you, make friends...you get talking the elevator arrives fast. Smile you're in Hawaii if you get on the Hawaiian pace of life all is good. Leave a small tip $2-3 everyday in your room for the maid with a note of thanks. She will jump hoops for the things you need....Extra coffee, creamer, towels, lotion etc. For the beach every day you can get a couple of beach towels at level M, return them and get fresh the next day. I was there 11 days and 10 nights...enjoyed every minute of it. When arriving at the airport catch the Roberts Shuttle. ($15.00 round trip) Great experience with that. Be patient Ohana West is one of the last stops. Enjoy the view and chat it up with other riders. They were on time to take me back as well.(tip your drivers). Hope all this info helps. I should write a book !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do your homework online before you leave. Your trip will be lots of fun...no stress.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search