$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

OHANA Waikiki Malia

3 stars
2211 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
40 reviews
Annual vacation

I've stayed at your hotel times. Always a great stay and this time was no different . Mahalo See full review

  • PamD
  • Feb 22, 2014
Perfect Central Location

We needed to stay on Oahu a few extra days. The location was great, so I could walk to get food and... See full review

  • Carleeq
  • Jan 9, 2014
The OHANA Waikiki Malia is a terrific choice for accommodations when visiting Waikiki. This 327-room hotel is conveniently located on Kuhio Avenue,only a short stroll to many of the shopping, dining and nightlife options Waikiki has to offer.

Guests staying at OHANA Waikiki Malia can take advantage of the Ohana Waikiki Connection, which includes complimentary internet access, complimentary local and long distance phone calls to US and Canada, complimentary in-room coffee and daily local newspaper, and complimentary rides on the Waikiki Trolley's Pink Line throughout Waikiki.

Here you'll find OHANA's special brand of island hospitality, as well as a comfortable selection of recently renovated hotel rooms. Looking for something to do? Hop on the city's award-winning bus line out front on Kuhio Avenue for a fun way to explore the island. The OHANA Waikiki Malia is a smart choice when visiting Waikiki.

This is a non-smoking property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed OHANA Waikiki Malia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

OHANA Waikiki Malia Rooms

Standard
The Standard room offers you city views and a roomy 331 square feet of comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choice of either one king bed or two double beds.
City View
The City View room offers you nice city views of Waikiki and 331 square feet of comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choice of either one king bed or two double beds
Simple Saver
GREAT SAVINGS _ The room offers you city views and a roomy 331 square feet of comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. Bedding is by request only and includes the choice of either one king bed or two double beds.
OneBdrm Suite w/Kitchenette
The One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette room offers you great city views, a separate bedroom for maximum privacy and a spacious 510 square feet of comfortable living space nicely decorated in tropical Hawaiian decor. The kitchenette features either a stove or a microwave plus a sink, cooking/eating accessories and a toaster by request. Bedding is by request only and includes the choices of either one queen bed with two twins or four twin beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.4 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.4 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.4 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.5 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.8 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.8 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.8 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.4 mi

Dining

Rivals Waikiki
Sports Bar. Open daily.
IHOP Restaurant
Breakfast, lunch, dinner. 6am - 10pm
The Slice of Waikiki
Pizza Counter. Open daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for OHANA Waikiki Malia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Herndon
May 27, 2008

Bad experience

Just to sum up the hotel-location is great and there is IHOP downstairs, very convenient. The staff are nice, but the problem is, their wi-fi so call free internet never worked for me in thr morning or night, the room is okay, the TV was making loud noise..and what is the worse is the toilet doens't flush well, maybe it is old. I tried TEN TIMES! They eventually relocated me to different location, cause that totally distroyed my vacation the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nana Jean
Business
California
Jan 6, 2011

Family holiday trip

It is an older hotel. We had to switch one room because of the odor. The staff were very accommodating and switched right away. I guess I did not understand what a kitchenette was, but now do. For the price, can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Mar 26, 2010

Okay if you can block out the noise

Hotel was about 3 blocks from the beach on 1 of the busiest & noisest streets. This would have been okay had there been dual pane windows. The bed was hard as a rock & left me with sore shoulders every morning. There was no pool in the hotel although you have access to pools at other hotels. The staff was friendly & the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Apr 25, 2010

Picked the wrong hotel

Things started poorly when a family of four checks in and the desk gives us a room with twin beds in a one bedroom suite. Changing the room was easy enough, then we went about our day. The rooms are in need of renovation and the mini fridge was turned off with mold growing inside. At 10:45 pm when we return to the hotel there is a security desk in front of the elevators( that was not there before). They would not let our friends go up to our room. They say it is a fire safety regulation. They never informed us of this at check in, and would not let more than four of us go to the room at a time. So if you plan on having guest (in the room you paid for) when you want to choose a different place to stay. There was no resolution and we left to drive out of the city to our friends house. I will never put myself in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

IHOP is in the Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 2, 2010

Pretty nice and cozy, reasonable.

great. very enjoy.... everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orbitz Orbiter
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Convenient location in Waikiki

Nice to have parking on site, but watch out if you have anything larger than a compact car - very tight corners in the garage. Parking company employees super nice and friendly. Having a little fridge in the room was a plus (though a microwave would have been nice, too). Hotel Front Desk staff were nice enough, but there was a definite preference for the many Asian tourists - asked for a late check out (just an extra hour) and was told that every extra hour would be $10. Before I walked away, I heard another gentleman making the same request and he was told that it was no problem, and no charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
t3rave2l
Business
San Jose, California
Dec 1, 2011

Stay at home and save your money!

Parking slots at hotel parking are tiny and the ramp is steep. Big minus is low water pressure in the shower. The room with one bed was very small. Elevators skip floors so you frequently need to switch elevators. There is no parking for check in so when I asked if I can view the room before move-in the staff told me I will get a parking ticket. Bed sheets were clean, TV was good, room service was good. There is a tiny refrigerator in the room. There is on-site guest coin laundry. The air in the room was clean, no mold smell as in other hotels in Honolulu. This hotel is in the center of Waikiki so everything is close. But very expensive. Hotel staff did not ex[lain how to find a free shuttle stop so it took me a while to find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roadie Grandma
Business
Placentia, California
Feb 1, 2012

Clean hotel with excellent location

The location was very convenient to the Waikiki strip. Hotel staff was very quick to offer assistance. Located in same building with a excellent sports bar and I Hop Restaurant. Would recomment to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk and located good food specials before walking in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hiroshinatsuyo
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 15, 2012

Good location, friendly staff

Walking distance to everything, shopping ,beach and dining. Friendly staff helps us a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mojo Haole
Business
Waikoloa, Waikoloa Village, HI, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Mostly excellent.

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend for my daughter's soccer tournament that was on Oahu. The location of the hotel was centrally located in Waikiki. The rooms were clean. The parking garage was pretty hard to navigate due to very small. Every night there was peaceful and perfect except for the last night. There was a party in the room next door that was very loud until 5am. My wife, child and I couldn't get a good night sleep. When I complained to the front desk, and asked for a reduction on my bill, they said I would have to contact the travel agent in which I purchased the hotel reservations. They didn't seam to have much compassion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top