$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Good place to stay

The room is good to stay! And it is really convinient because it is located near to the beach. See full review

  • Jiegeng
  • Aug 11, 2014
Perfect location

The area this hotel is in is perfect in Waikiki. The staff was exceptional, so kind and very... See full review

  • Jo Hawaii
  • Jun 21, 2014

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jul 23, 2010

Good place to stay

Friendly staff greeted us when we went to check in at 11pm. The room we got has a king size bed with a small kitchenette. The room is not modern but it's clean with all the necessities. The hotel is in a central location with restaurants all around within walking distance. Waikiki beach is not too far either. The free beach towel service and the hospitality room made our stay with Ohana Waikiki West more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the SJ loving couple
Business
San Jose, CA
May 30, 2011

very nice hotel

We went to Hawaii for our first anniversary. Everything was great and we couldn't ask for more. We could have chose the ocean view but decided not to, since we would be in and out to go swimming in the ocean and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks away from the ocean and shopping centers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Metro, CO
Jun 10, 2010

Comfortable

I travel often to Hawaii, so I like being close to places like the food pantry, Starbucks, restaurants, beach, and ABC. I usually go now just to relax and spend time in the sun. I like all of the Outrigger/O'Hana Hotels. If I want a more luxurious stay I go to the Outrigger on the Beach or The REEF. O'Hana West used to be the Outrigger West and it was the first hotel I stayed at over thirty years ago. I still come back when I'm alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keo's Breakfast is delicious and it's a well kept secret. It's across from Ohana West at the Ohana East right on the corner. You can eat breakfast there up until around 1:30 p.m. at the latest. The staff are great and the eggs benedict and french toast are great, especially with coconut syrup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
loveland, Colorado
Dec 29, 2009

great stay

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Kitchenette let us make several meals which saved money for other activities. Right on bus and trolley stop if you are using public transportation. Exercise room has limited equipment so get there early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the Banyon about 6 blocks east (Diamond Head). They charge $10 per day or $60/week with in and out privileges and always had a space. We paid to park in the Ohana the first hight ($18/day) but were told when we returned the second day that they had no space even though our 24 hours had not expired yet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 aloha girls
Business
las vegas
Aug 7, 2009

nice hotel in paradise

This hotel was just fine. We hardly saw it untill we wanted to sleep or shower but i'll start with the good things. Big comfortable bed, mini fridge,free wireless internet access in the lobby, very friendly staff,gym, balcony perfect for drying our wet towels and bathing suits, grocery store right next to it with 1$ nightly movie rentals, (i brought my laptop to watch them), denny's right across the street with free kids meals on tuesdays, free trolley rides that go to the mall but you can hop on them at any stop to get a ride back to the hotel or get off at any stop you want. Now for the negative, no microwave, small t.v. with very few channels, not the best place to walk around at night because there are "ladies of the night", all up and down the street and side street, kind of awkward when i was passing them with my young daughter, no jacuzzi, no bath tub, small shower fine for us girls but im sure men would have a hard time with it, the elevator is scary at first it stops abruptly, made me a little nautious. But mainly this hotel was just fine, better than a lot of the local hotels but not fancy. They do have security late night so that was good. Be prepared for ridiculously high prices on food at the grocery store, bring whatever you can, cereal is 5$,milk was 3$ for a half gallon. Another crazy thing is the airline actually charged for check bags and did not provide a meal or even peanuts on the 6 hour flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

smorgy's buffet very short walk good food decent price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
japan
Oct 11, 2009

great location for the price

local phone calls and calls to canada and the mainland usa are free for the first 15 minutes and free internet in the room. if you get a room on the kuhio street side it can be quite noisy with loud buses and partying tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck - World Traveler
Business
Lexington, KY
Dec 25, 2010

Great location - Great Price!

Quick sight seeing to the Cultural Center and sights in the City. Very enjoyable but only a short time in Honolulu. About the same as most!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed the park and the zoo - all right in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GO Canucks!!!
Business
Vancouver Canada
Apr 22, 2009

Great Location!!! Free Trolley Rides!!!

Awesome location with tons of restaurants, fast food, and grocery nearby. Trolley stop is right infront of hotel and it's Free!!! Free long-distance US&Canada calling,free internet...Great service from staff!!! I read some previous review from others abt problem with elevator...i had no problems watsoever...they probably fixed it already. We have 2 adjoining rooms with kitchenette and only complaint is the showers in both rooms didn't have enough water coming out..no water pressure. Tip- If you want kitchenette, don't upgrade online..book standard room and call them up to upgrade...$10 additional per nite Didn't really need the kitchenette but extra sink, dining table and bigger fridge was worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lealea
Business
Maui, Hawaii
Aug 9, 2010

Great Service

We came for the State Canoe Races at Keehi Lagoon. This location was convenient for dining, parking, and shopping. Getting in and out of the hotel was good because even if parking was crowded there was another quick solution. The hotel workers are friendly and service oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cerrillos, New Mexico
Jul 27, 2010

Very nice hotel

Everything was very nice, but the room had a shared lanai. Unfortunately, the occupants of the other room hogged the lanai furniture and we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy. We would much rather have had a smaller room with a private lanai that we could have enjoyed more. We would have preferred to have been able to have the curtains open, but it was not possible most of the time. We really liked the large room safe which was large enough for a computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconut Delight breakfast at Seaside Bar and Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top