$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

OHANA Waikiki West

3 stars
2330 Kuhio Avenue,, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
337 reviews
Ohana

It was my second time at Ohana Waikiki West and my fifth trip to the island. If I go back to... See full review

  • Diego Hawaii
  • May 30, 2013
Comfortable overnight stay

I was only at the hotel for an overnight layover, but I found my room to be comfortable & clean.... See full review

  • Seoul Searcher
  • Apr 24, 2013

The OHANA Waikiki West is owned by Outrigger Resorts, providing a taste of Oahu at an affordable price. Make a splash with the kids inside the massive pool and take a break from the sandy beaches. After a morning swim, families on a budget can pick up groceries from the local store and make lunch inside their rooms which come equipped with kitchenette facilities. The poolside bar, Cabanas, serves light refreshments and drinks so that you can cool down with snacks and a refreshing juice. Soft island-themed decor with tropical shades gives the accommodations a relaxing Hawaiian ambience.

Key facts
  • 659 guestrooms and suites
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar: Cabanas
  • Starbucks Coffee
  • Chili's Grill & Bar
  • Free dance lessons to country-western music Nashville Waikiki
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Located at the eastern part of the city on bustling Kuhio Street, OHANA Waikiki West is set just five blocks from the popular Queen's Beach. White sand and palm trees stretch as far as the eye can see here, and shops line the area around the hotel as well. Four blocks away lies Kalakaua Avenue, which is packed with restaurants and high-end stores like Gucci and Macy's, along with the Waikiki Beach Walk entertainment plaza.
Hints and tips
The light sleeper should consider choosing a room on a higher floor, to eliminate street noise and sounds from the pool and bar.Complimentary toiletries are included in the accommodations, so guests don't need to worry about packing shower gels and soaps.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2788 -157.825
Area served
Waikiki-Honolulu-Oahu, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport(HNL) - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the CENTER of Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki West Rooms

Standard - 1K or 1Q or 1D
The Standard room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or one double bed.
Simple Saver - 1K or 1Q or 1D
GREAT SAVINGS - The room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed, or one queen bed, or two double beds.
Kitchenette - 1K or 2D
The Standard Kitchenette room offers you limited city views with a comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette is complete with a real stove/oven, sink, toaster and cooking/eating accessories for you so your meals can really be homemade if you desire! Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Chilli's Grill & Bar
Southwest theme - 10:00am - 11:00pm Daily, except Fri., Sat., Sun. 10:00am - 12 midnight
Cabanas Pool Bar
Tropical Drinks - 10:00am - 11:00pm. Billiard table, dart boards, big-screen T.V. Live music on weekends.
Nashville Waikiki
Country Western Bar - 4:00pm - 3:00am
Starbucks
A variety of coffee drinks, refreshments, sandwiches - Fri- Sat: 6am - 12am Sun-Thur 6am - 11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki West

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Damagindan
Easton, Pennsylvania
Jun 27, 2014

Never Again at this hotel

Our 2 rooms were too small...we booked it for 8 people. I was never offered a suite until I got there and then they wanted more money. The A/C was horrible, we had it running on high and it never really got cold enough to prevent us from sweating. The rooms we were in were outdated. However it was only 2 blocks from the beach and very close to restaurant's and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Hawaii
El Cerrito CA
Jun 21, 2014

Perfect location

The area this hotel is in is perfect in Waikiki. The staff was exceptional, so kind and very helpful. Our stay was great. The electrical outlets were a problem, things kept falling out. and the TV kind of was on the fritz, but since we didn't watch it much it wasn't a problem. Sara at the Activities Desk was SO helpful! She helped make our stay wonderful! She helped us get great tours at great prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xjjwithlove
Chicago
Jun 5, 2014

Good Location

The traffic is very convenient and very close to Wikiki Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MidClass
Boise, ID
May 18, 2014

Ohana West is outdated

Hotel was OK, except there was no wireless internet in room, hard cabled internet support did not work either. Had to go to lobby to for internet access. Hotel is in noisy location, but convenient to shopping and eating. Parking is expensive. Most, but not all, of the staff was polite and helpful. There is a restaurant down the street that serves Udon and Tempura that is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Udon tempura restaurant down street is excellent.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AnPunio
Honolulu Hawaii
May 5, 2014

Expected Better

I checked in around 5 but didn't get in my room until 6:30 wasted more then a few minutes going up and down the stairs for my key to finally work. The elevators are horrible there is no room in them for one reason and they are slower then ever. House keeping is mostly the best and I hated how they knew I had young children with me yet they wanted us to stay in a room on the first floor where there's a bar right next to a pool that is just straight up horrible worst family outting ever and they didn't even have a tub. If you have young children don't go to this hotel they even put the worst type of people in the room next to us who wouldn't stop pounding our door cause our kids were laughing who tells a 1 yr old to shut up. Worst family hotel. Trying out other hotels soon in the Waikiki area so far the Best Western Plaza by the Honolulu air port is inconsiderate workers great house keepers great pool area nice and peaceful compared to this hotel only thing is the front desk and the airplanes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ms Melly
Washington
Apr 28, 2014

Great location and that's all

Staff was rude to each other. Not professional! Chilies was the only place to eat. Maid was lazy, room wasn't clean and had roaches. Our floor was under construction, fumes were horrible. Glad we were gone most of the day. No wireless, we live in a smartphone, tablet, age. The location is perfect for touring and beaches. Can walk everywhere in Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Booze cruise from Waikiki beach, $30 per person 2hrs. Sail around and sip at dusk. Enjoy.

Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love Waikiki
vancouver, bc
Apr 21, 2014

central location, easy walk to beach, restaurants, shops

This was my third visit to this hotel, so obviously I'm satisfied with the accommodation. It's nothing fancy but decent value for the price, given the Ohana West's great location. It has a pool overlooking Kuhio street and a bar adjacent to the pool with $3 drinks from 4 to 8 p.m. served by an enthusiastic staff. Unfortunately, there's a major demolition and construction project going on directly across Kuhio Street (the old Miramar Hotel is coming down and the International Market Place has been razed and will be reborn as more high-end shopping buildings) so that promises to be noisy and disruptive for probably the next year and a half. The reception staff at the Ohana West is helpful and friendly, but our housekeeping was uneven this time around. Another convenience , beside the central location, is the Food Pantry, a well-stocked store just across the corner--a bonus if you don't want to eat out for every meal and choose to make use of a kitchenette suite in the hotel. Our kitchenette could definitely have benefited from a new mini-fridge and a few more dishes/glassware in the cabinet. All in all, good value for the money but nothing fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loater
Vancouver, B.C.
Mar 24, 2014

Good for short stay

We needed a place to stay for 3 nights in between hotels and stayed at the Ohana West. Good place to stay for a few days due to the dated appearance, slow elevator and construction across the street. Good value as we paid $100 per night - pretty good value for Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HHI Dave
Cincinnati
Feb 14, 2014

Reservation was not accepted

Although we had a confirmation code from Cheap Tickets, the hotel said they had no reservation for us. When I talked to the manager, she said the hotel had declined the reservation price from Cheap Tickets. This was not a good experience...we had to drive over 1 hour to get a place to sleep at a comparable price. The hotel may be a very nice place to stay, but since we could not stay there, I can not give it a positive rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of OHANA Waikiki West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty Mom
stockton, ca
Jan 24, 2014

Enjoyable Place, Good Location & Great Price

We enjoyed our stay with Ohana West. We were on 17th floor ... nice view even it was the back of hotel. Room is very cozy for two anniversary celebrants .... clean room, clean sheets & towels everyday, in room safe, in room iron & board, coffeemaker, fridge, flat tv w/ variety channels, clean cozy bathroom. AC was great. Nice balcony with 2 chairs and a table ... nice to sit in the morning .. have coffee and McDonald breakfast ( eggs, Spam and rice & my hubby had Sausage Mcmuffin ) only 1 1/2 blocks from hotel. So close to a lot of eateries, shopping, bus stops. Also a free Trolley ride to Ala Moana Mall. Walking distance to Waikiki. Enjoyed strolling Kuhio and Kalakaua Ave in evening … lots of foot traffic . Walked so much … took the trolley ride back to hotel. Close to ABC stores, souvenir shops where you can bargain , Food pantry and close to high end stores ... Coach, Mark Jacob, Channel etc. They also have activity desk to offer you some tours. Great for the price and staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame Udon ... great soup. My hubby loved the Curry Udon and i loved the Niku Udon $5.75. Fresh noodles and amazing broth. Try also the shrimp tempura, mushroom tempura, calamari ... only $1.50 each. Though long line ... it goes fast. Delicious and reasonable!

Back to menu Return to top