$340 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
282 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 282
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California2013
California
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect location

Location doesn't get better.. The spa is also great. Definitely worth the splurge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie15
Keauhou, HI 96739
Oct 16, 2013

WAIKIKI GRANDE DAME

This historic hotel is my Honolulu favorite! Unlike the concrete high-rises that flank it on either side, it feels like the real, true Hawai'i, as does its high level of hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The chocolate-dipped tropical fruits in the candy store in the Sheraton Waikiki mall (left side after entrance) make perfect presents for family and friends.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WahineDiva
Denver, Colorado
Jun 8, 2013

A mix of good and bad

Overall, a good stay. Great to be right on the beach. But the accommodations were not worth the price. Many of the staff were very friendly. But a few were especially rude - except toward singer Bobby Brown and his family, who were there for Brown's wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mai Mai
NYC
Dec 17, 2012

Not Worth the Cost

The rooms was tiny. Location on the beach is good and the huge banyan tree is beautiful. But, staying just about anywhere else would have been a much better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single in Paradise
Houston, Texas
Sep 17, 2012

Best Place to Be !!!!!

The staff are freindly, the hotel is clean, the food and beverages are great! Great place to exscape from life and unwind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Tours are great!!! It's very relaxing to let someone else drive. The Tour Guides are the best source of history.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morochita
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jul 10, 2012

The first Lady of Waikiki

From the time you arrive at the front entrance you are greeted by the truly friendly staff of the Moana. This hotel is Colonial style architecture situated on Waikiki beach. I have stayed here many times over the years and consider this to be my second home. I have stayed in the Tower wing as well as the Banyan Ocean view. The buffet breakfast in the dining room is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Halekulani hotel has a lovely restaurant on the patio.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clara, California
Jun 30, 2012

Could be great

I have spent a whole week at this hotel. I stayed in a room that was advertised as partial ocean view. I know what that means and I did not have any illusions. But this was a stretch even for me. The room was on the 18-th floor on the street facing end of the tower. Very noisy, there is a loading dock below, there was some construction on the roof of the next hotel and the street performers down below added to the commotion. Other than that the hotel is great. The staff is very helpful and friendly. When I arrived, I was dropped off in front of the hotel. As soon as I took 3 steps crossed the side walk and stepped on hotel property I had 3 people there to greet and assist me. One of them asked if I needed my luggage to be sent to my room,( I only had 1 small luggage) the other one greated me with a traditional hawaiian necklace, the third one... well he was just there. I was 3 hours before my checkin time, but my room was ready. I really enjoyed having breakfast in the morning on the veranda and looking out to the ocean. The hotel is right on the beach. This is very convenient and definetely a great aspect of the stay at this hotel. After breakfast I would walk to 24hr fitness, just 2 blocks away, for a quick morning workout. After that back to the hotel and hit the beach. The hotel offers beach umbrella rentals with up to 4 chairs. I took advantage of this since the lounge chairs filled up early. The beach towels that came with the umbrellas were soft, clean and looked practically new unlike the overwashed beach towels at some of the other hotels. With the umbrella rentals you also get drink and food service from the beach bar right on the beach. The surf and paddle board rentals just steps away. The prices are very reasonable. The pool looked small, but it did not really matter since I never had to use it. The ocean, steps away, was warm and clear great for many activities. Conveniently there were 1 hr sail boat tours available right from the beach. They would take you out to the edge of the reef and bring you back right to the sandy beach. The hotel is equally convenient if you want to get off the beach. The ABC store is just across the street. There are restaurants up and down the street. At night, after a day on the beach, I would walk to different restaurants for dinner. They also offer dinner at the hotel on the veranda. I ate dinner there once, but I found that the prices weren't worth the food. The ambience is great, but I had breakfast there every morning so I did not feel the need to have dinner there. If you want to do some shopping there are many high end retail stores within walking distance. For a more scaled back shopping you can hop on the Pink Trolley which will take you to the mall for $2. I have been to a number of comparable hotels on Waikiki. The list includes: Hilton Hawaiian Village, Sheraton, Outrigger On The Beach. Out of all, I like the Surfrider the most. Although my room was noisy that is something I can change next time. The rest was great. I think, I will definetely come back to the Surfrider, but I will get the room that is facing the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
solowahine
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 24, 2012

it was exactly what I needed

From the time I arrived to when I left, it met all my expectations. Great breakfast on the veranda, lovely beach chairs, nice gym, beautiful spa and great service. A little noisy because you are ON THE OCEAN so hear crashing waves.....heaven

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morochita
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 10, 2012

Westin Moana Surfrider - The first lady of Waikiki

I have stayed at this hotel many times and would rate it at 4.5 on the star rating. The hotel was built in 1905 and it's colonial architecture all done in white make it a truly magnificent place to visit. Moana means by the sea and being right on Waikiki beach makes it the perfect spot to experience the Aloha spirit. I have stayed in all parts of the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The staff are great and always trying to please. The food in the hotel was very good. The hotel has a spa, fitness area, and there is a pool. I would recommend this hotel to any traveller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chuck's Steak house in The Outrigger hotel. If you go there right at 5 pm you get a table right overlooking Waikiki beach, view of Diamond Head

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt Fannie
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Great destressor

I had last stayed at the Moana back in the 1960's. Coming back fifty years later brought back many memories. I remember sitting under the Banyan tree having pancakes with coconut syrup. I was able to do that once again. The old Hawaiian charm is as I remember. It was a wonderful experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to take a nice long walk, trek up to Diamond Head crater. Approximately 9 miles from the hotel. Takes about 3 hours. When you return enjoy a lovely breakfast on the veranda.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search