$270 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
271 reviews
Moana Hawaii getaway

This is a hotel we always dreamed of staying at and be able to sit in the rocking chairs on the... See full review

  • MBZ rocking chair
  • Nov 23, 2014
Honolulu at it's best

The Sheraton I want to Surfrider is the nicest hotel you could stay in! It's centered right in the... See full review

  • Kjmakai
  • Oct 7, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 271
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Cooley Man
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 31, 2014

Amazing vacation spot

Went to the Surfrider for a week long vacation. It was an amazing time. The staff were very friendly, also the location doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food is much cheaper if you drive about 30min north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juliette's mom
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Apr 19, 2014

Beautiful

The service is impeccable. Food is delicious. Hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. I won't stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail49
Business
Kalamazoo Mi
Mar 21, 2014

Moans Surfrider

The hotel was lovely. Rooms were very clean and the beds and linen were luxurious. The beach was amazing and the hotel was right in the middle of everything. There was a $30 per day "resort fee" that was tacked on per day that was not a value for me. All in all very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Mama Rob
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Mar 7, 2014

A Perfect Mother/Daughter Get-Away

Sixth year heading to the Moana Surfrider for my daughter and I to spend special time together. We ALWAYS have the best time. Beautiful hotel, amazing location, and the staff remembers us each year with lovely "welcomes". Our room had two rocking chairs overlooking the beautiful beach and ocean....such tranquility. I can't wait until next year!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miabs
Business
Oregon
Dec 28, 2013

Beautiful!

This is exactly the type of hotel and experience that we love. True character in the building and the staff. While the location was a bit overwhelming, the hotel was a beautiful oasis. The hotel was the best part of our time in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Talk with the staff...anything and everything, they will handle it for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
astridjazz
Business
San Francisco
Sep 11, 2013

Do not stay in this place!!

I booked a vacation package for me and my 12yo son.. Our flight from SF got delayed for 8hrs then eventually got cancelled and ended up sleeping at SF airport for the night. I called the hotel that flight got cancelled to let them know about our delayed arrival. Oh boy, when you experience cancelled flights the last thing you want is another hassle. The hotel put us in a tiny square room and only a king bed, although my reservation with says double beds. They would not give me a 2 bed room. The $30(not incl. tax) a night resort charge is ridiculous and for nothing really. The staff are bunch or robots who can't comprehend and always back and forth the closed door for the 'manager'. They lack the simplest common sense. I picked up groceries and asked my son to go up to the room to drop off so I can stay in the car because of terrible 45 minute wait for valet, the key didnt work so I gave him the 2nd key, the 2nd key didnt work so I asked him to get new keys in the front desk. They treated my 12 year old son like a crminal.. They will not give him a key although his name was in the registration.I was on the phone with the front desk person and told me to send my son back and he'd give him the key, to be rejected again the second time..Bunch of uneducated, no common sense staff.. they made my 12yo son feel like he didnt belong there. And their excuse: He could be a crminal or a thhief even if he's 12yo, what about the other guy on the phone?? The simplest grocery dropoff turned out to be a disaster emotional blowup, I've never seen my son cry like that from humiliation. To make the matters worse, they would charge me for the one night that I missed for the cancelled flight and would not extend an extra night to get the 4 night room that I originally booked. I had to spend a nearly whole day on the phone with Orbtz and hotel to take care of it. Hotel would not cooperate and I had to get an Orbtz manager to work things out and it took 6 hours to get the Hotel manager to not charge me the lost. The small square room stinks, it's so tiny that my shin bone hits all the possible corners and furniture as we got ready. There was always this constant toilet smell leaking in the bedroom, kinda gross for a 4 star resort. ugh. There's nothing fancy about this place but the front of the building and history. My tip: stay somewhere else and visit for a drink or dinner, dont let yourself experience the stench of their rooms and their management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stano57
Business
port townsend wash
Sep 3, 2013

freinds wedding

Had a great time, hotel took you back to the early days of great hotels. Great staff and location, will come back again maybe try to get a tower room with waterview

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great breakfast at a cheap price, on sunset blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YUPpy Young Urban Profess
Business
Marina Del Rey, California
Aug 3, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel was in a good location and was clean but the size of the room was small. Also the noise level was high due to the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marissa cobb
Business
scottsdale,arizona
Jul 22, 2013

perfect location

Excellent location, just in the heart of Waikiki best area. The pianist player at the lobby is fantastic. The atmosphere f the hotel is great, it is like leaving the past with the Lexus of the present. However the pool is not well maintain and the area on the beach is almost limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desertdweller
Business
Tucson, AZ
May 16, 2013

Lives up to it's reputation as the Grand Lady of Waikiki

This was my third stay at the Moana. The Moana is a historical hotel with the best location in Waikiki. Service this year was excellent and much improved from past stays. Do your homework and decide what you are looking for. This is not a huge multi-tower conglomerate with a shopping center. It suits the discerning traveler who appreciates it's old world charm along with fine dining and great beach acess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are times when the Moana offers it's breakfast buffet complimentary on upgrades. It is oh so worth doing the upgrade for it alone. Really enjoyed the quality, quantity, and service and the view from the veranda can make anyone's day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top