$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
263 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 263
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peewee
Business
Manhattan beach, ca
Jul 7, 2014

Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Public transportation is really good.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joemama11
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Mar 25, 2012

overrated

nice, but not worth it. the view is better across from the beach and the hotels are cheaper there also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kharisma
Business
greer, sc
Jan 11, 2012

Very Satisfied!!!!!!

very comfortable all the way will probably go back to the hotel on our next visit as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

most of the places near waikiki could be reached within minutes....

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McLean, VA
Aug 2, 2011

Elegantly comfortable hotel

My stay was business and vacation combined. Hotel personel were very accomodating when I requested to change the room I was first ushered, to the old section, because that was the very reason I chose the Moana Surfrider; to enjoy the old charm of the "First Lady of Waikiki." The concierges were also very courteous and helpful. The Moana Surfrider has quiet, subtle elegance and hospitality, not shouting, showy tourist-oriented attitude. Coming back to the hotel at the day's end, I felt as if I were at home. I would definitely go back to the hotel when I visit Honolulu next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel to Honolulu at least once a year.
Business
Salt Lake City
Aug 9, 2010

Previously impressed - not this time.

[...] We were stuck in the non-remodeled wing of the hotel in a converted room (5th floor wing 3). The hallway floors and walls were dirty, the air conditioning did not work well, and the sofa in the room was unconfortably dirty. Not what I had expected from a well known Honolulu darling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian restraunt @ the Marriott down the street. Easy to get in even on a Friday night without reservations.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Purple woman
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Jun 30, 2010

Elegance and Class

This Westin Resort is a sure thing. Elegant, Classy, Beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 23, 2010

Worth the price?

Probably great for fun/vacation. It's right on the beach in the heart of Waikiki. HORRIBLE for business travel. You have to park at the Sheraton around the corner, which does not have an elevator. Very incovenient for hauling work stuff to and from. $25/day for self park $33/day for valet.I upgraded to an oceanview room. There was more of a view of other people's hotel rooms. I was tucked away in a corner. Maybe because I booked my travel on [...] and got a killer rate, I don't know. There was no insulation on my window, so I could hear a lot of noise coming from the Beach Bar, people talking and the band playing. I left the TV on at night to drowned out the noise.It was very small from what I am accustomed to. Plus there was no tub, just a shower. TV was mounted on a side wall in relation to the bed and did not swival out, so it seemed far away and at a bad angle. The mini fridge fan was making a VERY loud noise that kept me up the first night or so. I finally unplugged it until maintenance came and took care of it.I guess it was worth what I paid on [...] if I was vacationing. It's in the heart of Waikiki. I stay there, because it's safe and the hotels are the nicest in that area. However, if you are traveling for business I suggest you stay some place else. I'm still looking for my ideal location at the right price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aliso Viejo, Ca.
Nov 20, 2009

Well worth the money

Hotel has lots of character, great location, and fast friendly service. The hotel is a century old but very well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search