$300 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
267 reviews
Great location

Historic hotel in Great location! Nice beach but very small pool. Considering it was built in 1901. See full review

  • Michael S.
  • Aug 26, 2015
Great location

Historic hotel in Great location! Nice beach but very small pool. Considering it was built in 1901. See full review

  • Michael S.
  • Aug 26, 2015
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.
General

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa, Oahu, HI

Location
The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Dining
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Rooms
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Highlights

The Moana Surfrider features one large outdoor pool located on the beach, which gives visitors easy access to swimming, sunbathing, Catamaran sailing, snorkeling, canoe rides and a host of other outdoor activities. The oceanfront Moana Lani Spa offers relaxing, traditional Hawaiian healing practices. Another opportunity to unwind and mingle is offered during the Westin Evening Ritual, which is held nightly on the outdoor Banyan Court at the Banyan Grill and offers entertainment, food and drink. The Beachhouse restaurant serves a variety of modern classic cuisine using fresh Hawaiian ingredients. One popular event is the traditional Victorian afternoon tea on The Veranda. The Moana Surfrider is within walking distance of the Honolulu Zoo, the Waikiki Aquarium, art galleries and multicultural restaurants and nightclubs.

Policies
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 608 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 258 reviews
★★★★★
$339
4.4 / 5 54 reviews
★★★★
$255
4.0 / 5 311 reviews
★★★★
$185
4.2 / 5 769 reviews
★★★
$148
3.7 / 5 402 reviews
★★★★★
$306
4.5 / 5 154 reviews
★★★★
$235
4.4 / 5 312 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.2 / 5 161 reviews

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Dining

veranda at the beachhouse
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, the veranda at the beachhouse also offers a traditional yet savvy Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6:00am- 11:00am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday-Friday 12:00pm- 3:00pm.
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30am to 12:00am; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30am to 10:00pm.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30pm-10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:02 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 267
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thor
Couples
Coral Gables
Aug 16, 2015

My favorite Hotel in Honolulu

Concierge was great. Booked a trip to the Cultural Center and when the vendor made a mistake, hotel got us a full refund, with a smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colin H.
Couples
N/A
Apr 26, 2015

gorgeous holiday

Beautiful island with a beautiful hotel my only criticism is that there are a lot of Japanese weddings taking place. we counted 12 in one afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMR M.
Couples
El Sheikh Zayed
Apr 8, 2015

A beautiful hotel if you get a proper room

The original room allocated to me was very bad , too small & uninhabitable. I had to upgrade to a tower room twice to get a decent room with lovely view. So I lost 2 days of my 10 day vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prissy
Couples
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2015

Romantic End to our Family Trip

My husband and I checked in to the Surfrider after vacationing with my whole family for 10 days. We needed the down time and the relaxation. We enjoyed the spa and had a very romantic stay. This is our 4th stay at the Surfrider. Great location, very nice staff and the Club access is such a nice perk .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Derek D.
Couples
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Old Style Luxury

Perfect location, wonderful style and the staff treated us not so much like honored guest but like old friends. My wife loved watching the 6 weddings a day and the Hawaii 5-0 shoot in the lobby didn't hurt either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie C.
Couples
LONG ISLAND CITY
Apr 6, 2015

Middle of Waikiki

Walking distance to all the shops in Waikiki, limited parking in sister garage or just use their valet, who still park your car in the sister garage. Pool is small. but resort is on the beach. I rather drive up north or south for better beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOSE D.
Couples
Mill Valley
Feb 9, 2015

Great family trip

This is the Grande Dame of Waikiki. Beautiful lobby and outdoor bar. We were in the newer tower rooms, which we understand are larger than the original rooms. They are quite nice and good sized, albeit not the most posh (but very nice). We scored a killer deal when we booked our flight and hotel together, so there are no complaints about the quality to price ratio. The mai tais in the bar are excellent and the food is pretty good, but pricey (it's a hotel in a resort area). We went next door to Duke's a few times for their breakfast buffet, which seemed to be a better value than anything in our hotel. Everything is in walking distance an there's a ton to do. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arunsingla
Couples
Northern Califronia
Dec 8, 2014

Beautiful and Romantic Hotel right at the Beach

I and my wife stayed at this hotel during Thanksgiving holidays. The hotel has an inviting atmosphere, romantic settings specially the beach bar and veranda restaurant. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was a coupon for package booking that made this hotel significantly more affordable than the list price. I doubt we would have stayed at the hotel if the prices was a list price though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast is great at this hotel but try 'Bogarts' for breakfast - a local eatery nearby and try 'Rumfire' lounge at Royal Hawaiian - amazing drinks and appetizers

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KARA C
Couples
PASADENA CALIFORNIA
Nov 24, 2014

MOANA IS AWESOME!!!!!!!

GREAT STAY FOR FAMILIES AND COUPLES!!!!!! BEAUTIFUL LOCATION AND THEY OFFER GREAT INCENTIVES FOR STARWOOD MEMBERS!!!!! MY ROOM HAD COURTYARD VIEW AND YOU COULD ACTUALLY HEAR SOUNDS OF THE PACIFIC OCEAN FROM YOUR ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

shopping open late till 12midnight!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MBZ rocking chair
Couples
Bismarck< ND
Nov 23, 2014

Moana Hawaii getaway

This is a hotel we always dreamed of staying at and be able to sit in the rocking chairs on the porch. This hotel is perfect right downtown Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean House

Back to menu Return to top