$250 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2014 Check-out: May 17, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
259 reviews
beautiful hotel

Beautiful hotel on the best location in all of Waikiki. It may seem pricey, but having stayed at... See full review

  • ns1183
  • Mar 10, 2014
Room choice is key

We had two different rooms while we were there. Try to get the tower and not the main hotel rooms.... See full review

  • Rich and Alison
  • Mar 9, 2014
Old-world elegance on Waikiki's hottest strip

Graciously residing on prime oceanfront, the Moana Surfrider is a vision of luxury and relaxation. Opened in 1901 and listed in the National Register of Historic Places, the "First Lady of Waikiki" boasts a long registry of the rich and famous, including Frank Sinatra, Amelia Earhart, Prince Edward of England and Joe DiMaggio. Afternoon tea on the seaside veranda is a celebrated tradition. Trademark Westin amenities, fine dining and one of Waikiki's best spas create the total package.

Highlights

  • Westin's Heavenly Bed, Heavenly Bath and fine linens
  • Spend the day relaxing in the hotel's picturesque and historic banyan tree courtyard
  • Moana Lani Spa, ranked as one of the Top 50 Spas by Spas of America
Location

The hotel touches the sand, with some of Waikiki's best swimming and surfing directly offshore. It's midpoint along Kalakaua Ave., Waikiki's main dining and shopping strip, and the designer-boutique Royal Hawaiian Center and lively souvenir bazaar International Market Place are within a block's walk.

Rooms

The hotel features three distinct wings with a total of nearly 800 guest rooms. All rooms blend classic design with contemporary decor enhanced by luxurious Island-style details, signature Westin amenities, bathrobe and flat-screen TV. The Westin Heavenly Bed is a major draw, with custom pillowtop mattress and snuggly feather pillow. In-room Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Dining

Several excellent dining selections are on the property. The Veranda, overlooking the banyan courtyard, offers a buffet breakfast, while afternoon tea is a tradition dating back to the earliest days of the hotel. From midmorning until midnight, sashimi, wagyu beef burgers and mai tais are on order at the Beach Bar, beneath the historic banyan tree. Honolulu Coffee Co. is the place for Kona coffee and a gelato.  Beachhouse at the Moana, an oceanfront fine-dining oasis, serves up fresh Island cuisine and sunset views.

Recreation
  • Freshwater hotel pool on the beachfront
  • The new Moana Lani Spa, with 18,000 square feet of treatment and fitness activities
  • Free guided historic tour of the property
  • Surf lessons in front of the hotel and water sports equipment rentals onsite
Transportation
  • Honolulu International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
Attractions

  • Waikiki Beach (fronting hotel)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
75 out of 259
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Gail49
Kalamazoo Mi
Mar 21, 2014

Moans Surfrider

The hotel was lovely. Rooms were very clean and the beds and linen were luxurious. The beach was amazing and the hotel was right in the middle of everything. There was a $30 per day "resort fee" that was tacked on per day that was not a value for me. All in all very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Beach Mama Rob
Hermosa Beach, CA
Mar 7, 2014

A Perfect Mother/Daughter Get-Away

Sixth year heading to the Moana Surfrider for my daughter and I to spend special time together. We ALWAYS have the best time. Beautiful hotel, amazing location, and the staff remembers us each year with lovely "welcomes". Our room had two rocking chairs overlooking the beautiful beach and ocean....such tranquility. I can't wait until next year!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Miabs
Oregon
Dec 28, 2013

Beautiful!

This is exactly the type of hotel and experience that we love. True character in the building and the staff. While the location was a bit overwhelming, the hotel was a beautiful oasis. The hotel was the best part of our time in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Talk with the staff...anything and everything, they will handle it for you.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
astridjazz
San Francisco
Sep 11, 2013

Do not stay in this place!!

I booked a vacation package for me and my 12yo son.. Our flight from SF got delayed for 8hrs then eventually got cancelled and ended up sleeping at SF airport for the night. I called the hotel that flight got cancelled to let them know about our delayed arrival. Oh boy, when you experience cancelled flights the last thing you want is another hassle. The hotel put us in a tiny square room and only a king bed, although my reservation with says double beds. They would not give me a 2 bed room. The $30(not incl. tax) a night resort charge is ridiculous and for nothing really. The staff are bunch or robots who can't comprehend and always back and forth the closed door for the 'manager'. They lack the simplest common sense. I picked up groceries and asked my son to go up to the room to drop off so I can stay in the car because of terrible 45 minute wait for valet, the key didnt work so I gave him the 2nd key, the 2nd key didnt work so I asked him to get new keys in the front desk. They treated my 12 year old son like a crminal.. They will not give him a key although his name was in the registration.I was on the phone with the front desk person and told me to send my son back and he'd give him the key, to be rejected again the second time..Bunch of uneducated, no common sense staff.. they made my 12yo son feel like he didnt belong there. And their excuse: He could be a crminal or a thhief even if he's 12yo, what about the other guy on the phone?? The simplest grocery dropoff turned out to be a disaster emotional blowup, I've never seen my son cry like that from humiliation. To make the matters worse, they would charge me for the one night that I missed for the cancelled flight and would not extend an extra night to get the 4 night room that I originally booked. I had to spend a nearly whole day on the phone with Orbtz and hotel to take care of it. Hotel would not cooperate and I had to get an Orbtz manager to work things out and it took 6 hours to get the Hotel manager to not charge me the lost. The small square room stinks, it's so tiny that my shin bone hits all the possible corners and furniture as we got ready. There was always this constant toilet smell leaking in the bedroom, kinda gross for a 4 star resort. ugh. There's nothing fancy about this place but the front of the building and history. My tip: stay somewhere else and visit for a drink or dinner, dont let yourself experience the stench of their rooms and their management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
stano57
port townsend wash
Sep 3, 2013

freinds wedding

Had a great time, hotel took you back to the early days of great hotels. Great staff and location, will come back again maybe try to get a tower room with waterview

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great breakfast at a cheap price, on sunset blvd.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
YUPpy Young Urban Profess
Marina Del Rey, California
Aug 3, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel was in a good location and was clean but the size of the room was small. Also the noise level was high due to the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
marissa cobb
scottsdale,arizona
Jul 22, 2013

perfect location

Excellent location, just in the heart of Waikiki best area. The pianist player at the lobby is fantastic. The atmosphere f the hotel is great, it is like leaving the past with the Lexus of the present. However the pool is not well maintain and the area on the beach is almost limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Desertdweller
Tucson, AZ
May 16, 2013

Lives up to it's reputation as the Grand Lady of Waikiki

This was my third stay at the Moana. The Moana is a historical hotel with the best location in Waikiki. Service this year was excellent and much improved from past stays. Do your homework and decide what you are looking for. This is not a huge multi-tower conglomerate with a shopping center. It suits the discerning traveler who appreciates it's old world charm along with fine dining and great beach acess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

There are times when the Moana offers it's breakfast buffet complimentary on upgrades. It is oh so worth doing the upgrade for it alone. Really enjoyed the quality, quantity, and service and the view from the veranda can make anyone's day.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
CJ....
California
Nov 6, 2012

Heavenly view, Perfect Location, Beautiful Atmosphere

The Location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. Right in the middle of axtion. And right by the beach.. We got a room at the diamond wing. they tried to move us to the tower, which has a great view if you are located on the right side. The room they upgraded! us to was not.. But we told them we didn't want that room and they moved us back to the Diamond deluxe room which we had booked to begin with. The diamond deluxe wing is an old building, and the rooms do feel a little old but the view makes it worthwhile. The do need to renovate some part of the hotel othervise the value is simply too much..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Marla Ann
Vacaville Ca
Oct 22, 2012

Great location , center of activities !

Had great time ! Friendly staff, beautiful hotel,but small room,small pool,room not cleaned well like behind bathroom door , shower floor . The room was to small to ever have anyone visit . The store didnt have any toiletries or any vending machines . Hotel was great , just needed more of the conveniences of home !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes restaurant is just down the street ! The atmosphere is wonderful ! Great food music and employees !

Back to menu Return to top