$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
206 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013
Island-style value and aloha at Waikiki

OHANA Waikiki West, a locally-owned hotel with plenty of island aloha is a favorite among families and couples seeking value and prime location. The hotel is situated two blocks from Waikiki Beach and surrounded by dining and shopping options. Some rooms have kitchenettes and all rooms offer plenty of extras, including complimentary Internet, area transport, newspaper, free local and U.S. mainland calls (limits apply), and OHANA beach tote.

Highlights
  • Rooms offer kitchenettes with supermarket across the street
  • Free high-speed Internet and transport on the Waikiki Trolley's Pink Line
  • Local attractions a few blocks from the hotel
  • Starbucks onsite
Location

Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel puts you steps from area attractions and two blocks from the beach. Find many opportunities for shopping and dining nearby.

Rooms

OHANA Waikiki West offers more than 500 rooms that can accommodate up to four people. Many rooms feature kitchenettes. Kitchenette combo rooms connect standard and kitchenette guest rooms to provide privacy and space for families and groups. Most rooms offer a private balcony and all rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, air conditioning, in-room safe, cable TV, refrigerator, local calls and free calls to the U.S. Mainland and Canada (limits apply).

Dining

The hotel's poolside bar, Cabanas, serves cold beverages and sandwiches from mid-morning until late. Chili's Grill & Bar is located on the lobby level of the hotel and offers American favorites for lunch and dinner. Starbucks Coffee is also onsite. For those who book a room with kitchenette, a full supermarket is located across the street. Many additional dining options surround the hotel.


Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Fitness center
  • Onsite tour desk
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • International Market Place
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Diamond Head Crater

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
veg frog, the traveler
NYC
Apr 4, 2011

reasonable and convenient

I was there for a conference and it was relatively convenient to the conference meeting place. The room was quite small but OK. One good thing that they have is providing a courtesy room - after you have checked out, left your bags in storage but then need to change before heading to the airport, you can use a room for 30 mins to change, rest, repack and even shower. That was great for me. The staff are quite nice. People who stay there are very mixed and that's fine, so you have those who came there for the beeches, and people like me on business trip. I also liked that there is internet in the rooms and WiFi in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most people buy food at a nearby Food pantry, as rooms have small refrigerators and the selection of products is not bad. You can even get some organic things, like juices and fruit. There is also a number of vegetarian/natural foods cafes around, so for a vegetarian this was not at all difficult.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
SmallDesire
MCBH, HI
Aug 8, 2011

Fair

We stayed here Oct 2010 for three nights four days. We had a decent view. Room was very very spacious. The only thing I didn't like was the bath tub. It would clog up and when taking a shower the water wouldn't go down. Over all I loved it here. House keeping was great. Lots of stores close by and chili's was right under us. Parking is a pain in the butt though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
Eibbor
Pitt Meadow, British Columbia
Jan 16, 2010

GREAT PLACE TO GO, LOCATION WAS GREAT

We were able to make all our bookings for out side trips at the hotel. Staff were very knoledgable and gave us some great tips. Hotel was clean, the bathroom in our room could use some upgrading but was very adequit. It was great we were able to make long distance calls to Canada and United State, first 15 minutes free. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Circle Island Tour, it was great,our Tour Guide was fill with great information about the Island and the people. We had a better idea of what we wanted to go back and see.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
Andy Laymon
Lihue, HI, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Perfect weekend getaway

The waikiki ohana west is perfectly situated for night life, day time shopping, dinning, and access to just about everything you can get your hands on. The concierge hooked us up with so many great activities and we had a blast. Our room was very comfy and had more then what we needed to enjoy our hotel stay!!!! Mahalo & Aloha Ohana West, Andrea & Justin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Denver Metro, CO
Jun 10, 2010

Comfortable

I travel often to Hawaii, so I like being close to places like the food pantry, Starbucks, restaurants, beach, and ABC. I usually go now just to relax and spend time in the sun. I like all of the Outrigger/O'Hana Hotels. If I want a more luxurious stay I go to the Outrigger on the Beach or The REEF. O'Hana West used to be the Outrigger West and it was the first hotel I stayed at over thirty years ago. I still come back when I'm alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keo's Breakfast is delicious and it's a well kept secret. It's across from Ohana West at the Ohana East right on the corner. You can eat breakfast there up until around 1:30 p.m. at the latest. The staff are great and the eggs benedict and french toast are great, especially with coconut syrup.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
Mrs Mouselips
Big Island, Hawaii
Feb 9, 2013

Good Hotel

Our 4-night stay was enjoyable. I brought my own wireless router so the lack of WiFi in the room was not an issue. Location was convenient and the price was reasonable for the area. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
chanmaster
Beaverton, OR
Sep 21, 2009

Ohana Waikiki West Review

My wife and I had a great time celebrating our honeymoon on the island of Oahu. We went to the beach, Paradise Cove luau, tour of Oahu, dinner cruise, Society of Seven show, the Magic of Polynesia, U.S.S. Arizona memorial, and the rest of the island. Most of the items were The only thing that could be better in regards to the trip was the hotel elevator. The elevator was very bouncy. The elevator felt like going on an amusement ride. Overall, my wife and I loved our trip to Honolulu! This trip to the Hawaiian islands was better than my first trip with the Navy back in 2001. My family and I will return to Oahu and other Hawaiian islands in the next 3-5 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
topeka,kansas
Jul 22, 2009

honolulu stay

the hotel employees were gr8, first 2 nights the ac didnt work, but they fixed it.. chilis on site offered gr8 food and the best marjaritas, the beach is about 5 blocks away, not too bad..over all..had a gr8 stay..would stay at ohana waikiki west agine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
Hawaii Surf Addict
Eagles Mere, PA
May 1, 2009

Excellent Stay

I was given a room on the 17th floor facing makai with Diamondhead visible to the east. The view of the ocean was excellent and the upper floor room diminished the sounds of the street below. The room was very clean with new carpeting and linens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Marketplace has had a significiant facelift with many good clean places to find delicious pacific fare.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
WhoDey2323
Anaheim, California
Apr 10, 2013

Better than expected

For the price, Ohana West was better than expected. The room was clean and quiet, and very central to everything. The bathroom wasn't the nicest, but worked for our stay. We had a parking lot facing room, which was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, and there was a fridge in the room which was a huge plus. It's very central (right across from the International Market) so you can walk anywhere which makes it not necessary to have a car if you're just spending time in Waikiki. 3 blocks from the beach as well. We were very happy with Ohana West for the money we paid. As long as you go in with the expectation that it's not the fanciest hotel, it'll definitely work for those on a budget looking for a quiet place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaside Bar & Grill is just a few blocks away and had great breakfast. Very fast and cheap, but good food.

Back to menu Return to top